Ratings based on 157 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Andrews NS

Close proximity to downtown St. John’s

Posted Dec 30, 2017
Conveniently located Easy check in Bed very comfortable in room one Bathroom older but clean Window blinds and ledges could you a good cleaning. Cable and internet good. Common areas tastefully decorated. Nice to have coffee tea water available Only 2 parking spots available Warm and cozy
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Port au port

What does BB stand for

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Room was ok but there was no breakfast items in the 3 days that I stayed
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lewisporte, NL

Great for the price.

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Pros: Proximity to restaurants, shopping and sightseeing.
Cons: The décor in the room and the bed.
Location: Close walk to George and Duckworth and Water Streets for restaurants, bars and sightseeing. The Rooms, Delta and MileOne Centre are walkable distance.
The price was excellent, if you want a place to shower, lay your head to sleep and walk to lots of great restaurants and attractions. Is tired, though and the bed , while comfortable, creaked like crazy and we ended up with sore backs. Bathtub has pits where the ceramic it worn away and a few mold spots.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Crooks

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Beware of this place and their other properties. If you have to change or cancel your reservation you will not get your money back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Halifax

Close to the downtown entertainment area

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Don't bother with breakfast. It is just cereal or toast. Advertised as continental but no meats, eggs or cheeses.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Nice hotel with a great downtown location.

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Pros: Accessibility.
Cons: Space, room would have been real tight with two guests in the room.
Location: I walked everywhere including to the top of Signal Hill and around North Head. In four days I never ate in the same place twice. Many, many choices.
Very walkable, but also includes free parking if needed. Very easy to access and use. I also used transit while there. Hundreds of eating choices nearby. Recommended restaurant list in the room should be updated. My only beef would be that the price was a little high for the size of the space. Room was tight with a queen size bed and only one chair and no real desk at all. Overall very clean and quiet and loads of St John's charm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary AB

Great location in the heart of town

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Except for the winding staircase which was hard for my husband to navigate but is part of older properties, we really enjoyed our stay. The second floor parking area was great because you could use it to avoid the narrow staircase by using the roadway to get into the front door and breakfast area also great for bringing in luggage. The breakfast house attendant was very helpful and knowledgeable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Excellent Staff, Great Location

Posted Aug 21, 2017
We loved our stay at the Gower House! It was wonderful to be able to walk everywhere in the city, especially home from George Street! Room was a bit small, especially the shower but we me made do and the staff definitely made up for it with helpful hints and great conversation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Excellent location. great staff, comfortable clean

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Pros: Excellent location. great staff, comfortable clean rooms
Cons: Option to open a window?
Location: Right on - excellent
Excellent location. great staff, comfortable clean, very accommodating staff when we arrived before check-in early. Lots nearby including a corner store for convenience items.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Easy access to the downtown area.

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Great spot for active people. Although located off the normal hotel strip, this place was clean and quiet. View from the top floor was terrific. Parking out back made it easy to park the car and walk wherever you wanted to go, as long as hills were not a problem for you.