Ratings based on 7,161 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from other country

Very good location.

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Pros: Same as above
Cons: Need to have breakfast.
Location: Location is excellent
Good service and nice staff, clean room. Only one thing is no breakfast in the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great hotel

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Great hotel within walking distance of Gaslamp district. We were upgraded to a suite which was great but a couple of minor niggles, the coffee maker didn’t function correctly and a couple of bulbs were out above the vanity area. Other than that we had a fabulous stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place, intimate feel

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Good, hotel, good value for what you spend. Friendly staff. Tiny rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Murphy, NC

Beautiful place to stay!

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pros: Love this hotel
Location: We walked to USS Midway. Train station is within walking distance. And many restaurants and shopping are close.
Great place to stay and close and within walking distance to many things in San Diego.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from virginia

Wedding in San Diego

Posted Oct 17, 2017
We spend one night here. The hotel was nice and clean but a little tight. Parking was very expensive. $36.00 for one night. We stayed somewhere else nearby for 2 nights and it was more convenience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Perfect boutique Hotel in the heart of downtown

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: The staff, the location, the warmth of Sofia atmosphere. Also found the central location of the hotel was perfect for us.
Location: Excellent access to 5th street and the water front. The entire area is full of incredible dining and entertainment but was never noisy at night.
Stayed at Sofia during while attending a conference down at the waterfront, which for me was was well within walking distance. The hotel staff were welcoming, friendly and very helpful when it came to suggestions for a newbie San Diego'er. Speaking with colleagues at the conference, I heard a number of stories of bad AirBnB experiences in the area (noisy, unclean etc ) Others who stayed at high end hotels described them to me as sterile and cold. Sofia is none of these, it is warm, friendly and comfortable. I will be staying at Sofia whenever I attend conferences in San Diego. Thanks Sofia Staff!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver metro area, Colorado

Nice hotel, very convenient location

Posted Oct 16, 2017
The Sofia is a very nice, clean, comfortable hotel. The staff was super friendly (front desk, housekeeping, & valet). The best thing is it's location. Many restaurants within walking distance. We'd definitely return. San Diego is spectacular.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vanouver Canada

Nice location

Posted Oct 16, 2017
We had a good time and the location is really good and the staff was pleasant
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Nice boutique hotel central to everything.

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Nice hotel, small but charming, and close to everything, plus the Santa Fe station so easy to get around San Diego. Would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Pros: Love their complimentary yoga classes a few mornings each week!
Cons: The attached restaurant left something to be desired - the happy hour food and beverages were subpar and we left without finishing them.
Lovely room on the corner. It was small, but adequate and well laid out. Also enjoyed the bar area with a microwave and fridge - very convenient. The shower was not my favorite - good water pressure and amazingly soft towels, but the shower enclosure itself was only a partial glass wall that was not nearly wide enough. It left a huge open space and water got everywhere no matter what you did. If they added a curtain or another 6-8 inches of glass it would be fine.