Ratings based on 820 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the Arch, publi transportation

Posted Aug 23, 2017
I went to to SL to watch the eclipse. I found at the hotl everything I needed for my short stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

good value for the price, was at convention center

Posted Aug 16, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: maybe have some happy hour with wine and food, as is typical at upscale hotels in California
Location: downtown isn;t all that exciting, it is St Louis after all...
fine hotel, not exciting in terms of happy hours or other events, but the room was fine and in good proximity to convention center
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

VERY NICE.

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Pros: GOOD STAY,GOOD LOCATION.
Cons: NEED MORE LIGHT IN BATHROOM.
Location: EASY WALK TO LANDING OR DOME.
STAYED HERE FOR DATE NIGHT AND TOOK IN CARDS GAME. FREE SHUTTLE TO GAME.NICE HOTEL.ROOMS A BIT SMALL,BUT OVERALL WAS FINE AND ALL THE STAFF WAS SUPER NICE.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very old building, terrible plumbing

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Service is decent, room is very outdated, spacious but lacking furniture. bed slightly creaked. Room temperature can't be controlled. bathroom plumbing is terrible, needed to use a towel to turn of shower all the way. The over all feel of the room felt like someone's old apartment studio. strict dress code required in the dining hall. Overall, it was ok. But I'd most likely never book again unless absolutely no other choice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2017 by Crystal, Hotel Management
We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. We are making repairs and updates to our guest rooms including the plumbing. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Old-fashioned club with downtown convenience

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Two good beds, plenty of pillows and towels.
Cons: Time for another renovation.
Location: Downtown close to the arch and convention center.
Still functioning as an athletic club, this place has four floors available for overnight guests. It has a nice old-fashioned feel, although the rooms seem to have been renovated decades ago. The water temperature in the shower was tricky, and the TV remote control was finicky, but overall a pleasant experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Benalla,Australia

Opulence in the heart of St.Louis

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: The formal dining areas and general beauty and history of this building. Tipping is also not permitted at this establishment which was surprising
Cons: The in room menu was average.
Location: Set in the downtown area, close se to gateway monument and Mississippi River,restaurants and major sporting arenas
This is an excellent hotel with spacious rooms and wonderful decor. Upon arriving we were treated like welcome guests.This is a hotel with a few dress rules and other rules put in place for the well being of guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Nice hotel in perfect location!

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: Location was awesome! Easy parking (for $15 per day) . Room was clean and comfortable.
Cons: This would be difficult to improve, but guests should be aware that the shower (at least in the room I was in) is very small.
Location: This location was even better than I expected. We walked to the Arch, restaurants, and by the baseball stadium. Perfect location.
We were very pleased with our stay at Missouri Athletic Club. We walked to the Arch and riverfront as well as to many restaurants. The room was clean and comfortable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Champaign IL

Not as advertised.

Posted Jun 25, 2017
The pictures on Expedia are much different than the actual room. The bathroom was extremely outdated, toilet was not clean. Water was tepid, mattress was uncomfortable. Wall outlets would not hold anything. I had to hold the plug into the outlet so my girlfriend could dry her hair. I would not reccomend this hotel to anyone. There are many hotels downtown, pay the extra money and get a nicer updated hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel downtown

Posted May 28, 2017
Within walking distance to the convention center, Arch and a variety of restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Thank you for your excellent review! We are so glad to hear that not only did you enjoy your stay, but that you were able to enjoy our great city as well. Please come back and see us soon!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location and staff, everything else is poor!

Posted May 19, 2017 on Hotels
The staff is great, however, the bed was SUPER uncomfortable! Super noisy when other guests shut the doors, which slam extremely loud! Bathroom was tiny and only had a small stand alone shower with a dirty shower head. Very outdated!! Air didn't work. Great location, but for the price, wouldn't stay again.