Ratings based on 7,398 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from 1st State

There are extra Sophia hotel fees

Posted Jan 15, 2018
Pros: well located
Cons: N/A
Location: Great!
It is well located. Unfortunately, I had to pay an extra $89.75 for 5 day because of the hotel internet and 2 bottles of water/day. The internet connection was week though! This extra fee was NOT specified in the original deal! Man, this is not cool! Do something about it
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Anniversary Stay!

Posted Jan 15, 2018
Loved the hotel ambiance and my room! Definitely staying here again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

Great for downtown

Posted Jan 13, 2018
Nice hotel Ian you want to walk and explore downtown often. The room was comfortable and clean. The shower was the only negative because there wasn’t a door making your shower experience cold with water everywhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nevada

Downtown San Diego

Posted Jan 8, 2018
Pros: Central location. Very quiet room.
Cons: No improvement is necessary.
Location: Restaurants and night clubs including "The House Of Blues" are within walking distanc.
Stayed here for 3 nights. Quiet and somewhat elegant. Clean and with a view. Could not have been better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA.

Great downtown hotel.

Posted Jan 6, 2018
This hotel was very nice. It is in a nice, quiet area in downtown. There is an on-site parking lot which made it very convienent and eliminated a potential headache. I will stay here next time I go to downtown San Diego.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Laguna Niguel, CA

Nice hotel. Great for NYE!

Posted Jan 5, 2018
We needed a hotel for one night for NYE, and this hotel was perfect. The front desk staff was super attentive and nice. Plus the hotel was only a 7-minute walk from Gaslamp which wasn't that bad at all. I'd definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 5, 2018
Good location.. central to gaslamp district and harbor
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Barbara, CA

Holiday Stay

Posted Jan 4, 2018
Pros: Staff was very helpful - checkin and checkout quick; great restaurants and sights within walking distance
Cons: Would love to see yoga offered everyday
Location: Gaslamp historic district, terrific restaurants, waterfront including the Embarcadero, convention center and Seaport Village within walking distance
For the Gaslamp district of San Diego this was a bargain. Nicely updated boutique hotel that is well managed. We had a king suite that was roomy, clean and new-looking furnishings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great customer service and very clean.

Posted Jan 4, 2018
Pros: Customer service.
Location: We went to the mall that is just down the block. We rode the the trolly and bus to Tijuana, Belmont Park, Old Town San Diego.
Great location to everything. The bar was excellent.. .. we explored alot of San Diego. Metro system was convenient and cheap.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Thousand Oaks, CA

Charming hotel centrally located and close to ever

Posted Jan 3, 2018
Very charming boutique hotel, lots of cache. I had prompt service at the front desk and the staff was friendly. The room was clean and comfortable but small and cramped. One problem was the shower was open in the rear which spilled water onto the floor. We really enjoyed the complementary walking tour of the downtown. The guide was friendly and knowledgeable. We didn't enjoy the parking fee of $38 per night. Seems excessive to me.