Ratings based on 1,496 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Close to everything

Posted Apr 18, 2018
The hotel is great close to everything friendly staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

simpatico hotel

Posted Apr 11, 2018
nice hotel not especially expensive in a expensive but great city
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

I'll be back...

Posted Apr 11, 2018
Very nice location. Front desk staff were amazing. Very friendly and helpful, my favorite part of the stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colchester

Good hotel in downtown SF

Posted Apr 8, 2018
Pros: The building is nice. Room comfortable.
Cons: See above regarding extra charges policy
Location: Plenty..
This is good, nicely located hotel. Sutter street is somewhat quieter than nearby streets, but very close to Union Square, China town etc. There are also a number of nice, cheap breakfast places nearby (the hotel doesn't have breakfast). My room was nice but looked out on a blind wall with a bit of noise from some nearby airco (?) unit. There were also some additional fees to be paid at the hotel. Not entirely clear whether they were SF 'taxes' or charges for facilities (like internal and gym). In my opinion, internet should be free and gym an opt-in. The staff was very friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 20, 2018
Staff really nice, great area, loved that the cozy cafe was across the street!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san francisco

Good hotel for the price. Clean and quiet only a

Posted Mar 16, 2018
Good stay overall. Clean and modern. Room was small but comfortable. Has a good Hitchcock vibe at night complete with endless hallways lined with vertigo inducing feeling as you creek your way down the halls.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Very comfortable in good neighborhood.

Posted Mar 11, 2018
The hotel room was comfortable and very clean. The only issue which was not a deal breaker was that I had to flush the toilet twice as it wasn't powerful enough. Also, the hotel is in a safe neighbourhood. Overall a very good experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 10, 2018
Great staff! Love the history and tie to the movie.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san francisco

Posted Mar 3, 2018
This hotel was very nice! Rooms were clean, staff was friendly and it was an overall good experience! Would definitely stay here again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Totally worth the price

Posted Mar 2, 2018
The hotel is quirky and themed after Hitchcock’s Vertigo. The bed and pillows were so comfy I didn’t want to get out of bed in the morning. The bathrooms are upgraded with simple modern features. One thing I didn’t like was our specific bathroom door didn’t lock. the room was a little cold but it is the winter so that’s to be expected. For it being on a busy street it was very quiet. Okay so GREG is lovely. He was charming and smiley and we adored him especially although all the staff was very pleasant. I would definitely recommend to anyone and stay again myself in the future.