Ratings based on 201 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St John's Newfoundland

Nice with character

Posted Dec 13, 2017
The house was old with much of the original character but very well kept. I never saw anyone however. My key and check in was waiting for me when I arrived. The bathroom floor was heated which was a nice bonus to find. There were some Christmas oranges out on the dining table where they have a self serve breakfast. I was told it starts at 730 but no one was there to put things out. There was cereal but I thought they may put out bread and replenish the fruit as well. The room was spacious and quite lovely. There was wifi and a tv you could watch from bed or the couch. There was parking around back if needed. The house is right downtown and you can walk to a few things if you don't mind the fresh air. I would definitely stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No Heat in Room

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Pros: Clean Room...good rate.
Cons: A comfortable HEATED room and provide breakfast as promised.
We arrived to a cold room since the thermostat or heater was not working. Called staff and they showed up with a portable heater but this was insufficient to heat the room especially the bathroom. We were supposed to get continental breakfast but only food available was a bowl of cereal. Would have been nice if management had provided free room stay considering the inconvenience experienced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Second time staying here. Very comfortable and convenient. Love the architecture and decor! Well appointed rooms and the beds a super comfy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from clarenville n.l. canada

location

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Pros: nice quiet great old historic home nice large room great whir pool
Cons: nothing
Location: close to down town and walking distance to the parks close bye close to the government house and the rooms
had a nice relaxing time with a great friend and partner our time
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Nice to look at

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Pros: This history and the appearance
Cons: Plumbing and heating! Better vacuuming beside the head of the bed.
Location: Nice cafe across the street but more of a sit down restaurant really and don't offer wifi
Heritage room was really nice in appearance but the incessant dripping of the bathtub facet made it a little challenging to get to sleep in addition to the freezing condition of the room. A very good thing they had and extra blanket in the closet as the thermostat did nothing to raise the temp of room and it was really difficult to get comfortable. Also strange plumbing sounds in the wall that also kept me up. Advertise breakfast but had a pretty weak selection of dried cereals and black bananas.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice stay

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Close to everything. Beautiful historic old home. Checkin system works well, but took some getting used to. Lovely self serve breakfast. Great for independent travelers. I’d stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cupids, NL

Close to the Downtown Scenery

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Beautiful spot, stayed in a different room than the first time we stayed there but still very clean and nice room!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Smooth check-in, quiet place, beautiful and spacious room, great location (very close to the Georgetown bakery!).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Quebec.

As good as the first stay.

Posted Oct 20, 2017
I first stayed at Cabot House four months ago and enjoyed it. The second stay merely confirmed all the positive experience from the first stay. A truly wonderful hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A little worn but generally good b&b

Posted Sep 13, 2017 on Hotels
Overall a good b&b in a convenient location (10 min walk to main streets). Maybe a little worn but perfectly functional. Service could have been better, breakfast only started being brought out at 7.30am & no catering for gluten free.