Ratings based on 2,144 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin

60th birthday trip for train lover.

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: We loved the lobby with the light show in the evenings. So great. Plus all the artwork/pictures around the hotel was train focused!
Location: We walked every where including the arch.
We took the train from Austin to St Louis to see the eclipse and stay at this wonderful hotel for my husband;s 60th birthday. WOW , if you love trains, this is the hotel for you!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Unique hotel!

Posted Aug 27, 2017
This is my second time and not likely my last stay. I'm amazed with the old and new architecture/engineering design! The staff is excellent and so are the drinks and food! I just hope there will be another pool and jacuzzis and other entertainment amenities for the number of rooms and the size of the overall facility!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unexceptional hotel attached to amazing building

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Have a drink in the beautiful lounge at Union Station and stay at another hotel. It's not a bad place, but for the price it could have been better and cleaner. Perhaps when they finish renovating hotel rooms in the old portion of the station we'll go back, but all the rooms in the new addition are small and uninspiring.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel with interesting features, but not recommend

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Features, look of lobby
Cons: Staff, handling of events
Location: A few restaurants immediately nearby. Gateway arch about a mile away.
This is a historic hotel that used to be an old train station. As such, it has a gorgeous lobby. Also, it has a cool fire show in its lagoon. On the surface, it seems like a 4 star hotel or higher, but after staying 4 nights, there are some clear issues. The amazing lobby gets rented for parties almost every night and there is no easy way to get into the hotel without disturbing the edges of the celebration. More often than not, the hotel staff servicing the event give unpleasant looks to hotel guests who are entering the hotel. After the room was cleaned one of the days, the housekeeper left our door propped slightly open, risking our possessions. The hotel is very spread out with a confusing layout and we had a person with mobility issues. This made getting to the room difficult for this person. One of the events during our stay was a wedding for somebody, and though we were not part of the guest list, our room had a wedding favor bag - which likely means one of the originally intended guests did not get one. The WiFi, though free, is spotty in the rooms. Water bottles are free and plentiful, but the refilling of them in the rooms is inconsistent between rooms (our group had 3 rooms rented). In summary, it is definitely worth checking out this hotel for it's beautiful lobby and light show and lagoon fire show, but staying there is not recommended.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A work in progress?

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: The building is pretty and staff is friendly.
Cons: Cleanliness of grounds. Service of housekeeping and room service.
A lot of the hotel appears to be a work in progress. The website talks about an aquarium coming soon (not until 2019), the beautiful light show in the grand hall (didn't see it), retail shops (couldn't find any). Most of the grounds seem to be under construction, as well as parts of the building itself. The grounds are not well cared for. The "fire and lights show" advertised all over the hotel is nothing more than gouts of flame shooting out of a very poorly cared for lagoon in time to music, accompanied by strings of lights hanging from a couple of small trees, that change colors. Room service is poor - both times that we called, once for dinner and once for breakfast, the person that took our order told us they normally don't work for room service and so couldn't answer any questions. When we called for dinner, the person called back to tell us they had been informed that the menu in our room was an old menu, and both of the meals we ordered were no longer offered. Instead of cleaning our room at all the first day, the housekeeper knocked on the door to ask if we needed anything, then asked me to initial her paperwork to confirm we only requested more towels. Then, our dirty towels piled up on the bathroom floor for two days and the beds went unmade. The people were all nice and friendly, but very poor service overall.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Wonderful staff and great for families

Posted Aug 17, 2017
My 2 children (8 and <1) stayed here for a night. The staff was very caring and helpful! Joel was amazing and made dinner time with 2 kiddos a breeze! The indoor light show and the new fire and light show outside were great entertainment for all of us! Will definitely stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from utah

Maid service

Posted Aug 6, 2017
We did not get our room cleaned like we should have... Not enough towels... But the desk man made it right with some perks.. Overall great stay...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from iowa

Nice stay

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Wonderful hotel. This is a great use of the old union station and keeping an amazing part of history. Loved the light show in the lobby. The fire shie on the pond was a nice too. The pool was nice and the staff is very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 26, 2017
We arrived early and needed to check into our room. The desk clerk was most kind and offered a breakfast buffet to us on the house. Great bed in a grand historic place!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rockaway, NJ

Beautiful Location

Posted Jul 25, 2017 on Orbitz
The main hall was an amazing room worth seeing even if you did not stay here. The work that was done was beautiful. The hotel is very clean and lots to see inside and out. The staff from the doorman, Randy was very nice and knowledgeable, to the valet and all of the staff inside. The assistant manager was extremely nice and accommodating to us and all of my family that was there for a long weekend. The bartenders, the people serving food to housekeeping were all friendly, nice and courteous. Just outside of the main city was nice for us. we had a car but, also used uber at times. The uber drivers we had were very nice. An early morning trip to the airport was only 25 minutes, little traffic and quiet in the airport. would absolutely stay here again.