Ratings based on 3,854 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Could not get the room cool enough! Two elevator "malfunctions" over four days.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2017 by Alison, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are currently in the process of modernizing our elevators and do apologize for any delays this may have caused. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from windsor, uk

Very slow to release pre-authorizations on cards.

Posted Aug 3, 2017
I stayed in the hotel on 21-24 July. It is now 2nd aug & the hotel has still not released the pre-authorisation against my debit card. This is now causing me a cash flow issue on my holiday. I find it totally unacceptable that the hotel takes so long to check the room check-outs and release the authorizations.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2017 by Alison, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Our sincerest apologies that your stay at The Westin Seattle did not meet your expectations. We do hope that you will have a chance to visit us again so that we can provide you with the kind of Westin experience and standard you have been accustomed to. Please reach out if you would like to discuss more
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Great Falls MT

Downtown Getaway

Posted Aug 2, 2017
When we first checked in it was crowded and the clerk sent us to a room that was already occupied. Front desk staff remedied the situation immediately. This is our favorite Seattle hotel!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2017 by MaggieGuestServices, Hotel Management
Thank you for your great review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our hotel. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

If you want a room with a view.....

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: Very clean with a great staff.
Cons: Elevators are a bit slow but I think this has been an ongoing problem. We just flew out for the weekend to chill so we weren't in any hurry.
Location: Make sure to walk down to Top Pot for doughnuts! They are awesome!
This is an older hotel with a few signs of aging noted. The hotel and our room were very CLEAN and that is WAY more important to me than a few imperfections. I live in a house built in 1925 so I understand aging. Dirty is something I can not tolerate so I was very pleased with the hotel. They have an outrageously priced snack bar in your room so don't touch it unless absolutely necessary. Room service was so/so for the price you pay. Eating seafood at the Market is a way better idea. We took our Yeti cups for drinks and took our own snacks. Problem solved. The hotel is crazy close to most attractions and we walked to everything including the Needle and Pike Market. I have seen some with issues about safety in this area but it seemed safe as long as you use common sense. We come from a small town of 2,500 (I did live in Louisville for four years) and we felt totally safe walking around at 5:30 am. You know, that time when the city is starting to wake up. A city waking up and going to sleep are some of the best moments I think. I just happen to be a morning person. Pay the extra for the water view. We were on the 27th floor and it was the best hotel view we have ever had. Beautiful, totally beautiful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2017 by MaggieGuestServices, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review! We are delighted to hear that you truly enjoyed your view as well as our prime location in downtown Seattle. Please note that our elevators and lobby are undergoing our next round of renovations through the end of the year, and we do hope that you'll come back to visit us then as we put the finishing touches on our details and look to give you a 5 star experience. We cannot wait for your next visit!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: convenience
Cons: clean the roof
Convenient and clean. You have seagulls and there babies along with all there poop to look at out your window. Not real appealing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2017 by MaggieGuestServices, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We will address this directly. We are happy to hear that you were pleased with the prime location of our building and hope that you will stay with us next time you are in town!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Livermore, CA

Just OK...

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: Comfortable bed, decent location.
Cons: The place needs an upgrade. Does not feel as nice as most other Westin's I've stayed at. Needs more food options, needs a few amenities for guests.
Location: Walk to Space Needle, Seattle Center, waterfront, Pike's Market, Ferris Wheel, Pioneer Square, lots of shopping.
We had an easy enough time checking in late, got our room quickly. However, room located right across from elevators fairly loud. Our view opened on to an ugly expanse of roof that filled with birds every morning that starting squaking as soon as the sun came up. No amenities to speak of-no coffee in room, not even water set up for guests in lobby. The bar had limited hours on the weekend...open only 3-10, which was not convenient. They charged for WiFi, which is ridiculous when you're paying $300 a night for an average room. The plusses-the bed was super comfortable and the TV nice. The location was walkable to just about every Seattle destination, if you don't mind a good walk.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2017 by MaggieGuestServices, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and experienced a comfortable night's sleep in our Heavenly Beds. We are further happy to hear that our staff was helpful and that you were able to enjoy our prime downtown location. We are currently going through an elevator renovation and have a Lobby renovation scheduled for the end of 2017. We hope that you will have a chance to visit us again so that we can provide you with the kind of Westin experience and standard you have been accustomed to. We cannot wait for your next visit!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hartford, CT

