Ratings based on 268 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Loves the cleanliness and coziness of the room. Coming back again for sure.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2017 by Gordon, Hotel Management
Clean and cozy - I am glad that we got it right for you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Corner Brook

Nice hotel close to downtown.

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Pros: It was clean and quiet.
Cons: If you arrive at night finding the house numbers is very difficult since the numbers are on brass plates and the number and plate are the same colour.
The hotel was in a quiet area, although it’s close to the downtown.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 10, 2017 by Gordon, Hotel Management
Vicki, Thank you so much for your review. We work hard to ensure our rooms are clean. St. Joseph’s Lane is a beautiful quiet street in the heart of downtown. Our brass plates are getting a little old and we are looking at a solution for our late night check-ins. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in St. John’s
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Happy

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Nice room. First floor room little small but nice and clean. Only sleeping there anyway.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 10, 2017 by Gordon , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. Next time perhaps we can upgrade you to a First Floor Suite or move you to one of our larger 3rd Floor rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

close to downtown

Posted Nov 24, 2017
Location: handy to downtown
clean room, friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Great location. Staff are friendly and room is clean and perfect for a weekend getaway.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2017 by Gordon, Hotel Management
Jag, Thanks for the review - and choosing to stay with us for your weekend getaway - being at the base of the #1 Tourist attraction in St. John's is a definite bonus. Look forward to you coming back
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Nice hotel, great location. Friendly staff, close to downtown yet quiet street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Ontario

Great location and B&B

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Pros: Everything! Beds were awesome :)
Location: Location is great! Please go see Eco Centre, Terry Fox and all the beautiful restaurants downtown. Food is scrumptious and it is such a nice walk.
I really loved this B&B. The rooms were perfect and the beds were extremely comfortable. They told me that the beds were made by a local supplier so I would say bravo to the business as the bed were heavenly. The covers included a real duvet (not a small blanket) and I haven't slept like this well in years. The location is close to downtown and a really nice walk to the convention centre. It was quiet and it has a nice little area for coffee and breakfast. Staff were great and helpful! Thanks to Norma for her help and being so kind! I highly recommend this place as prices are very reasonable and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Thanks Hometel for a great experience!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2017 by Gordon, Hotel Management
Lynn, Wow - thank you so much for your terrific review. The beds are heavenly for sure and it is always great to support local businesses. Glad that you were able to take advantage of our "outdoor" gym. Norma and her team work hard to make each guests stay enjoyable. Come back again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Enjoyable BnB experience

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Room is clean. Breakfast was very good and organized. Access to a kitchen to give you the option of cooking instead of eating out. Location was awesome.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 3, 2017 by Gordon, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review - our night staff make the muffins fresh each evening. Glad you could take advantage of the kitchen in your Brownstone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Nice hotel close to all the sites

Posted Oct 25, 2017
We stayed here for 4 nights and had a great stay. Overall the hotel is very modern and the suite room was spacious and comfortable. It was nice to have a separate sitting area to relax. It is within walking distance of downtown and a decent walk to signal hill. The breakfast was simple (boiled eggs, fruit, toast, yogurt, coffee, etc.) but well stocked. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The only downside with this hotel is accessibilty. My husband has mobility issues and difficulty with stairs so this meant having to bring breakfast back to room, although staff were fine with it. The room also did not have a bath mat and it took some time to get one. Also, the parking is limited with no handicap spots which meant having to drop my husband off at our unit and me having to loop a bit. We were on the first floor but there are no elevators to the upper floors. Despite this, we would definitely stay again as the rest of the hotel is great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 3, 2017 by Gordon, Hotel Management
Michelle, Thank you for your review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. I am glad that you liked the breakfast and your main floor suite. Parking is no doubt a challenge. We work with customers to point out as many places as possible. We will look forward to having you back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from winnipeg

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: Location Quiet Street. Near downtown
Cons: Great stay
Location: Close to everything
Great city. Lots to do both day and nightlife. The Rooms is an all day experience
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2017 by Gordon, Hotel Management
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in our great city - and that coming back to a quiet street at the end of all your enjoyment was a plus. And yes our location is supreme.