Ratings based on 86 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Great location in downrown St. John's. Hotel has great potential!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Fantastic find in the heart of the city

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: Quick check-in, large & clean room, great location
Cons: Parking situation
If you can forego some of the 'typical' hotel amenities few people use anyway (gym, room service, terrible continental breakfast, etc) then this will be a great fit. I could not find any other hotel so centrally located within St John's that was anywhere near the Franklin's price. After booking on Expedia I received a text message confirmation from the staff. Check-in occurs at the Franklin bar on ground level, and stairs took us to the second floor where our very spacious and clean room was located. In the den were some chairs and a mini-fridge - not stocked but we kept our drinks in there. The view was not great as it faced a parking garage and you could hear workers from the harbour in the washroom, but neither of these things were showstoppers. After all, we were there to explore the city and not spend our days indoors. The shower was very nice and hot water was consistent. Parking should not be a deterrent but is something to take into consideration. On the weekends finding street parking was quite tough but it is free. Alternatively I saw two garages nearby but did not see their rates. Restaurants, George St bars, shopping, and some great breakfast places are only a few minutes away. You can walk or cab to the Quidi Vidi brewery and take a nice trail along the coast back to the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BC Canada

Decent two bedroom

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Getting the two beds in two separate rooms.
Cons: A little stark but I'm renting not living there.
Location: Right in the heart of St. John's.
As mentioned in other reviews not a typical hotel with a front desk but the boys were on top of things. They knew we were coming and were waiting for us. They've done a decent job of taking an old building and turning it into usable hotel space. Nothing fancy but you're right downtown and can come and go as you please at any hour. Quiet to boot although our room was in the back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from whitby, Ontario Cdn

Great dwntwn location.

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Met the owner & mgr. Great guys and most helpful. Newly renovated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location!

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Simple, clean and quiet spot right downtown on Water Street. Walking distance to everything. Friendly staff. Not fancy, but comfy beds, nice bathroom and all we needed!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newfoundland

Great Spot for Those Who Love Downtown

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Pros: The room was nice - clean, modern but still had great character, the bed was comfy, and the shower was wonderful.
Cons: Our room had some electrical issues with the pot lighting in the entry hall and main room, which made it a little dark, but the big windows let in sun
Location: Smack dab in the middle of downtown, with dining (casual and fine), coffee shops, bars, and excellent shopping nearby. On a major bus route too.
We had a great stay here - the room was awesome, the staff in the hotel bar downstairs were very friendly, and the location was perfect for someone like me who loves downtown St. John's. And don't let parking scare you! We found a great spot nearby (although that can only be accredited to Good Luck or Good Parking Karma) but then we just left the car there for the weekend - we were within walking distance to great eating, great shopping, and more bars than we could hit in one weekend (in spite of our admirable effort).
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2017 by JF, Hotel Management
We do appreciate your feedback, we always look forward on improving our hotel. Thank you.
4 out of 5
by Roger

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 31, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Sheena

Posted May 30, 2017 on Hotels
Bed was a torture chamber. Construction was going on in the hotel. No elevator.nobody everarund.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newfoundland

Downtown Conveniencee

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: Hotel has a lovely Industrial esthetic.
Cons: Cleanliness, Parking, and provision of in house food.
Location: Great downtown location for boutique shopping.
Stayed several nights here. Needed accommodation near "The Rooms". Staff were lovely. Not a fan of driving in the city core (too many one ways and merging streets. Definitely have a GPS handy!). Great location for chic shopping though.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a traditional hotel

Posted May 6, 2017
This is not a traditional hotel. You reserve online, pay online, there is no check in desk, no staff, no elevator...having said that, it has a great location, very basic clean room, quiet, etc... So as long as you know what you're getting, enjoy! I stayed there a full work week, Monday to Friday and I never saw a single person, I heard one door close in my hallway...that's it. So if this sounds like your cup of tea, you're in for a treat.