Ratings based on 3,967 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel; excellent location in downtown Toronto

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: Excellent location; one block to Union Station in downtown. Tim Horton's across the street!
Location: The Strathcona is in an excellent location for Blue Jays, Raptors or Maple Leafs games. Also CN Tower & Ripley's Aquarium close by.
Room & bathroom were small but clean. Comfortable bed. Quiet. Great location for the various sporting events and excellent access for the UP Express!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

What?

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: Not much
Cons: Not enough characters allowed.
Location: Ripley's Aquarium and Blue Jays baseball.
On check in they asked that I sign a waiver that if someone demanded a refund for noise that I made... I would have to cover the cost of their room? I was wondering if this was a hotel of a frat house. Also even though the TIFF was on. This place was severely over-priced. I mean over $440.oo for a room there? Never again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location is great if you don't have a car

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Pros: Location
Location: Great location right next to public transit
Don't depend on a wake a call, we never got ours!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Efficient check-in. Very clean and comfortable room. Common areas also very clean and organized. Would recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Bad WiFi connection

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Excellent Location
Cons: Bad WiFi connectivity.
Overall good experience, and excellent location, but the WiFi was unstable and slow.I was there on a business trip though, and it was impossible to work from my room and even the lobby connection was terrible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Central location

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location
Cons: Can't do much about the small rooms. An extra body at the front desk during checkout hours would be nice.
An excellent option if you're attending a sporting event, convention or concert, as it's close to the ACC, Rogers Centre (Skydome), MTCC and a short ride from the Budweiser Stage (Molson Amphitheatre). It's steps away from Union Station (easy access to VIA trains and the TTC) and across the street from the shuttles to both Pearson and Billy Bishop airports. The only thing you won't find in the area is shopping, but there are plenty of touristy restaurants. The building is old, but the rooms are essentially modern, just a bit on the small side. Prices are in keeping with what you would expect in downtown Toronto. I've stayed before and will likely take advantage of the excellent location again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Fantastic staff, clean hotel, and great location close to the convention centre.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Hotel was fine

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Pros: Staff was nice, room was quiet too.
Cons: Closets are small and bathrooms too, but hard to change that?
Location: Real close to Central station, and Rogers center.
My first room ok, but could not access the bathroom, the staff was nice enough to give me an other room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from newfoundland

Great location. Awesome staff.

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Great experience. No complaints at all. Great rooms. Clean. Friendly staff
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Nice hotel close to the attractions. But the room was a little bit small the staff was very friendly and helpful.