Disappointing hotel, but in great location

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Pros: The location is excellent.
Cons: Front desk and bistro staff need better training.
Slow check in, poor check in service (did not recognize or offer loyalty status benefits I was entitled to), one hour wait to get luggage to room, persistent billing errors (despite being told the charges would be removed), hopeless service at breakfast bistro. We stayed at the start and the end of our cruise, and had a similar experience on each stay. I do not recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2017 by MaggieGuestServices, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and the Expedia community. We would like you to know we take feedback like yours very seriously. Our sincerest apologies that your check-in and dining experience was less than satisfactory. We hope that you will have a chance to visit us again so that we can provide you with the kind of Westin experience and standard you have been accustomed to.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Waco, TX

Great Location-Great Staff

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Pros: Centrally located to all the popular tourist attractions, and target and grocery stores and drug store and other stores
Cons: Dresser in main room with regular size drawers-couch sheets in closet upon arrival
Location: Centrally located to everything, duck ride, all museums, needle, pikes market, aquarium, caught #5 bus to the zoo, fares-wheel, shopping and more
Great location-centrally located to everything 0.1 to monorail-which goes to the needle area and duck ride, ear museum, kid science museum, and many items 0.6 to pikes market and aquarium and pier for boat rides and other tourist items close to all the popular items Basically this hotel was the best high end in its day-best is the location Staff was awesome We were checked in at 11am which was awesome $1.50 per local phone call-so use your cell We had free wifi in main areas and on our plan we had free in our room but this is not standard Breakfast buffet is $30 per person, plus tax, plus tip-we opted to go to the local drug store across the street which is like a grocery store for dinner and also breakfast McDonald's is behind the hotel, and many other cheaper restaurants near by, No free refg. or microwave in room The hotel is really, really old Cons: no dresser-3 tiny drawers in the closet below the safe Bathroom electrical outlet off center and not enough of them in the room Not enough outlets to plug in everything-so bring a massive 1 outlet with 6 outlets We had to call for sheets for the fold out couch Toilette paper super thin-angle soft Pros: Big room-this being said we had 1 deluxe king room with fold out couch Bed was nice Fold out couch standard uncomfortable mattress per kiddo Great view of many buildings on #36 floor Hotel staff professional, brought items in 5 min. only forgot 1 time out of 4 calls Soft nice bath soap
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2017 by Alison, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are delighted to hear our staff was friendly and helpful. We are further glad you were able to take advantage of our prime downtown location to explore all that Seattle has to offer. We hope to see you again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from the OC

Best hotel in town

Posted Jul 19, 2017
I loved the hotel. The staff was helpful and very friendly. They booked our one day trip to Victoria and made everything so smooth. Also they gave my husband some chocolates for his birthday l. We made some great memories in Seattle. The hotel was definitely the best in town...everything is walking distance. Their happy hour there is also phenomenal
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2017 by Alison, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are delighted to hear you had a great stay and our staff was friendly and helpful. We are further glad you were able to enjoy our happy hour and prime downtown Seattle location. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Nice hotel close to shopping and attractions

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Housekeeping staff attention to detail. Had to ring housekeeping nearly every day during our stay to top up amenities. Staff could show more cheerful
Location: Walkable distance to Space Needle and waterfront.
We did a stopover in Seattle prior to boarding our cruise liner in Vancouver. Judy @ concierge desk was most helpful not only with recommending places to eat in Seattle but organizing and following through on our bus tickets to Vancouver.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2017 by Alison, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of our prime downtown Seattle location. We hope to see you again soon!