Ratings based on 1,568 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from El Paso, TX

Our favorite hotel so far

Posted Jan 17, 2018
This is our 3rd visit staying on/near the Plaza and La Fonda is definitely our favorite. The rooms are clean and decorated well with a classic and yet modern feel at the same time. While known for a great dinner menu, we have to say the BREAKFAST menu at La Plazuela was outstanding as well. We will definitely be returning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from colorado

Old world New Mexico charm

Posted Jan 13, 2018
Pros: Ambience
Location: Perfectly located on The Plaza
Wonderful Grande Dane of Santa Fe......charming, efficient, centrally located....in winter not so crowded and wonderfully old school
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa maria, CA

Great hotel, nice old historic building.

Posted Jan 10, 2018
Extremely charming, great experience. I personally liked the historic elements of the architecture, located in the middle of town, walking distance to the main historic square and basilica.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Historic hotel with Central location

Posted Jan 8, 2018
Pros: Location and character
Cons: The shabby area rug in the room
The La Fonda Hotel is a Hotel with lots of character and has an excellent location. You can walk to everything in the historic district from here. Check in and check out were both quick and efficient. The restaurant in the center courtyard was almost excellent except for some unfriendly waiters and waitresses. The rooms were cozy, clean, and comfortable. That area rug, though, is quite shabby. Overall, we had a Hotel experience at the La Fonda.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth

Luxury and History in a great Location

Posted Jan 8, 2018
La Fonda holds many treasures from its parking garage to the decorative painted headboards in each room. We enjoyed our stay because we chose this hotel. We could walk anywhere we wanted to visit. Wandering the lobby was also a visual treat because of the artwork on the walls and many other surfaces La Plazuela restaurant in the heart of the lobby is a great choice for any meal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Copper Mountain

Best place to stay in SantaFe

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Pros: Service, location, value.
Location: This is in the middle of the old city of SantaFe. Adjacent to th famous plaza. Park your car and walk to everything.
Superb service from. The moment we arrived. Helen, the Concierge guided us through what to see in town and made us a hard to get reservation at a local #1 rated restaurant, which was amazing. Leo, the bartender in the lobby bar not only makes a great margarita, but when we asked about having dinner in the hotel dining room, he brought Jimmy the chef out to the bar to talk with us about his specials for the evening. Leo reserved a great table for us in the Plazuela dining room, and then Chef Jimmy continued to check on our table throughout our meal. Between Jimmy and our waiter, Gaspar, we felt like celebrities. Such great service and also very good food. The hotel is directly across from the plaza and close to everything. There are multiple shops attached to the hotel including a fantastic French bakery where you can get superb bakery items or a light breakfast Torte Milanese. The room was spacious and clean with a huge closet, complimentary bathrobes, coffee and bottles of water. This may have been one of the best hotel experiences we have ever had.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Collins

Great Location, Good Stay

Posted Jan 4, 2018
Pros: Location, location and overall sense of feeling.
Cons: Bar experience and snack in the gift shop.
Location: Everything you would want in downtown Santa Fe is at your fingertips.
We had a great trip in Santa Fe and the La Fonda on the Plaza was a part of that. Check-in and Parking were convenient, though it would be nice to have cheaper parking since we were guests rather than just using the parking service. The room was nice, we loved the sitting room and the decor was on point. The bed was a little too firm and a seemed a little on the short side. The art in the hotel is great. It was fun to see kids doing the scavenger hunt with their grandparents . The location to the plaza, shops, restaurants and attractions were perfect. The two things to enhance for the future is a better bar experience and to have snacks a available in the gift shop.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rio Rancho, NM

Dec. 19th in Santa Fe, New Mexico

Posted Dec 25, 2017
Pros: Easy parking, very clean and appointed. We had a hot hottie by the fireplace after our walk around the Christmas Light on the plaza.
Cons: Offer baked potatoes or mashed potatoes on the menu even if you have to charge more. I love broccoli, but broccoli flan not so much.
Location: Christmas lights on the Plaza. Many restaurants, churches, and Goversnor Museum.
I gave a rating of 4 for only one reason, and that is at dinner with my steak, I could not get a baked potato or mashed potatoes. Not even offered for extra cost. Otherwise I would have rated La Fonda as a 5. La Fonda needs to fix the menu.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TX

I'm Extremely Fond of LaFonda On The Plaza

Posted Dec 24, 2017
From check in to being Dog Friendly with Doggy bags upon check in, our experience was Fabulous! Our suite with fireplace and everything was just an awesome experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel close to everything

Posted Dec 23, 2017
Great location, centrally located to all shops, museums, & siteseeing. Friendly staff. Comfortable beds. Quiet. Very enjoyable.