Ratings based on 11,042 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Very friendly staff. They will store your luggage for you if you are arriving earlier then the check in time. Our bed was squeaky but other then that the hotel room was good. Didn't spend much time At the hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Barrie Ontario

Clean hotel in heart of Toronto

Posted Aug 18, 2017
The hotel staff were fantastic. Upgrades to the room to modernize it is recommended.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Wiatied 30 minutes to check in. The walls in the room had what appeared to be water damage and was not repaired.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from western Mass

Weekend in Toronto

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Location, friendly front desk staff, balconies (if higher up), access to destinations. The outdoor courtyard; great location for running in city
Cons: Food service in market area was a mystery the first time, much better the second time.
Location: Eaton Centre, hospitals,
Chelsea is a big hotel - was sold out when we were there - so there was always activity and lines in lobby area. However, staff was friendly and very accommodating and was creative in trying to meet our change of room request. Was on the 20th floor with a balcony - great views. Great location to have access to the Eaton Centre and the hospital district, and Ryerson University.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great hotel, but good luck checking in.

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: The location in downtown Toronto was excellent. The lobby restaurant was comfortable. The bell staff were helpful.
Cons: The computer system, front desk and elevators
Location: It's about a 15 minute walk to shopping, all major sporting events, the harbor and the Hockey Hall of Fame, and nice quaint pubs.
The Chelsea is in a great location and an excellent modern downtown hotel. We checked in on a Thursday afternoon, and waited for a very slow clerk to find our reservation and room. Then the computers went down and he wrote all his notes on our room card folder. There are only a few elevators for this very large hotel, and the wait time is absurd. When we left for dinner the line to check in was out the door and into the street. It was the same every time entered the lobby, and the wait for the elevator was over 45 minutes. We paid extra for "their best rooms" which were clean and comfortable, but nothing special.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stow, Ohio

Don't waste your time or money

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: It wasn't clean, the employees were less than helpful or even caring for the inconvenience that they had caused.
We arrived, 1 adult and 3 children, on Thursday August 10, 2017 for a 2 night stay to attend the Blue Jays baseball game against the Yankees. We arrived at the hotel at 3:30 after driving from Ohio all day. We were going to freshen up, grab dinner and then head to the game with a start time of 7:05. After standing in a long line that wrapped through the lobby for 2 hours it was finally our turn at registration. When we got up to the desk we were bombarded with people cutting in front of us that were given rooms to only find that the rooms were occupied. The time is now 5:30 and the game started at 7:00. We were then told that it would be another 30 minutes before they could help us. We were starving and need to freshen up to get to the game. After arguing about not having a room for us because the computers were down the less than helpful or polite employee walked away and never returned. We grabbed our bags and left to go check into the Ritz Carlton to be checked in and showed our room within 5 minutes.... These people didn't care about anyone that had already waited for over 2 hours much less offer to take our bags so that we could go eat. I was very disappointed in the lack of concern or helpfulness of any of the employees of the Chelsea. Don't waste your money and pick another place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Very conveniently located to be near most of the visitor spots of interest. And the hotel had a full variety of features and services that would satisfy most guests. And the price was very reasonable considering the services and location. I didn't have any meals there, but the food presentations looked very appealing
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location near everything I need

Posted Aug 17, 2017
The floor carpet stinks need to to replace And I booked no smoking room and It smiles tobacco
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, excellent location.

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: The location.
Cons: Cleanliness and an upgrade. For the price of a room, I believe that the hotel could do with a severe upgrade.
Location: The hotel has good restaurants and shopping nearby.
It is not a good feeling to finally arrive at your hotel and have to wait in line behind at least 50 people in order to get your room. However, the excellent staff did their utmost by apologizing and trying to make up for the inconvenience. The staff and the location made for the inconvenience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 14, 2017
It was a good stay, except that I had to turn off the air conditioner before going to bed, as it was making too much noise; and some of the street noise from the outside was filtering in.