Ratings based on 1,541 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Nice historic place that keeps its dirt

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: Beautiful fireplace
Cons: Cleanliness, plumbing
Location: A mile from Pike Marketplace and most attractions downtown.
The toilet still had fecal matter in it when I arrived. There was an empty bottle of water in the mini bar and garbage when i entered the room. You have to run the water for 10 minutes in order for it to get warm enough to take a shower. This was very frustrating on a tight schedule.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from santiago, chile

Nice hotel nice rooms very convenient

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Felt very good like location , valet parking, wine in the evening very nuce
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC.

Nice hotel close to Pike Place market.

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: The hotel was close to downtown Seattle. Great big rooms with a view.
Cons: Nothing really.
Location: Located near the downtown and Pikes Place market and a brew pub.
Very Charming old hotel my room was big with a great view. It very clean and the shower was awesome. You can walk to a brew pub from the hotel. The area was very safe to walk around even at night. Even though the hotel was old it still all the things you want. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The gave me a bottle of water for the rode.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lisbon Portugal

Nice charm hotel on the hill

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Pros: Charm hotel
Nice old hotel on the hill. A little bit distant from downtown you have to climb a steep street from the center. Near the medical facilities in Seattle ideal if you have something to do there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BIG+BEAR+LAKE%2C+CA

STOP+OVER+IN+SEATTLE

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: EVERYTHING
WHAT+A+TERRIFIC+PLACE.++GORGEOUS+INSIDE+AND+OUT.++RESTAURANT+FOOD+WAS+EXCELLENT%21++STAFF+WAS+TERRIFIC.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017 by Mindy Cushing, Director of Reservations, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the positive feedback. We are really pleased you had a wonderful stay. We will definitely pass along your kind words to our team!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from portland oregon

Great hotel staff, hotel room is lacking

Posted Aug 7, 2017
It's always hard to determine if a hotel is what it is in the photos on expedia or it's own website. I booked Sorrento because it appeared to be a pretty upscale hotel. When we got there, all the staff were super nice but you could immediately tell that the hotel was very old. It has 1 elevator. 1 really slow elevator for everyone, basically. The rooms are nicely laid out and the bathrooms are particularly nice but everything is very old. The windows open with no screens. The "AC" is an old wall unit that does not cool down the room. Our particular view was of a brick building next door. The couch pull out bed was bowed in and awful to sleep on. The coffee and the French press were a nice touch and very delicious. Overall I definitely feel like I overpaid. No complimentary breakfast which I feel like should be a standard offer for a hotel that's gonna charge $500+ for a room. The room service menu was limited and very expensive and it wasn't all that great. Bottom line: while the staff were all great, this hotel isn't worth the price and it's located at the top of some pretty gnarly hills so walking to the waterfront with kids is basically impossible. We weren't located near anything worth seeing either.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic staff

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Beautiful historic hotel with attentive intelligent staff. Great experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017 by Mindy Cushing, Director of Reservations, Hotel Management
We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay and that our staff was attentive. We hope to see you again if you are in the area!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautifully Classic

Posted Jul 15, 2017
I absolutely love this place. It's in a convenient location close enough to city center but far enough to have quiet nights. The food at the Dunbar Room restaurant is amazing. My favorite part of the stay are the live music nights at the fireside room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dallas

Nice base for Seattle trip

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Pros: Large room, friendly staff, history of hotel
Cons: Better ac
Location: Lots of bars and restaurants in neighborhood
Historic small hotel. Yes, the floors creak a bit, it doesn't have that new carpet smell, and the ac has problems keeping up on warmer days. But if you like historic hotels with character, this one fits the bill. Our room was huge, with a sitting area, large bathroom, and lots of windows. We dined via room service and enjoyed drinks on the patio and a nightcap in the bar. Food and service for all was attentive and quality of food above average. Fitness center has only 1 treadmill, 1 elliptical and some dated circuit equipment. But it gets little use so didn't have an issue getting a machine. There is only 1 smaller elevator but we never had issues getting a lift when needed and also used the central stairway a lot. The lobby is swathed in dark hand carved wood and decorated with menus and pictures from the hotels history. The location on First Hill positions you near the restaurants and bars of Union Hill and downtown. I took the short easy walk to downtown meetings daily. Overall would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SoCal

Excellent, "old world feel" hotel in good Seattle

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Pros: Pleasant staff
Cons: Gym equipment
Location: Close to Swedish Medical Center and Capital Hill - but alos close to Seattle Art Museum, Benaroya Hall and downtown.
Gym is rather basic (and equipment old, minimal and/or not fully operational) but from warm welcome on arrival by valet & registration desk; through creaky and very cramped, slow elevator, to spacious rooms with well stocked bar/fridge; great food and cocktails - you feel like you stepped back 40-50 years in time at the Sorrento. Lucky to need to stay here on a regular basis and so far have not had a disappointing stay.