Ratings based on 1,001 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Victoria

Not a very clean or welcoming place to stay.

Posted Feb 13, 2018
to start off, the hotel is located in a sketchy area that reeks of either crappy marijuana or some other vile smelling plant. the alexandra hotel boasts of a non-smoking environment which is hardly the case. the halls smell of smoke, the room smells of smoke, AND the man running the front desk for check-ins was smoking in front of the door to the office. the bed was rock solid, the blankets were dirty, hairy (with someone else’s hair), and smelly, the bathroom was dirty, and the shower looked like it had not been cleaned in a couple days. I would never recommend this place to anyone.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close and convenient location to TWH.

Posted Feb 12, 2018
Room was just as it appears. A good bed, small kitchenette within room, 15 min walk to hosp. or to local restaurants. It was perfect for our situation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from windsor

great location

Posted Feb 5, 2018
conveniently located in the kensington market area... love the kitchenette ...decent price too...have stayed many time and will stay there in the future...old school charm and friendly staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 4, 2018
The hotel is really close to Chinatown. Really conveniences. There are lots of great restaurants near by. Highly recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Convenient location in a quiet neighbourhood

Posted Jan 5, 2018
Pros: The location and the equipment in the rooms.
Cons: Some tea or coffee supplies in the room.
Location: The hotel is conveniently located near streetcar lines on Bathurst and Dundas St The Art Gallery of Ontario and Chinatown are within walking distance>
Overall, this was a pleasant place to stay. The hotel is clean and comfortable. It is located on a quiet dead-end street near a park. Our room was a studio and was equipped with a TV, fridge, microwave, electric stove top and some dishes and utensils. Ample parking space is available for a fee. The staff are friendly and accommodating. There are no tea or coffee making supplies in the room. You have to bring your own supplies. Hot coffee is available at the front desk. Our only problem was noisy guests in an adjacent room that continued talking through most of the night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sudbury on.

CONVENIENT

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: Having dish soap in the rooms.
Location: Great downtown location....ice skating rink close by...CN tower etc. Affordable for a downtown hotel.
Had an appointment at Toronto Western....Walked there in five minutes avoided the $25.00 parking fee....There is a kitchen in room so you could bring your own meals if you choose....otherwise Timmies and other restaurants in area. Beds comfortable and clean
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brock Shores , Ontario

Nice , clean, quiet, humble

Posted Dec 7, 2017
Nice, clean, quiet, Humble , i found it excellent in compared to value for your money, it’s old school, it s not modern, I liked it, other travelers there, I even met someone who new my dad from up north , it was about 30 min walk to Union Station, excellent view of the CN Tower and sky line . My unit even had a kitchenette in it. Have already refered others to it. I might also add security was comfortable, I walked the neighborhood and there was a lot of green space nearby. There was also a laundry that had access to, I never checked it out. Only problem area was one of the nights was very windy and something was banging away outside because of that. Otherwise I was pleased with my stay and took their card for future visits
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Fenwick

Close to my family and reasonable

Posted Dec 6, 2017
Pros: Proximity to everything
Cons: Dated but price wise great
Location: Close to everything
Everything we expected, stayed there many times Staff were efficient and the parking was great
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ST THOMAS

Great downtown location

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Still waiting for my credentials deposit to be returned back to my credit card. This has caused me to not want to book again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Halifax, Canada

Not fancy but more than adequate

Posted Dec 1, 2017
I had not heard of this hotel before but very busy time in the city left few options for a bed for the night. I was greeted by a fine young man upon check in and was quickly in my bed. The place is aging as buildings do and certainly not up to the aesthetic standard of most hotels in the core of the city but it was more than adequate and certainly close any amenities that one would require. I will return gladly. Check out was very fast as I left very early in the morning for the airport so overall very pleased with my stay at a greatly reduced fare compared to my usual picks.