Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from York, UK

Great Friendly B&B

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Pros: Great friendly people, comfortable and relaxed
Location: Just 10 minutes walk from the centre of Toronto, if you do not like walking a few bucks in a taxi or 2 minutes walk from the street car stop
This place is not the Ritz but it is a great place to base a visit to Toronto. Quirky and imaginative it's a really great place to stay. The hosts are really friendly and full of local knowledge just making the visit. The breakfasts are second to none, cooked fresh to order. Don't miss out, give it a try, you will not be disappointed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newfoundland

Aged house in Cabbagetown, Toronto.

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: Welcome of the owner and friendliness of the breakfast cook. Willingness of the owner to address a couple of our concerns. Neighbourhood!
Cons: New/updated bedding (especially blankets). Working shower/tub!
Location: Cabbage town was the original location of Canada's Parliament. Riverdale Farm (Toronto's original zoo), lovely avenues, parks.Easy transportation
Kind owner and his helpers. I think house dated from late 1800's, extensive and varied decor included items from about 1900, maybe before. Our room was very clean but bedding had clearly seen better days and the shower/tub were pretty useless. Our street on the low end of "mixed neighbourhood" but some wonderful brownstone houses nearby.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Ripped off!

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Pros: The description in Expedia that led me to book it in the first place.
Cons: Please remove it from the list of accommodation in Toronto.
Location: I'm disabled but I walked, with great difficulty to the nearest hotel. They couldn't put me up but they did direct me to another & called a cab.
I paid in full in advance. When I arrived the door was locked, the buzzer was not answered. I have no mobile so had to walk to a shop 2 blocks away to telephone. Pimblett answered and told me he didn't think I was coming. So he had let the room again. No mention of my payment (and I didn't recall that I had paid until I eventually found a room elsewhere). But he said he didn't like my tone and hung up on me. Not a hint of remorse or any offer of help. This was about my worst hotel experience ever. And I have been round the world seventeen times!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Middlesbrough, UK

Nice B & B in downtown Toronto

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Pros: It's quirkiness and charm. It has a very nice atmosphere and its location to downtown Toronto meant that we could walk to places we wanted visit.
Cons: I wouldn't want to change anything - it's great as it is.
Location: A 10 minute walk to Dundas Square and Eaton Centre. You can get the hop on hop off tour bus, street cars, buses, subways all close but we walked a lot
Like stepping back in time - an Aladin's Cave of curios and antiques which give it such charm. When I found Pimbletts B & B on the internet my wife and I had to book it to see if it really was so quirky and full of character - we were not disappointed. It may not be everyone's cup of tea but we really liked it as did the other very friendly guests we met there over excellent breakfasts made by a very cheerful chef named John. Geoffrey, the owner, has been in Canada since 1972 and has amassed an incredible collection of curios and antiques - you have got to see to believe! We had a great stay at Pimbletts and whenever we get to go to Toronto again we will definitely stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted May 19, 2017 on Hotels
teriffic location w/accessibilty to eveything downtown toronto! Pimbletts itself could use a little TLC and maybe some new towels, but overall a pleasant stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It depend on your expectations

Posted May 11, 2017
I enjoy staying at B&B s even on business trips. I like to encourage these types of inn keepers as much as I can. Therefore I don't offer the review based on a hotel which I expect more from. The Pimblett is an experience in itself. I did enjoy the fact that it was quirky with this old english style. I do think that you have to be aware of a few things though. The place in run down, peeling wall paper, dusty, smell of old books, old lamps, missing handles on the furniture, the front door only closes with the key. I felt I was in a house turned into a antiques flee market store. I expected to see price tags on the items. Safety wise I did take a look at the evacuation diagram, the exits, smoke detectors, just in case...This place is not for the insecure. I did not realize breakfast began at nine. I was already at work by that time. Wish I could of had a muffin to go though. Also, I wanted to drink some water in the evening, there are no glasses in the room or bathroom. On a positive note, the wi-fi worked well, the bathroom and bed sheets were clean. The bed was comfortable. I did sleep well. The dog is friendly BTW. Improvements? Renovate the place, remove the clutter, get a new sign with the address number. Review the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

A Good Bet for The Curious & The Flexible

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Location: It's a 10 minute streetcar ride to the center of downtown. Only close-by attraction is the very fine plant conservatory a block away.
Pimblett's has low curb appeal. It's a bit run-down on the outside, on a scruffy street in a transitional neighborhood. The first impression on entering is the sheer volume of STUFF in the house -- sort of like staying in an antique shop. But this lends it a certain Victorian charm -- it's a one-of-a-kind experience. If you want the uniform blandness of a Holiday Inn, stay away from Pimblett's. However if you welcome eccentricity, chatting with and learning from the genial innkeeper, Geoffrey, give it a try. Everything works & our room (The "Library") was reasonably clean albeit crowded. The breakfasts are English-style (eggs, pancakes, sausage, toast, potatoes, etc. -- you won't leave for the day hungry). The location is perfect for exploring in and around Toronto -- streetcar a block away -- and there are several excellent restaurants close by. Limited parking is available at no cost, a bonus in downtown Toronto.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pimbletts charming teapots collection

Posted Oct 1, 2016 on Hotels
Spent three nights and four days at this east- end B&B. It was quiet, comfortable and in a convenient location within walking distance of downtown. Owner is a collector of antiques. Biggest collection of teapots.
4 out of 5
by Michael from Montréal, Qc.

You'd be hard pressed to find better.

Posted May 11, 2016 on Hotels
For some time I had promised myself to go to Toronto and play the tourist. It turned out that once I had let friends and family know I was coming, I didn't get much tourism in with the exception of going to the AGO for an extended visit before my train ride back home. I arrived on a Friday and left on a Tuesday. Pimblett's was kind enough to allow me to leave my luggage with them as my train was only at 6pm. In all, the folks who run the place were all very accommodating and helpful. The breakfasts were, fresh, tasty and copious. The other guests were respectful and sociable. I would really recommend this place to anyone who wants a quiet get away.
4 out of 5
by Christy from Corning

Full of charm and character

Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
If you are aching for a traditional English B&B experience, this is it. The owner owned a restaurant for 27 years, and makes a great Full English Breakfast. He is a collector, so if you are looking for a modern, minimalist place, this isn't it. If you want quaint and traditional, give it a try!