Ratings based on 81 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from whitby, Ontario Cdn

Great dwntwn location.

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Met the owner & mgr. Great guys and most helpful. Newly renovated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location!

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Simple, clean and quiet spot right downtown on Water Street. Walking distance to everything. Friendly staff. Not fancy, but comfy beds, nice bathroom and all we needed!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newfoundland

Great Spot for Those Who Love Downtown

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Pros: The room was nice - clean, modern but still had great character, the bed was comfy, and the shower was wonderful.
Cons: Our room had some electrical issues with the pot lighting in the entry hall and main room, which made it a little dark, but the big windows let in sun
Location: Smack dab in the middle of downtown, with dining (casual and fine), coffee shops, bars, and excellent shopping nearby. On a major bus route too.
We had a great stay here - the room was awesome, the staff in the hotel bar downstairs were very friendly, and the location was perfect for someone like me who loves downtown St. John's. And don't let parking scare you! We found a great spot nearby (although that can only be accredited to Good Luck or Good Parking Karma) but then we just left the car there for the weekend - we were within walking distance to great eating, great shopping, and more bars than we could hit in one weekend (in spite of our admirable effort).
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2017 by JF, Hotel Management
We do appreciate your feedback, we always look forward on improving our hotel. Thank you.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newfoundland

Downtown Conveniencee

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: Hotel has a lovely Industrial esthetic.
Cons: Cleanliness, Parking, and provision of in house food.
Location: Great downtown location for boutique shopping.
Stayed several nights here. Needed accommodation near "The Rooms". Staff were lovely. Not a fan of driving in the city core (too many one ways and merging streets. Definitely have a GPS handy!). Great location for chic shopping though.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a traditional hotel

Posted May 6, 2017
This is not a traditional hotel. You reserve online, pay online, there is no check in desk, no staff, no elevator...having said that, it has a great location, very basic clean room, quiet, etc... So as long as you know what you're getting, enjoy! I stayed there a full work week, Monday to Friday and I never saw a single person, I heard one door close in my hallway...that's it. So if this sounds like your cup of tea, you're in for a treat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Boutique Hotel

Posted Apr 25, 2017
I have guests come to town roughly once a month. I will ALWAYS book the Franklin Hotel if it is available. The rooms are beautiful and the location is fantastic-right in the heart of downtown. Most importantly, however, is that the owner and staff are accommodating and just plain nice! The larger hotels in St. John's are seriously lacking in customer service, but the people at The Franklin make up for it in spades.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Downtown hotel, w/ easy access but a bit expensive

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: Spacious room and double shower heads
Cons: Could have a business centre.
Location: It is central downtown but everything downtown closes around 9pm except for one 24hr pub.
Doesn't really have many facilities (gym or business centre or even front desk) but has easy check-in/out. Also there is a Goodlife fitness near by.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel downtown

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: uniqueness
Cons: cleanliness of the bathroom
Location: great location
we had a room with two beds. one was very comfortable however the other one was extremely hard and uncomfortable. Also the shower was not cleaned very well. the corners and the glass need to be cleaned.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok for price

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Gave me wrong room. Keys didn't work , the smell of smoke on top of air freshener would knock you out. There was a large water stain on the carpet next to door. No room attendant to clean. Wouldn't go back.
4 out of 5
by Brent

Great spot to stay if going to George street.

Posted Feb 25, 2017 on Hotels
Great hotel. I picked it for the conscience of going to George street and to stumble back. Not your normal hotel with a lobby, but fantastic for downtown. Room was great. Very modern and decor was wonderful. No tub but shower had two shower heads and very big. No complaints at all. Would recommend hotel to anyone and would stay there again.