Ratings based on 1,827 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Went to the knitting factory for a concert and happily skipped across the street to our hotel. It was beautiful and awesome that they had a free breakfast bar. I thought I was kind of silly that you had to pay to park but I guess since it was a little cheaper then regular Spokane parking it wasn't bad ($10). Staff was friendly during the day, night staff wasn't as friendly but still helpful with solving my problem. Thank you for the GREAT stay and I will definitely be back next concert!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2017 by James, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. Glad to hear you had a great stay. Your feedback is very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Beautifully Restored Historic Hotel

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Beautiful character hotel that retains a 19th century look but with modern day appointments. With it being right downtown it's within easy walking distance of numerous cultural and arts venues, so it's very convenient. There isn't a lot of parking, but they have an overflow lot and it's quite inexpensive. Overall the hotel is economical, but has a lot of style. Three restaurants are essentially within the building complex. The walls are a little thin as it is an older hotel, but this is easily remedied with ear plugs. I will definitely stay here again the next time I'm in Spokane.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonds, WA

Vintage charm with modern rooms.

Posted Oct 9, 2017
This was a great find! The vintage feel and history of the Montvale was wonderful. The staff were friendly. Loved the Gilded Unicorn Tavern below, and the walking distance to many downtown amenities.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Helens, OR

Beautiful furnishings, uncomfortable mattress

Posted Sep 30, 2017
My wife and I were looking for a hotel downtown where we could enjoy the area. We loved the great remodel and beautiful furnishings but found ourselves quite a distance from the park and shopping so decided to drive anyway. The room and bathroom were beautifully furnished but were very disappointed with the quality of mattress which does not allow the body to lie flat and align the spine. It was like a rotisserie night trying to sleep comfortably. We recommend the owners invest in new quality mattresses to match the quality of the remodel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from benicia, ca

Modern conveniences, old charm renovation.

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: Revived an old gem.
Location: Downtown in the midst of entertainment, shopping and breweries!
Downtown Spokane is really changing and many old beautiful buildings are being revived and repurposed. This is an example of one of these wonderful projects.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Whitefish, Mt.

Close to the knitting factory for a show

Posted Sep 14, 2017
All in all the hotel is nice! The staff was friendly and helpful! The atmosphere is historic and peaceful. The only thing I was caught off guard with was $10 to park.. I assumed hotels include parking being that I travel for work and stay in over 100 hotels per year. If there were parking garages, they are usually waved with the stay. The parking is also uncovered. Other then that, We loved the stay. We went for a show at the knitting factory, so it was just a walk across the street!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Comfortable

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Pros: It was clean and quiet for the most part.
Cons: Location of coffee Better location and selection for continental breakfast More areas in bathroom to have items placed on Needs a desk to work on.
Location: I don't know - just wanted a place to sleep. Not sightseeing. Easy to find and parking was ok.
This hotel was very clean and comfortable, but there are a few comfort shortcomings - not crucial ones, but helpful ones. For example, I love having my coffee in the morning without having to get dressed to get it. They did have coffee, but not in rooms - out in lobby area. There was no side table or area to put things in the bathroom. One tiny shelf was it. The free continental breakfast down the street at Ruby's was horrible. They make a big deal that it is free for staying with them, but I wouldn't pay for it. Hard boiled eggs, cereal, juice and a English muffin. Not a lot of choice and nothing warm....especially the muffin from the toaster. Seemed strange to send us to a bar down the block for breakfast - not comfortable or family style seating. The staff were wonderful and room clean....not much more is critical but could be improved upon.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017 by Front Desk, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your feedback we do find it very helpful. We actually will have a restaurant coming in the future that will replace that breakfast at the Ruby, so be on the look out for that. If ever you would like coffee in you room just ask the Front Desk as we can place a coffee pot in your room upon request free of charge. Again thank you so much for your feedback. Have a wonderful day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from murrieta ca

I was very pleased and will go back

Posted Aug 30, 2017
I loved the hotel. Very traditional decor. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Very comfortable stay in a beautifully restored old downtown hotel. Very comfortable beds. Loved having the 24 hour coffee and tea bar in the hotel's common area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Penticton Canada

Nice older hotel in the downtown core.

Posted Aug 21, 2017
The hotel had a lovely feel. The center lounge was inviting and I appreciated good coffee in the morning. The lobby and common areas smelt wonderful!