Ratings based on 1,526 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin TX

Wonderful Old World Charm

Posted Nov 22, 2017
We loved everything about the place. You won't be disappointed!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MD

On the Plaza

Posted Nov 20, 2017
If you’re staying in downtown Santa Fe, this is the place to be!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Lovely hotel right in the middle of everything

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Pros: Location is perfect
Great hotel - perfect way to start our road trip. Plenty of friendly staff. Rooms were clean and spacious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Halloween night at the LaFonda

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Gorgeous hotel with great charm and history. Staff very friendly and helpful. Loved the painted headboard in my room. Just such lovely artwork all about and lots of nice shops and restaurants. Met some fun and interesting people at the bar. Great stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Princeton, NJ

Great location

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Loved the hotel. The location, right on the plaza, was great. The staff was extremely helpful and pleasant at all times. If you plan on eating at the restaurant, you definitely have to make a reservation in advance. My only negative is that the rooms are a little small. The king size bed took up the entire room, leaving no place to sit but a small chair and the bed. However, the room was very quaint and had a great ambience. Loved the rooftop bar for watching evening sunsets!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from flagstaff

Posted Nov 2, 2017
Every thing was great. Room, staff and the dinner at the restaurant was great. Friendly yet very professional. Great experience. Thanks
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expected better for the price

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Cons: *Better, friendlier service *Parking attendant should direct traffic to open spaces *Website should indicate parking fee *Get the dogs away from me!
It's OK. I expected more given the high price and high ratings. Good: *Great location (though it's not "on the plaza" as advertised) *Comfy beds *Big room *Classic architecture and wonderful artwork Bad: *Very bright lights outside the window and no black-out curtains *Flashing light on smoke detector - obnoxious at night *Awful shower *Parking garage is extremely tight *Very busy/crowded/noisy Ugly: *Parking garage was gridlocked and attendants were not directing traffic to the only floor that had open spaces *Check-in clerk was surly *Bad service in bar *Numerous dogs in the restaurant and bar (yuck!) *Housekeepers banging on doors and yelling in the hall in the evening *Housekeepers banging on my door despite the do-not-disturb sign on the door *Parking fee not mentioned on website or Expedia
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Golden CO

Great location

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: Loved the location, the lobby, the room was nicely decorated. The beds were very comfortable!
Location: Most excellent location!! Walked and shopped to everything right out the door!
Spent an anniversary weekend at this hotel. Had lunch in the restaurant..very good! Drinks in the bell tower for happy hour with a beautiful sunset! Band in the lobby both nights we were there that was fun to dance to and fun to people watch! Love the beautiful lobby!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Silver Spring, Maryland

the hotel is in the heart of the city

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Pros: The centrality--it's in the center of the city.
Cons: enclose the dining areas so it gets separated from the corridors, and thereby become more intimate and quieter.
Location: The hotel is in the center of the city.
The service was at best ordinary. The dining area was cold during breakfasts. the lobby is always mobbed with people. The hotel lobby lacks the sense of privacy and elegance.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from grand junction

Nightmare

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Total screwup on reservations caused, I believe by Expedia when I cancelled a reservation at Mesa Verde. I think not only was the mesa Verde res, cancelled but the one here. More when I can review my bank account.