Ratings based on 437 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 20, 2017
I had a great stay, everything was easy! My stay here was awesome and I would stay here again!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saint Paul

The Only Place to Stay in St. Paul

Posted Nov 19, 2017
The food at the St Paul Grill was outstanding. The room was awesome which added to such a lovely evening, night and morning with the woman of my dreams. Thank you St. Paul Hotel I will come back again and again and again truly a tremendous experience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Opera Stay

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Pros: It is so lovely and comfortable. Don't miss having a cocktail in front of the lobby's fireplace.
Cons: The room became quite warm even though I turned the thermostat down. I just turned it off and opened the windows. The neighborhood is amazingly quiet
Location: The Ordway Performing Arts Center, Schubert Museum in the Landmark building, James J. Hill Mansion, a beautiful library, views of the Mississippi,
There Ordway Performing Arts Center is right across the park...we didn't even need a coat to walk one block. It's a lovely, elegant old hotel that has been beautifully maintained. Great walking neighborhood full of beautiful architecture and home to many performance venues (dance, music, plays), not to mention great views of the Mississippi.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Roanoke, VA

Beautiful historic hotel

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Pros: Historic character, beautiful lobby and common areas, great restaurants, updated clean, comfortable rooms, convenient location
Cons: Nothing I could see
Location: It's a block from the Excel Energy Arena in the heart of downtown St Paul
With such good room rates I expected this historic hotel to be a little run down. Not so! Beautiful facility with excellent service. Appropriately updated while maintaining it's historic character. The on premise restaurants are excellent, great food. And of course it's in the heart of downtown St Paul.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wisconsin

Very nice hotel

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Spent the weekend there with my husband and friends for my husbands birthday and everything was wonderful. We will be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Classic hotel with very lively lobby scene. Rooms are a bit dated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 7, 2017
The Saint Paul was the most beautiful hotel we've ever stayed in. It was clean and comfortable and the staff was so friendly. It was close to our wedding event which made the stay even better. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wisconsin

Don't trust your bill

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Was charged for items from honor bar that we never touched. They agreed to remove them from the bill. Hotel was full and one of the two main elevators was out of service. Took 20 min or more to wait for the valet to bring our vehicle. Close to Downtown events, but otherwise not quite worth it for older rooms at an old hotel. Next trip, something a little more newer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 5, 2017
Close to the Xcel Energy Center. Great place georgeous lobby
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Room was too hot.

Posted Oct 28, 2017
The only bad thing was heating system. We couldn’t cool the room down in the winter. I need to sleep in a cool room.