Ratings based on 1,623 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver

Not the best neighborhood, *not the Hotel's fault*

Posted Apr 22, 2018
I actually didn't stay the night. Friends came and gave me a room. While it seems to be a popular place with many, if you are picky, it is not the neighborhood. Room was just a little run down. Could use some paint to cover up scuffs on the walls and so forth. Perfectly remodeled bathroom. Not a big deal, but if you are really picky, you may be unsatisfied. Staff were attentive and completely helpful. Tenderloin is not the safest area after dark. Do not walk back from anywhere after dark. If you are OK with basic and affordable, its perfect. Just use Lyft or taxis to go to and from after dark.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2018 by Matt, Hotel Management
Good day Jeremy, Thank you for your review of the hotel in which we are glad to know you enjoyed your quick visit to the hotel. We understand a lot of your concerns in which we do our very best to educate the guests on how to navigate the area. We hope to welcome you and your friends back to the Cova in the very near future. Take care!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Barbara, CA

Wonderful staff!

Posted Apr 17, 2018
This place is a gem in the Tenderloin - wonderful staff, lovely rooftop area, and a free wine "hour" from 5-7 each night! Room was clean and comfortable. Would stay here again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2018 by Matt, Hotel Management
Good day Summer, Thank you very much for the wonderful comments of the Cova Hotel. We are so pleased to know that you experienced the Comfort and Value which Cova stands for. We would love to welcome you back in the very near future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Apr 12, 2018
No complaints about the hotel itself (nice, clean, friendly staff) but it is in a sketchy area. Doesn't feel safe to walk outside alone, especially at night. That being said, the hotel itself is very decent and I would stay there again despite the bad area it's in because other hotels in safer areas are not as nice or as clean as this one. The walls are also not thin unlike many other hotels in SF so you can't hear anything from the streets (sirens, people yelling, etc). This is the first hotel I've actually had a good nights sleep in and that's the most important thing to me. Their breakfast is also a nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2018 by Matt, Hotel Management
Good day Lily, Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback of the Cova Hotel. We completely understand your concerns of the location in which we do our very best to educate our guests on how to navigate our area. We hope that you were able to utilize the complimentary shuttle services to help you navigate the city. Cova stands for Comfort and Value and to know that you finally had a good nights sleep is fantastic. Take care always and safe travels!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bay Area

awesome value!

Posted Mar 23, 2018
After hours of searching online doing price comparisons as I am sure is what you are doing right now, for the budget I had, COVA won the prize hands down. Save yourself the agony and time because I did it all for you. As long as COVA has not increased their prices or cut down on any of their cool freebies they offered when we stayed there (march 2018), there is absolutely no other hotel that will be able to match their value. Here are just some of the cool things I am talking about: - Free breakfast. No, it's not an extravagant buffet and it's also not just continental. It's enough to make you say, "Not bad." - Free shuttle rides to most of the SF sightseeing attractions. Yes, free rides back to the hotel too. - Free unlimited wine (don't be cheap and tip!) from 5p-7p on top of the terrace (indoor/outdoor) view. Not much of a view, but cool nonetheless. - Free bottle of water and Keureg style coffee. - Cool chilled lobby to lounge around. - Cool staff! - 24 hr Valet Parking with in/out Half the cost of most other hotels downtown area. - Pho across the street was yummy (Cash Only) Only downside, if it bothers you: not the best area in terms of homeless/street people, but completely harmless. I'm a local, and trust me, you are safe. Will definitely return again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2018 by Matthew Salvan, Hotel Management
Good day Tiffany, Thank you very much for your wonderful and most detailed review of all the perks that you can receive from staying with us at the Cova Hotel. Comfort and Value is how COVA comes up with the name and that is why we want those reading your review, to know that this is exactly why we work hard to keep our guests satisfied for choosing us. We understand the challenges of the location in which we always want to showcase the best that the hotel has to offer. We highly appreciate all that you said and we surely look forward to seeing you in the near future. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly the next time your travels takes you back to San Francisco. Take care always and safe travels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new zealand

Nice hotel

Posted Mar 4, 2018
Hotel was very nice staff were friendly! However occasionally the hall ways would stink really bad of cigarettes so that was a down side! Location was about 10mins from fisherman’s warf so about a $4 uber ride or the hotel offers free shuttles to verious points. You could not walk along Ellis street though due to excess amounts of begging homeless even the man at the front desk advised us not to walk along Ellis street! Overall great value for money.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 5, 2018 by Matt, Hotel Management
Hi Alicia, Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback of the hotel. We surely understand you concern of our location in which we do hope that you were able to utilize our complimentary shuttle services to help you navigate the city. We thank you for your kind words concerning the staff here. We do wish to welcome you back in the near future. Take care always and safe travels!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tenby, Pembrokeshire, UK

Great location for Union Square and shops etc.

