Ratings based on 7,088 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Carlsbad, CA

Great hotel!

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Great hotel. Clean comfortable rooms. I dont understand no door on the shower but it works. Close to everything downtown.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Good Hotel close to Gaslamp Quarter

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Pros: It is a classic old fashioned hotel in good condition.
Cons: The gym could be larger. The free yoga class was very popular and needs more room.
Location: My only negative comment is that the north end of Gaslamp appears to be in social decline. I was shocked. It was very noticeable from 2 years ago.
The hotel is good and the staff are very friendly. I enjoyed using the free rental bikes and yoga classes. They were a great added touch!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from DC

Beautiful hotel, but...

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Pros: Location, Interiors
Location: Walking distance to Gaslamp
I LOVE San Diego and was so excited to stay at the Sofia. Upon entering, I was greeted by friendly staff and a beautifully designed hotel. I was upgraded to a suite, which had great amenities. Unfortunately, the next morning I woke up with some bites on my arm. I didn't think anything of it and assumed that a mosquito may have bitten me while outdoors. The next morning, more bites. I'm now uncomfortable but not necessarily thinking - "bed bugs." I am so uncomfortable that I end up purchasing anti-itch cream to soothe my skin. I showed all the bites to my colleagues who wondered if it was something other than mosquitoes. So, my third night I woke up to more bites. I now had over 10 bites all over both of my arms, my ears, face, neck, and hands. I am extremely grossed out and uncomfortable. I immediately looked up bed bugs on Google, checked symptoms, and alerted the hotel. The hotel was extremely proactive. Their customer service was fantastic in handling the issue. They, of course, were surprised etc., but didn't try to blame me, deny it etc. instead they moved me to another room, heated all my belongings for about 3 hours and comped my room. Initially, I hesitated on writing a review b/c I know these issues are not necessarily anyone's fault. However, as I sit home in DC with 10+ visible bites on my arms, scarring/bruising, still some itchiness- I felt that I should alert other travelers just in case. (btw, my colleague's room was fine!!!)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Excellent Staff

Posted Sep 22, 2017
As soon as we entered The Sofia hotel we were greeted and guided to the front desk. Amber assisted us with check in and she wonderful!! Smiles everywhere and she really seemed to enjoy working there; which made us feel like we being treated as part of their family. We will definitely book again in our next San Diego getaway! :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from montana

Centrally located downtown

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: Location, location. Beautifully restored historic building.
Cons: See comment above
Location: Shopping, shows, waterfront, so many restaurants, so little time.
Hard to regulate heat/AC. Lots of night time sirens. Otherwise comfortable and attractive. Beware of hidden costs; high parking fee and " guest Services?" I thought that's what the room rate was for: guest services.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Sep 21, 2017
The Sophia was a cute hotel. It was just a short distance from the great restaurants of 5th avenue. The hotel restaurant was a great breakfast spot. The only complaint I had is that the king bed was definitely not a king size.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Refined and practical

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Great hotel in a good location. Rooms remind me of New York - tiny! But very cozy and clean. My husband and I had a great time staying there. The staff was super professional and efficient. Great place!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Harrisburg PA

Short stay in San Diego

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: professional staff, nice lobby and bar areas.
Location: little italy, coronado island, house of blues, ballast point brewery
San Diego gas lamp and little italy areas have many nice locations to visit, The sofia is centrally located, but small rooms and not an area I would recommend walking around after dark
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from houston

historic hotel clean with excellent staff.

Posted Sep 16, 2017
The hotel was clean, convenient to many restaurants. Hotel staff was very helpful. The one downside is that I had difficulty sleeping on that type mattress however my husband slept well on their mattress. All considered we had a nice stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok for a cheap room but very small rooms.

Posted Sep 16, 2017
I booked this room thinking it was in walking distance to everything downtown but was really a mile from the seaport village and a mile from the Gaslamp district. We had a great time in San Diego, when we go back we will stay on water.