Ratings based on 447 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Rosa, CA

Nice Hotel in center of town

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: Location & friendliness of staff!
Location: Everything was close by! Beach, shopping, restaurants, museums!
This lovely hotel is situated in the middle of beautiful State Street. Shops, restaurants, museums and of coarse the beach, are all within a minutes walk. We had a standard room, which as expected wasn't large, but was very comfortable. The staff was friendly, professional and very helpful. The Continental breakfast was included with many choices...waffles, eggs, cereal, fruit, toast, danishes, coffee...We almost missed it, but the hotel does have a convenient Parking Lot right behind it, for a small fee. Great stay! Hope to return soon!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017 by Ashley Llamas, Sales Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback; we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and our location! We hope to welcome you back again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Classic building in a good location

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Had a great stay overall - clean & comfortable room in a convienent location :-)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming, Old California experience

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Located in the heart of State Street, surrounded by excellent restaurants, great sidewalk cafes, shopping, people watching and robust night life. Early California architecture, old style lyft with sliding gate, large room with two queen size beds overlooking State St., Continental breakfast included. We've stayed there one earlier time and would have rated five stars but this time, as senior citizens, we struggled, receiving no help with our luggage. Still, a lovely overall experience and will return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2017 by Ashley Llamas, Sales Manager, Hotel Management
We love to welcome back repeat guests and thank you for your feedback! Next time you are here, we would be more than happy to help you with your luggage and apologize that didn't happen during your recent stay. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2017
The hotel is in a great, central location next to tons of bars and restaurants. The style is lovely and old, but that means the rooms are old too. Bed was small for two adults, only one nightstand, a lightbulb was out in our bathroom (there were only 2), and my hair would've dried faster if my boyfriend just blew on it for a couple of minutes instead of using the "hairdryer ". You also have to valet your car ($15 + tip) or try to find parking nearby which just isn't going to happen in downtown Santa Barbara. The staff was nice, the free breakfast was nothing special, and the decor is nice. The location makes up for the lackluster of the rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Grand hotel that has been updated. Great location and good breakfast buffet.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Location is great! In the heart of downtown Santa Barbara and very close to the beach/pier. You can walk everywhere for shopping, food, and entertainment. Top pillows were dirty like they hadn't been washed and were re-used. We ended up removing those pillows from our bed and using the ones underneath instead. Shower did not have inside waterproof curtain to prevent water from going outside the tub. Instead it was the curtain fabric itself and it got soaked/water all over the floor.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017 by Jennie , Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We pride ourselves on a clean and friendly hotel and we are looking into to the pillow situation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted May 21, 2017
Nice old hotel; well maintained and great location. We came on the train and walked from the train station to the hotel.
5 out of 5
by Don

Clean and convenient

Posted May 10, 2017 on Hotels
friendly staff, good continental breakfast, clean comfortable room,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Central - but limited facilities

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Pros: It was very central on State Street and definitely had charm and was well maintained.
Cons: Access to a pool - even with some reciprocal arrangement with another hotel. Also the breakfast needs more choices - more cereals and hot foods.
Location: Very central - you don't really need a car.
Hotel definitely has character - and charm, but no pool or dining facilities - and quite small rooms. Also, the only elevator is ancient. My wife is disabled and we were on the top floor ( 4th) - so the constant concern was if the elevator didn't work then navigating 4 floors of steps would be impossible for her. Luckily there was no elevator breakdown.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location. Friendly staff

Posted Apr 29, 2017 on Orbitz
Pleasant but far from great. Comfortable bed. The breakfast was poor. Hotel is in a very good location. Public areas are pretty.