Ratings based on 183 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cupids, NLo

Beautiful Spot

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Stayed there with a friend for her birthday and ventured downtown for the night. Very close to downtown (could've walked if it wasn't raining), room was very clean and spacious, and the king size bed was to die for. My only complaint is if someone who has never been there before, how do they know how to check in. I had to learn the hard was as there was nobody to ask (didn't see not 1 staff member), and anyone could've come in and said they were me and could've taken my room. That's my only complaint.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Alberta

B&B with a Difference

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Pros: as mentioned above
Cons: as mentioned above
Location: The Fish Exchange is a great place for supper!~ We had Lobster and it was amazing! The Bagel Experience was tasty as well as the Express café.
We really enjoyed our stay at Cabot House. The rooms were of a generous size with even a walk-in closet! Management were very courteous & helpful. The only comment I wish to make is that I would have liked to see a little protein at the Breakfast ( i.e. Boiled Eggs, Cheese.) There were plenty of carbohydrates. It is very close to downtown, and near the wharf. I would highly recommend Cabot to everyone. Tastefully decorated. Our favourite place to stay during our week of holidays in Newfoundland.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Newly renovated clean rooms

Posted Aug 31, 2017
We stayed at a unit that was newly renovated. The living and kitchen areas are spacious and the bathroom is clean. It is close to most restaurants in Deer Lake (less than a five-minute drive) and you can easily get to Gros Morne (30-45 minutes).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2017
It was a good experience..... the room was clean and comfortable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Hotel with character central to points of interest

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Pros: Quaint, clean, central
Cons: Coffee rather weak and often medium heat.
Location: Close to Metro transit system. The $5. for the day Hop on and Off bus catch outside the Sheraton - goes to Signal Hill, along Water-Railroad Museum
Generally Cabot House is perfect for new comers to St. Johns. Clean, comfortable bed, Jacuzzi tub, over 100 years old, beautifully renovated within the heritage character. Continental breakfast substantial enough - help yourself to cereal, toast, pastries, fruit, juice, coffee, etc. Meet guests from all over the world! Great get away...wonderful café down the street - open till 3: named Happy Heart or something like that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Nice old B&B

Posted Aug 12, 2017
Cons: Breakfast late 2 out of 4 days so was rushed one morning to eat and make a tee off time.
Room #2 big with jacuzi. Great value with continental breakfast & use of fridge.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dangerous bed

Posted Aug 10, 2017
The cheap bed collapsed on us twice. Limited shower area due to curtains. Continental breakfast had bad coffee and not ready on time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Lovely

Posted Aug 8, 2017
We really enjoyed our stay in this lovely old home. Our room was spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was continental not full but good just the same. We enjoyed meeting and talking with other travelers . We experienced very little noise during our visit. Not a problem for us but there is no elevator. Cabot House is in s great location within walking distance to many attractions.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kingsville, On

Overpriced for What You Get

Posted Aug 7, 2017
My idea of a bed and breakfast is having interaction with the home owner and being treated as I was a guest in their home. In this case, a robot could have run his place. Our key and instructions were in an envelope in the entranceway. We didn't see this and rang the doorbell. An employee came out, told us we couldn't check in until 3, pointed us to the keys and quickly vanished. For this price, we should have a hot home-cooked breakfast....not pastries from a store box, cut up fruit and bread for a toaster. When I asked for sugar for my coffee the next morning because there was none out, I merely got a mumble and the woman disappeared for ten minutes before returning with it. This was a lovely home with a beautiful room but a hot breakfast and some personalized interaction would be wonderful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Great location. Very nice room. Breakfast was good.