Ratings based on 2,106 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Outstanding stay!!!

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: Service, and the historic beauty.
Location: Close to highways, and other St. Louis tourist areas.
From the time we checked in, to the time we left, the entire staff was kind, helpful, attentive, and exceptionally concerned that we enjoyed every aspect of our stay. The food at the executive lounge for an afternoon snack, and for breakfast was outstanding! Dinner at the Station Grille was delicious. Robert Wilson went above and beyond to ensure our dinner was the best it could be. Thanks to everyone for working together to make it a perfect time!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Spectacular, clean hotel with great staff

Posted Sep 10, 2017
The hotel staff was so incredibly friendly and helpful. We stayed in an executive room, which was beautiful, spacious, and immaculately clean. I could not recommend this hotel more. If you find yourself in St. Louis, stay here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Awesome hotel, room a little dated

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Pros: architecture is amazing, staff very friendly
Cons: Update the room - it was comfortable, but a little dated - still a great stay
The hotel is amazing, formerly a train station. In the lobby, the project a light show on the ceiling. Outside, next to the pool, there is a large 'lake' area, where they do a fire and ice show which is fun to watch. You can actually see it from the outdoor pool.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mishawaka, IN

Neat idea like a theme park, fell short on comfort

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Pros: It's history and light shows. Dining in the hotel restaurant is not as expensive as we thought. They give you a decent amount of food for the price.
Cons: The rooms need updated, desk employees need lessons in being kind and understanding to customers, thicker walls. Plants in front of 4ft cement walls.
Location: City Museum, restaurant, small park with fountain. Short drive to stadium, museums, arch, downtown.
My husband and I were in St. Louis for our 10th anniversary. I found the Union Station online and thought it was gorgeous and thought, cool history! The building is beautiful and well secured. The Lobby/bar area is obviously the jewel of this hotel. There is a 5 minute light show every night. There is a free fire-on-water show that is outside the hotel, but under the same Station roof near restaurants. I don't know if this is operated by the hotel, but it was neat to see once. Half of the LARGE station hotel is empty or waiting to be under construction but it is closed off. Now, the downsides. We didn't realize there were rooms with "views" aka the swimming pool area/tiny indoor park. Our first room had a view of a 4 ft. wall. Disappointing. Our refrigerator not only didn't work, but was missing its front leg so it wobbled bad. Air barely worked in the tiny room and we had a joined room with a drunk couple we didn't know. So we asked to be moved to a different room. The desk girls seemed put-out that we asked to be moved and weren't nice about it. So they cursed us with Room 2. This room had a view of the domed ceiling beams and the balcony for the rich executives eating breakfast. *sigh* Oh well, more to see by walking around. Room was cooler and cleaner, fridge worked. However our wall shared a wall with the elevators. So now all we could hear was the constant humming of elevators all night. Great place to visit. Don't stay if your not rich, the rooms need more updating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Quick getaway with my husband, we loved staying here and the light show was amazing.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Roanoke VA

Lots of History But Little Actual Comfort

Posted Aug 29, 2017
The original building recalls a lot of history. But beyond a few signs, stairways and windows, that history is lost to spooky, empty new additions, bad food (exact opposite of the history) and a silly light show with loud music completely unconnected to the surroundings. The Staff had some smiles; but seemed exhausted, trying to keep up appearances, though occupancy was light. Overall - odd experience. Like an amusement park sporting a few ghosts and echoes from times long past and holograms as guides for nonexistent throngs of modern revelers. But thanks for keeping the old part of the building open.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Fantastic hotel. Fantastic staff

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Valet parking. The cost was reasonable and the value first class. Changed the whole trip being able to pull up and leave the car in the hands of the valet parking staff Go down in the morning and ask for car via voucher number Absolutely worth it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin

60th birthday trip for train lover.

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: We loved the lobby with the light show in the evenings. So great. Plus all the artwork/pictures around the hotel was train focused!
Location: We walked every where including the arch.
We took the train from Austin to St Louis to see the eclipse and stay at this wonderful hotel for my husband;s 60th birthday. WOW , if you love trains, this is the hotel for you!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Unique hotel!

Posted Aug 27, 2017
This is my second time and not likely my last stay. I'm amazed with the old and new architecture/engineering design! The staff is excellent and so are the drinks and food! I just hope there will be another pool and jacuzzis and other entertainment amenities for the number of rooms and the size of the overall facility!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unexceptional hotel attached to amazing building

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Have a drink in the beautiful lounge at Union Station and stay at another hotel. It's not a bad place, but for the price it could have been better and cleaner. Perhaps when they finish renovating hotel rooms in the old portion of the station we'll go back, but all the rooms in the new addition are small and uninspiring.