Ratings based on 3,901 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Syracuse, NY

Good walkability

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: Comfortable, but small room and small bed.
Cons: Valet was 1 person and fairly slow. A bit pricey.
Stayed overnight when in town for a concert. The area around the hotel was good for walking around, stopping in shops and we found a couple of decent bars and restaurants. Pleasantly killed a few hours in the afternoon before the show. Traffic getting into the city was a Nightmare for about the last 50 miles in which was Not pleasant. The good time we had there might get us to return, but will try to drive at more off-peak hours.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, no frills, comfortable hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Location, comfort, no frills - no mini bar!
Cons: Key cards - |I had to change my twice because they de-activated. The ice machine is on the 3rd floor - it's a bit of a hike to go there and back.
Location: Close to the city center, Union station, the lake shore, restaurants, bars, and a number of popular tourist attractions - Ripley's; CN Tower;etc.
The hotel is conveniently located close to the city center , lakeshore and 3 minutes from Union Station, where you can acccess the train to the airport. There are a lot of restaurants, coffee places, e and bars . in the area . Staff in hotel and restaurant were pleasant. Room was comfortable, clean and had everything I needed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Close to Front street and union station. The room reminded me of a dorm room. Very small and uninviting. Hotel front desk people were very friendly though.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 13, 2017
Disappointed overall. The room is small, smells like mildew with no view. For the price we expected a little bit more.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Main train station whjch is why I chose

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Nice hotel very good lifts room smallish but well finjshed except no room safe.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LIC, NY

Nice location but the place has problems

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: check in and check out process
I stayed here 3 days, the location is perfect to go to Union Station and CN tower and explore the city. There is always a long line to check in and check out. When I checked in I had to wait and every time I go in and out of the hotel you see a long line. My biggest complain which may or not be the hotels fault is noise from in the hallways. The problem is the door seems thin so you can here people specially if they are drunk coming in 3 AM. Rooms are small but clean. Staff is nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Our stay at the strathcona

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Very good stay close to everything we wanted to see would good back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Very pleasant hotel close to train station

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: Proximity, staff, breakfast, and room layout.
Cons: The sign with the price of the buffet was covered with a piece of tape that made it seem as it were free when t he sign was illuminated - minor issue.
Location: Close to rain station and numerous bars and restaurants, walking distance to theatre and art centre. Subway access across street.
The Strathcona is a very pleasant hotel located in downtown Toronto. Our first impression of our was that it was very small. However, it is also well-laid out so the size did not become an issue - very similar to hotels I have experienced in other countries, such as in Amsterdam. The view from the window was non-existent - it overlooked the wall of the building next door and, as such, had no view whatsoever. The reception staff were universally excellent, cheerful and helpful. For breakfast we had the buffet, which was unusual in that the standard scrambled eggs were fresh and tender, the sausages were cooked perfectly, and not tough, and the bacon was not so crisp that it broke if you looked at it wrong. The fried potatoes were slightly better than we have experienced in other hotels, and far better than in fast food restaurants. Its proximity to the train station was out main reason for selecting this hotel, and we were pleasantly pleased to discover that it was so close to the station that I, who have mobility issues, had no problem walking to the hotel. All in all, this was a pleasant hotel which we will definitely choose when next we got to Toronto.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Disappointing Hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Service and finish their renovations
Location: Great location in the heart of downtown, close to Union Station and lots of great restaurants.
The hotel appeared quite nice in the photos we saw in Expedia, however, looks like it's a hotel that was recently renovated and they ran out of money half way through. The worst part was the service. I checked in around 2:00 AM and the hotel clerk was rude and unfriendly. When I finally got my key and got into my room, it stank of pot. I went back to the front desk to complain about the smell and request a room change, the clerk looked annoyed that I made him go through all the "work" to change my room. He never once apologized for the inconvenience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Last minute stay.

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Nice hotel. Location and staff were excellent. Wish the room was larger and they didn't have WiFi. A good stay.