Ratings based on 1,227 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Great hotel for the price. Up the hill from Downtown. The room was too hot, no way to get the heat down but open the window.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 4, 2017
It was fine. It is and old Hotel but very good if you are having procedures At Virginia Mason Clinic or Hospital.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Quiet and convenient to Virginia Mason hospital.

Posted Nov 2, 2017
This is an older hotel, but conveniently located with easy access to downtown Seattle. The room was comfortable and staff was friendly ... especialky the dining room staff. Computers and printers were available for use and located in the sister hotel across the street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, Oregon

Halloween weekend in Seattle

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, great location, dining room, charm, in Halloween spirit.
Cons: Room was warm and we had no room temperature control, but was fine with the fan provided.
Location: Easy walking from downtown, Pike Market, to capital hill night life up Pike, Pine and Broadway areas.
First time stay at this hotel while in Seattle. It’s an older building, staff was great, had a nice full service dining area on main floor. Though it could use some updating, it is a very charming hotel in a great location within walking of downtown and capital hill. I can say that I will be back. We had a great time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Our room was clean, bathroom very clean. Friendly, helpful staff. Good location. Nice restaurant. Overall, a very pleasant stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

close to hospital

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Pros: Bed was comfortable. Bottom sheet was dirty. Took it off bed.
Cons: bathroom and window drapes.
Location: Restaurants close. No place to park.
very little parking. lots of restaurants around in walking distance. Veru noisy, room situated next to hospital roof. Room very dated.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S.E. Alaska

right next to Virginia mason hospital

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Location: you can walk to pike's place, restaurants, bars, shopping. Seems far on a map, but it's not that far. Just hilly.
well, it's a good place to stay in that it is basically attached to the hospital. I wouldn't recommend having a car - the cheapest parking is on 9th down the steep hill you have to lug your bags up and down. Only a two-dollar discount for parking if you're a patient. The hotel is old, so you have a tiny, slow elevator, tiny bathrooms with no counter space (there was a small shelf), old windows, and no AC, but there is a LOT of closet room - you could almost use it as a bedroom for a kid but there are no windows in it. They had a hair dryer, ironing board/iron, and luggage rack. The place could definitely use some love. The caulking was splitting in the bathroom and paint was starting to bubble and peel on the walls. These are cheap things to fix and would make the room appear a lot cleaner, although, it was clean. I always check for bed-bugs and didn't find any. The linens were nice and clean and there were lots of pillows to prop up in bed against. There were a couple other maintenance issues with our room, but may be specific to that room; the TV was lop-sided because the base was broken and the phone would work sometimes and sometimes not (buttons wouldn't respond). I told the lady at the counter about the TV. She balanced it back, but as soon as I touched it to position it, it fell back into it's lop-sided state. Overall, it's not a pretty place to look at, but it's a clean place to lay your head.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Seattle Hotel by the Hospital

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Pros: Charm and old features.
Cons: Cooling system, sound control, updates, chipped paint, newer carpets, better staff, longer restaurant hours.
Location: It's downtown and central: it's best feature.
The photos for this place are a bit misleading. I love old buildings so I found it kind of charming, but it is definitely a bit run down and a very well used place. Our room was clean and the bed comfortable, but even with the heat off it was a very muggy 82 degrees at night. I slept with a sheet and still woke up from the heat. The age of the hotel is obvious and there haven't been significant upgrades to offer anything like air con. It is also next to a hotel which I didn't realize. The hum from the hospital generator was so loud that we had to keep the window closed. The front desk told us the next day we should have asked for another room, but we didn't get back till late so weren't able to. The hotel restaurant and bar were quite odd. They shut down at 9 (like lights out, staff left) and we were left sitting finishing our glass of wine in the near dark. Strange for a Friday night downtown Seattle. Not really a $200 a night type of experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

Cozy friendly hotel

Posted Sep 29, 2017
This is an older hotel located in a more established area of Seattle. It has a warm friendly feel. The hotel is beside a hospital & serves a place away from home for family and patients. The staff were extremely watm and friendly. The food was great. The intimate outdoor patio was a wonderful bonus in the warm fall weather. The hotel is a little dated but extremely clean. We would definitely stay here again. The hotel was within walking distance of the stadiums but is up a steep hill so a taxi home back was essential.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Walla Walla, WA

Pleasantly frill-less.

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: See above.
Cons: Signage in the hallways is perhaps understated.
Location: Well located to Swedish and Virginia Mason hospitals and to Seattle University. Be in good physical condition for the walk back from downtown.
No nonsense here. The older building has some charm and is well maintained. Rooms comfortable, nothing fancy. Bathroom in good repair. Price is modest, which in Seattle these days is a huge plus!