Posted Feb 28, 2018
Pros: See above review, the staff, breakfast and location, comfy bed and spacious room.
Cons: Housekeeping staff to learn English as I mentioned to 1 lady that the safety lock was coming off our door and she clearly did not pass this on.
Location: See above review
The hotel is in a great location for Union square, which is kind of the best area to be if staying in San Francisco. We needed parking on-site and although expensive and operated by a third party independent of the Cova Hotel, you just have to accept that you have to pay it to park in this central location. The hotel operates a free shuttle to Union Square which is only a 10-15 minute walk away anyway, also to Fishermans Wharf and Japan Town for free, so a nice touch. Continental style Breakfast is upstairs on the 'roof' with great views over the city. It is buffet style and plentiful with lots of choice and all fresh and continually topped up at b usy periods (9am seems to be the peak breakfast time, so avoid if possible, but still not a problem as the staff are on the ball) and this certainly sets you up for a great days sight seeing. The staff are superb, helpful and knowledgeable and I thank you for your excellent service. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable, though the shower, although adequate, lacks a bit of decent pressure, but no big deal. Likewise the beds, large and comfy. We stayed here for 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. However, some of the streets close to the hotel. literally 1 block away, are full of homeless people sleeping on the streets and walking past them is not a nice experience and can feel threatening, but to be fair, we never had any problems or abuse. We just kept our heads down, avoided eye contact and kept walking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2018 by Matt, Hotel Management
Good day Steve, Thank you very much for your detailed review of the Cova Hotel. We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. We are sorry that there was a communication issue with our Housekeeping staff. We really do our very best to keep educate them on basic needs of our hotel guests in which we understand that, at times, some items may be difficult to translate. We will surely educate them on the locks at the hotel. As for the location, we understand you observation and thank you for pointing out the benefit of being conveniently being located to a lot of what San Francisco has to offer. Our complimentary shuttle service is the best way to navigate the city when staying at the hotel. I am sure that others reading your review will surely benefit from reading it. We appreciate your kinds words of our service here since we are always striving to provide the best service here. We do hope to see you in the very near future when your travels take you back to San Francisco. Please have many more successful travels with many memories/experiences to come. Take care always!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Very clean and comfortable

Posted Feb 24, 2018
Welcoming and friendly staff. Very clean hotel all around. Comfortable beds. (No heat or air but fans provided). Quiet within the hotel. Some outside noise but I wore ear plugs for sleeping. Neighborhood is undesirable but I didn't feel unsafe. Homelessness, drugs and prostitution are obvious but not a single person bothered us. Has scheduled complimentary shuttle to bring you to key areas. Enjoyedour stay completely.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 26, 2018 by Matt, Hotel Management
Good day Laura, Thank you so much for you rating and feedback of the Cova Hotel. We are pleased to know that you found are staff to be welcoming and friendly. We understand your concerns of the location in which we truly try our very best to educate the guests on how to navigate the area. The usage of the complimentary shuttle is definitely a way we can assist with that. We are glad you were able to utilize it. Thank you again and we do hope to see you in the very near future. Take care always!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

Not great

Posted Feb 12, 2018 on Orbitz
No heat in rooms, they give you portable spacer heaters. In twenty five years of travel have never seen this before. Hotel is on edge not so great area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 15, 2018 by Matt, Hotel Management
Good day David, We are sorry that we only provide the portable heater for your room. We do have a limited number of rooms with a heating unit but it appears that you were not accommodated in one. We do hope that you still enjoyed the overall stay at the Cova. Thank you for your feedback and we hope that you have safe travels home.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not staying here again

Posted Feb 9, 2018 on Hotels
Bed was not comfortable, it happened to be a hot day in SF and it was 85 degrees in our room. There is no air conditioning. Which may normally be ok, but it was not fun when you cannot sleep. We walked to the mall 6 blocks down the street and we were in the heart of the Tenderloin. I expected I was going to have to defend my life. In the middle of the day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 12, 2018 by Matt, Hotel Management
Good day Erik, We are so sorry that your stay at the Cova Hotel was not to your satisfaction. The lack of AC is definitely felt on the days that the city is experiencing high temperatures. San Francisco is not known for the high heat so we are sorry that our rooms were uncomfortable in the evening. We also understand that concern of our location in which we really hope you were able to utilize our complimentary shuttle at some points during your stay to help you navigate the unique areas of our surroundings. We know the challenges in which we have the shuttle program in place to assist with these issues. Thank you for staying with us and take care always.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rough neighborhood.

Posted Feb 5, 2018 on Hotels
Terrible neighborhood. Me and my mom didn’t feel safe walking the streets alone. Breakfast was really disappointing. Ready made oatmeal or a soft boiled egg would make a big difference.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 5, 2018 by Matt, Hotel Management
Good day Claus, We apologize that the breakfast was not to your satisfaction. Thank you for your feedback.