Ratings based on 930 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Des Moines, IA

good but not great

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: modernize it; better staff
Location: near the Excel center, otherwise pretty dull
everything seemed a little off - we wanted to order room service for breakfast. We only had the pre-order piece. I call them to bring up the full menu. I get a call back asking if we want them to tell me the menu - no thanks. Then, they brought the same pre-order list. We book the room nearly 6 months ahead of time and we're given a handicap room that just covered the bathroom with water. It's the little things that add up to a solid three.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2017 by Director of Front Office, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review for our hotel. We truly appreciate the feedback very much and are thankful that you chose Hilton.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Paul

Great hotel with fun bar/restaurant!

Posted Jul 16, 2017
The a/c in our room was not working properly. We turned it down to 62 which did absolutely nothing as it was still uncomfortably warm in the room. Every time we turned the water on in the bathroom sink it backed up. Overall it is a great hotel, great casual restaurant/bar and very centrally located in downtown St Paul.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by Director of Front Office, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your nice review and great feedback. We appreciate your business very much and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Wonderful hotel close to the Xcel Energy Center

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: The staff was really friendly and helpful!
Location: Perfect location for attending events at the Xcel Energy Center, Science Museum, etc.
We really liked the hotel; the staff was great, the room was nice, and it was within walking distance from the Xcel Center. Parking was really easy, and the rates weren't bad compared with others in the area. It was the first time that I had stayed here, but will definitely go again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by Director of Front Office, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your nice review and great feedback. We appreciate your business very much and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Nice hotel but doors slam loudly

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: Kind staff, excellent restaurant.
Everything was great except for the fact that the room doors slam so loud that the surrounding rooms vibrate. Of course, there were plenty of rude, moron guests who didn't catch on to this fact and did not assist the door to close gently. Was awakened throughout the nights spent here. Should've asked for a different floor at least on the first night when there seemed to be sports teams on the floor. Also in a dingy part of downtown. Is the area turning taking an economic downturn?
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017 by Michael, Assistant Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Tina thank you for sharing your experience. Our hotel is in the center of Downtown St. Paul within close proximity to just about everything downtown has to offer. We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Hotel room was comfortable. Staff were courteous and changed my room quickly upon request. Nothing wrong with original room but wanted one king instead of two doubles. No extra fee. Facilities were nice, clean and well kept. I would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by Director of Front Office, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your nice review and great feedback. We appreciate your business very much and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bemidji, MN

Good Hotel - Would Stay Again

Posted May 26, 2017
Pros: Shuttle service, attached bar/restaurant, cleanliness
Cons: Better pillows or more variety to choose from, like two big foam ones and two softer ones
Location: We only stayed one night and were there for a concert, so we didn't go out and about. I know the Xcel Energy Center is within walking distance.
Very nice hotel with a friendly, if somewhat slow, staff. But you get a nice warm cookie for your wait. The room was nice, decent sized and clean. The bed was comfortable, but the pillows were awful. They were those super thick foam kind that are great for propping up to read, but are too thick to lay your head on when you lay down to sleep. The hotel has a shuttle. I don't know if it goes to the airport or what, but it took us to the Xcel Energy Center for a concert. There is an attached bar/pizzeria. The pizza is good and it has other stuff on the menu. Try the chorizo deviled eggs! Well, that's about all I've got say.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2017 by Michael, Hotel Management
Greetings Faye, Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience of our hotel and we are glad you enjoyed your experience while in town for a concert at Xcel Energy Center. In case you ever come back to St Paul, we do have softer feather pillows available upon request. Also, our shuttle does not go to MSP Airport, however it does go with in 3 miles of the hotel which pretty much gets you anywhere in St Paul. Thank you again for your stay and your wonderful review!
3 out of 5
by Sunshine

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 17, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Robert

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 13, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very prompt and responsive staff. Great place.

Posted May 13, 2017
I had a great time during my stay. Everything worked very well. I couldn't believe myself, bus shuttle for in town movement. Great one!!
5 out of 5
by Wayne

Would definitely recommend for XCel event goers

Posted May 4, 2017 on Hotels
Went to see a show at the Xcel with my son. Reasonable walk to the center, and the area in St Paul is very unique and the nearby Peanuts statues are a cute photo opportunity. The best part of the hotel to me was the restaurant in the hotel. It's open and the pizza was great after the show. My son and I played chess as they have quite a few games you can grab. Also prices were more reasonable there than at some of the surrounding places (unique for a hotel restaurant). My teen appreciated the warm cookies. Over and over again. Really just a good spot if you are going to XCel for a show.