Ratings based on 482 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, Texas

Conveniently located

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: La Posada is located right off the plaza and is convenient to just about everything. A daily shuttle runs to sites within a two mile radius.
Cons: We had very pleasant breakfast fare and service but an early afternoon foray did not provide adequate service.
Location: Just .2 miles off the plaza, the bulk of Santa Fe's historic sites are within walking or shuttle distance. other sites are within 10 miles.
This resort hotel is 6 acres of beautiful landscaping and Santa Fe style rooms. If you don't like to stroll for services, you should probably choose a more traditional hotel but we found La Posada to be relaxing and quiet in the midst of a very busy downtown.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Very Nice Hotel. Beautiful Grounds.

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Pros: Location. Friendly staff. Clean room. Beautiful grounds.
Cons: TV in bedroom had wires dangling from it. Seems like it would be easy to correct. Ugly view: transformer box and weeds.
Location: Located near plaza, great restaurants, Basilica de St Francis, museum. Near galleries and Canyon road.
Very nice hotel. We expected a 2 queen bed, with fireplace, room. Instead, we were given a one queen bed and no fireplace suite. Still, very nice. Hotels grounds are beautiful, but our view consisted of a transformer and weeds. Oh well. Room was clean, maid service was thorough and flexible. Ate breakfast at hotel, and wait time for meal and drink was long, but we were on vacation. No big deal. Good food. We stayed an extra day and hotel staff was very accommodating. Will stay again... Just hope to get room with better view.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Different from 10 1/2 years ago

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: Beautiful setting
Cons: Customer service and promptness
In December of 2006, I proposed to my now wife at La Posada while on a romantic getaway! La Posada was a fabulous location, hotel, and staff. We had an amazing time and were so thankful for the memories created there. Fast forward 10 1/2 years, and I decided to surprise my wife for our 10th Wedding Anniversary by returning to La Posada. I realized, when I booked the stay, there must've been a change in ownership/management because of the SPG system. Little did I know how much it did change. I booked on May 24, 2017 for a stay July 14-17, 2017. I received confirmation and was excited to surprise my wife! We left on July 14, and I contacted La Posada at 1:34 PM (July 14) while in route to Santa Fe, to let them know we would be arriving around 5:30-6pm local time for check in. The gentleman confirmed my last name, and said it was noted. Upon arriving at approximately 5:45 PM, we attempted to check in. To our shock and surprise, they had not reservation for us! I immediately went to my email, and found the May 24, 2017 confirmation email, with itinerary number and confirmation number. We were originally told they had no rooms available, but they tried to put us in a small, full size bed, room near the entrance to the resort. I refused to settle for the inadequate room, after I'd booked a superior room. Luckily, they obliged with a better room. It continued to get worse... I called room service and it took several attempts of 2-3 minutes each to get through.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2017 by Joe Kelley, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear James, It is always a pleasure to welcome back prior guests – particularly for special occasions – and I am disappointed to see the issues you experienced during your recent visit. Your valuable feedback was shared with applicable management and staff and I understand that we were able to offer you upgraded accommodations to a deluxe room with a patio for the duration of your stay. All of us wish you a Happy Anniversary and do hope you will have an opportunity to visit again for the memorable stay you remember. Sincerely, Joe Kelley General Manager La Posada de Santa Fe
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Good location, too pricey

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: Location was great. Nice grounds with lots of art.
Cons: Would like an option to park my own car, even if it was a little ways away.
Location: Town square only a couple blocks a way with lots of shops and restaurants.
Kind of a waste of money if you're not taking advantage of the spa (which we weren't). Good location, easy to walk to downtown, but if you want your car you have to wait for the valet to retrieve it (up to 10-15 min). And every time we took the car back we were grilled with questions about when we would need it back. They really didn't like it when I said I didn't know. The room was large and nice, but I was disappointed that there was no balcony or patio. The pool was quite small as was the lounging area around the pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AZ

Gem resort

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: Great deal on pricing and incredible value
Cons: Saturday mornings (or after a wedding) outdoor breakfast area can get crowded, but manageable
Location: Close to downtown Santa Fe and easily a nice walk in pleasant weather. Shuttle service available.
The resort is close to downtown Santa Fe without the noise. Easy walking distance, but there is a shuttle to more distant sections of Santa Fe. Rooms are lovely and quiet with individual decks. Great restaurant and bar. Efficient and friendly staff -- We are coming back. Saturday mornings breakfast are generally very busy so we opted to walk a block to the local french bakery.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful location. Great bathroom. Pleasant valet

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Totally satisfactory, convenient to square. Nice outdoor patio.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: Location, property layout
Cons: Window coverings, bathroom layout, lack of privacy
I stayed in a basic queen room, which was a good value for the location. Pros: just on the edge of the tourist district, quiet location, valet parking. Cons: ground floor windows in tight quarters allow guests a full view of the room unless blackout shades are down, shades have gaps, bathroom is very small and dated (no place to put toiletries, blow dryer and hand towels are in the closet!). There was a tiny fireplace that would be tough to use given the size of the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2017 by Joe Kelley, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our resort. Your comments about our value, quiet and central location and valet parking are all most appreciated. We sincerely apologize that certain aspects of your room did not meet your rightfully high expectations. Every room at the resort is unique because of its history as a 19th century mansion, an artist colony in the 1930's and 40's and the six-acre resort with casita-style lodging it has become today. Accommodations include everything from our charming "cozy artist studio" rooms, which were originally designed to house artists and are smaller by design, to more expansive suites with multiple rooms and larger fireplaces and patios. Our front desk staff is always happy to work with guests to find the perfect room for their specific needs and they anticipate assisting you in this regard on your next visit. All of us wish you a safe and pleasant journey and look forward to seeing you again soon. Sincerely, Joe Kelley General Manager La Posada de Santa Fe
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Wonderful place to stay! Great location, too!

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: Location to downtown Santa Fe.
Cons: Pool needed to be cleaned up a bit.
Location: Perfect! Walking distance to town.
Staff was friendly and attentive. Hotel was clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

I would stay there in a second.

Posted May 17, 2017
The staff made me feel very welcomed and was always smiling. I felt safe within the walls of the La Posada which is very important to me. I would easily stay there again when visiting Santa Fe next year.!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Anthem AZ

First Time to Santa Fe

Posted May 17, 2017
This hotel is within walking distance from everything. Perfect place to stay for 2 nights and see the sights of Santa Fe. Beautifully appointed room with balcony. This hotel has 6 acres of property and a full spa