Ratings based on 313 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from grand falls windsor

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Was over priced for what you got. The rooms are a bit out of date and more cleaning and fresh paint would go a long ways.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017 by Murray Premises Hotel, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

not so good

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: clean ,
Expedia booked the wrong arrival date , my room key was for an occupied room , the fireplace didin't work - breakfast - hard boiled eggs plus fruit -
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017 by Murray Premises Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review, we appreciate it! We always aim to provide professional and courteous service and it is so great to hear from satisfied guests. Thank you again for choosing the Murray Premises Hotel, I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

nice hotel very nicely located to all interests.

Posted Aug 10, 2017
staff helpful and nice. Hotel/rooms clean and comfortable. Nice continental breakfast, free wifi and free onsite parking very pleasant bonuses. Overall very much what I've come to expect from historical buildings renovated into boutique hotels. i was comfortable, I slept, I enjoyed coffee and fresh fruit in the mornings, I occasionally saw and heard other guests but didn't need blinders or ear plugs. Would happily stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2017 by Murray Premises Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the great review, we appreciate it! I am so happy to hear that our boutique hotel surpassed your expectations, and that our charm and character resonated with you. We try our best to make everyone feel like home. Thanks again for choosing the Murray Premises Hotel, and for sharing your feedback!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Comfortable Stay in the Heart of St. John's

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Beautiful hotel inside and out. Great location right by the Harbour and only a few steps away from Water St. and George St. Continental breakfast provided, just enough to get your day started. A good Italian restaurant inside the hotel but many more options to choose from out on the streets. Bar and restaurant a little pricey but most places are. Outside courtyard is nice to sit at during the day with a bar and decent menu. Overall, you can't beat the location. Staff can also help with booking excursions for you too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2017 by Murray Premises Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the warm review, we really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts! We appreciate your comments about our staff as well, we always aim to provide professional and courteous service and it is so great to hear from satisfied guests. Thank you again for choosing the Murray Premises Hotel, I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Love this hotel!!

Posted Aug 7, 2017
The room was huge and the bed was so comfy!! Excellent location!! The only thing i would recommend is to have the carpets updated..other than that...will definitely be going back soon!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2017 by Murray Premises Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the great review, we appreciate it! I am so happy to hear that our boutique hotel surpassed your expectations, and that our charm and character resonated with you. We try our best to make everyone feel like home. Thanks again for choosing the Murray Premises Hotel, and for sharing your feedback!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newfoundland

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Very pleasant stay ! Easy check in .. very accommodating staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2017 by Murray Premises Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am very pleased to hear that our staff made your stay pleasant. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Perfect location, especially when taking in the George Street Festival... having parking included also a bonus!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2017 by Murray Premises Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review! We are the one and only few that offer complimentary parking for our hotel guest and we are glad that you appreciate it! Hope to see you again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbia, MD

Nice hotel near restaurants and shops

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Have more than one luggage cart.
Location: Location is near restaurants, bars, and clubs. Also near retail shops and banks. There is a lot activity in the area.
This hotel is very unique in that it is in a building originally built around 1850. This building is the last of the original buildings built near the waterfront. Building has been totally renovated, but has kept a lot of its original character; for example, the wood pillars that were in the original structure are still being used as part of the structure. They are in every room in the hotel. So, being that they are in every room, you definitely have to watch where you're going. On-site parking was available at no cost. The hotel has an outdoor cafe and an inside restaurant, The staff goes out of its way to make sure the customers are happy. The morning continental breakfast was decent and was always fully supplied. There is also a lounge where patrons can sit and relax while drinking coffee/tea. Granola bars are supplied free of charge. Bottled water is also free of charge. This is one of the finest hotels I've ever stayed in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2017 by Murray Premises Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for recommending our hotel to other travelers. I'm sure our entire hotel staff enjoyed catering to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay. Take care!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey, USA

Nice hotel to sites and restaurants.

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Pros: We liked the location.
Cons: The elevator needs improvement.
Location: We stayed mostly in St. John's since the city was so close to many sites to see and do. Wish we had time to do The Vault.
We had a wonderful stay in St. John's. The hotel we stayed at was convenient for the things we wanted to do. The rooms are nice. The noise of the motorcycles and the feet and voices of the people above us could be heard. The nearby restaurants were great especially The Preferred Chef! We like walking George Street, the harbor, and shopping in the Newfoundland Made stores.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2017 by Murray Premises Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for the great review, we appreciate it! One of the Murray Premises Hotel's key features is our great location, and I am glad to hear that we served as a home base for your visit to St. John's. Just about everything is within walking distance downtown in terms of shopping, nightlife, and history!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from montreal Quebec

gloomy but roomy

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Older charm, lots of storage, closet, open concept bath and shower.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2017 by Murray Premises Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the great review, we appreciate it! I am so happy to hear that our boutique hotel surpassed your expectations, and that our charm and character resonated with you. Thanks again for choosing the Murray Premises Hotel, and for sharing your feedback!