Ratings based on 7,310 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Nice hotel, walking distance to most of downtown.

Posted Dec 11, 2017
The sofia is a nice, clean hotel. The rooms are on the small side and the lighting in the bathroom is pretty dim. Check in was easy although parking is a bit steep ($36 a day.) All in all it is a good choice to stay downtown for a reasonable price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guadalajara, Mexico

World Class Hotel

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Outstanding hotel, service and staff. Professional and warm. Rooms are a bit small but decor and design make up for it. Walking distance to everything. Thank you to Brian and his team, Alex and Logan. We will be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Pete, FL

Nice hotel near downtown.

Posted Dec 9, 2017
Well situated for us. We walked through the Gaslamp district as well as to our cruise ship from the hotel. Small room, but clean. Nice staff members. Recommend.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great stay at Sofia

Posted Dec 6, 2017
Pros: I had items shipped ahead of my stay. They held them without a fee and everything was in great shape when I finally arrived.
Location: Balboa Park, Petco Park, Richard Walker's Pancake House
Great stay. It was my second trip at the Sofia hotel. It is close to downtown, Petco Park, Balboa Park, etc. Room was clean and service at the desk and in the room was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Okay

Posted Dec 6, 2017
I felt that my stay was okay. I wasn’t really greeted and my room was sometimes clean and other days not. The staff in the lobby were not welcoming at times
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Moorhead, Minnesota

Staff

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Pros: We liked the location. Right in the middle of San Diego's activities.
We had some questions when we arrived, and the front desk staff was "above and beyond" in helping us. They were very knowledgeable and friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

great location

Posted Dec 4, 2017
The location is walking distance to many things. The hotel is old, but charming. The staff is nice, but seems clueless at times.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver, bc

great. reasonably priced in downtown san diego

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Pros: evertything
Cons: room size
it was excellend; stall are all wonderful; hotel is conveniently located and they all go out of their way tomake you comfortable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quite central

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Staff was friendly and helpful Booked through Expedia and this hotel was noted VIP, but they didn't give us any upgrades so not really impressed Older hotel with some charm Expensive parking so recommend street parking (much cheaper) if you can find it but do read the signs carefully for Street cleaning
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Sofia review

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Convenient location Would have preferred to be offered a rate that includes eating at the on site restaurant At least Breakfast Easy access to public transportation