Ratings based on 6,997 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location. Cool and funky.

Posted Aug 19, 2017
So we had someone else's socks in our room and the coffee maker hadn't been cleaned after the last guest, but the Sofia hotel is in a great location, the staff is friendly, and it's not the sterile chain hotel experience. We'll definitely stay there again!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for the price

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Good price, close to everything. Room was very small but did the job, for the price!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfy and Chic!

Posted Aug 18, 2017
This hotel was perfect! The rooms were on the small side but we made it work. The best were super comfy. The staff was amazing and so helpful. We will be staying here again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

the hotel made me disappointed

Posted Aug 18, 2017
The location is good, But the room is too small,and the bathroom isn't like a normal hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Hard to find parking spot

Posted Aug 17, 2017
They charge $36 for overnight parking. Totally ripoff. The staff are friendly to suggest some other parking place close by.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fountain Valley, CA

Nice Boutique Hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Cons: Bathroom explained above
Fine experience overall. Only issue (recurring theme in prior reviews) is the bathroom. As the shower is not completely closed, water spills onto floor, soaking the mat. Also, bath soap had a funny smell (recommend bring your own toiletries.) Bath towels not sufficiently stocked (2 bath towels, 2 hand towels and 1wash cloth.) I would readily return as the hotel is located within walking distance to most tourist attractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Definitely coming back

Posted Aug 17, 2017
The suite I booked was super spacious and modern. I booked the king studio suite. The bed was super comfy, I did not want to check out the next morning. The staff was super friendly and helpful. If you're looking for a nice hotel to stay in downtown I would recommend staying here.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Save your money - Don't stay here!

Posted Aug 16, 2017
Pros: The bathroom was gross with cracked tile, hair in shower still and legit no space. There is no door to shower so your floor/toilet gets wet.
Cons: EVERYTHING
Location: Location is near Gaslamp which has tons of bars ( only good thing) but there are also TONS of MEAN homeless people ALL AROUND area that yell and swear
The staff charged $1800 on my card ( purchasing the room upon arrival and then at checkout in addition to the $150 room hold charge. It was a mess to fix with my credit vendors, as Sofia Hotel was of no help or assurance. HORRIBLE customer service
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange County

Very small and noisy

Posted Aug 11, 2017
The hotel room that we stayed in was very small. We did not sleep well at all because of the noises from next door. The hotel also charged us additional $300 one week after. Not sure why it has good reviews on Expedia. Not recommended! Will not stay here anymore in the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2017 by Andrea, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I would like to assist in determining the reason for the extra charge on your account. Please contact us directly so we can assist you with that. Once again, that you for sharing your feedback
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2017
The hotel was nice decorated, in a great section of town and the staff was very accommodating. I will definitely stay again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 8, 2017 by Andrea, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review! We hope to see you in the near future!