Ratings based on 962 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

beautiful hotel with great downtown location

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Pros: great, friendly staff -- wonderful accommodations
Location: near all Syracuse U facitilities -- walking distance to carrier dome
two nights -- everything great -- upgraded to suite very clean
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Close to SU campus, short walk away.

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Stay was fine. Vending machines were not working and services at the hotel are limited other than b-fast, lunch and dinner.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 19, 2017 by Cindy Bauter, Hotel Management
Good morning, Thank you for your feedback. We do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your visit. We will look at the problems and take care of them. We would like the opportunity to make this right. Please let us know when your next visit to the Syracuse are will be and we would love to have your as our guests again. Once again, thank you for your review. Please have an enjoyable day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Hotel was clean. Nice staff..room a bit too small.close to local restaurant and pubs
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2017 by Cindy, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. Our staff works hard to be sure our guests are happy. We look forward to serving you on your next visit to the Syracuse area. Once again, thank you for your review.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

close to a lot downtown

Posted Nov 12, 2017
People excellent and very nice. Have stayed here now twice they even remembered me. The 1060 restuarnt and bar are great and so nice. The courtesy van personnel are awesome as usual. Just a great place and Syracuse is so cool will be living there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2017 by CBauter, Hotel Management
Good morning, Thank you for your feedback. Our staff works hard to be sure our guests have a satisfied and happy stay. We hope to see you on your next visit to the Syracuse area. Once again, thank you for your review. Have an enjoyable day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Walking distance to and from SU campus

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Nothing to complain about. Stay was short and sweet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2017 by cbauter, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing the Genesee Grande as your place of lodging. Our staff and management work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback! We look forward to having you as our guest on your next visit to the Syracuse area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Second Class Citizen

Posted Oct 18, 2017
We called it the second class citizen hotel room. Looking forward to the stay, we had heard it was a really nice hotel. Lobby was beautiful. Our room was in the back area of the hotel ( next to housekeeping rooms) and overlooked a vent and could not see anything else! While the bathroom was clean our bath mat and some of the towels were frayed. My mother would not of been impressed. Was it because we booked through Expedia?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma City, OK

What a lovely property!

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Everything at this grand hotel was gracious, including bartender and desk staff!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the Carrier Dome

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Nice and comfortable. Walk to Syracuse University and down town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Nice hotel and location. They only have full size beds in the room and no refrigerator. Otherwise it would have been a 5.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from albany ny

front desk customer service

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pros: service, ambiance and proximity to hospital was so helpful for us to be with my mother.
Cons: nope
Location: closest hospital
my mother was in upstate medical hospital for much longer then expected. we were honored and treated so well by the staff who helped me be able to keep our 3rd party rate, extend our stay, and make it more affordable to be with my mother on a daily basis as we live 3 hrs away. i am so very appreciative and delighted some people still care about helping others and going above and beyond. my thanks to all involved at this hotel's front desk. the Bradt family