Ratings based on 1,210 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from northern ontario

Hotel close to health diagnostic clinic

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Had a regular double bed, would have preferred a queen size since wife & I are big people but still enjoyed our stay.will recommend to our friends & family
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from AUS

Old and tired hotel in unsafe area

Posted Jul 10, 2017
We booked this hotel based on the location to downtown and the price compared to the expensive rates in Toronto for extremely poor hotels. The hotel from outside and entry is very ininviting. The rooms are nothing like the photos, and are very old and tired and tiny. The streets around the hotel are very scary at night. The only good thing is that the staff are available 24/7 and the distance from sights is not too far to walk.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2017 by Brand Experience Team Member, Hotel Management
Hi Jennifer. Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We apologize for your unpleasant stay as a result of the concerns you describe. Safety and security are high priorities within Motel 6 standards for quality and we regret you felt differently during your visit. We encourage you to contact our Guest Relations department to record the details of your visit to help us provide a better guest experience in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from toronto

okay for a budget stay

Posted Jul 5, 2017
this hotel is in a sketchy part of the city. the room itself was perfect and clean. the neighbourhood-not so much. good for young people who just need it to crash after partying
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible experience

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Cons: cleanliness
Location: Its in China Town
Had planned to stay in Toronto for 5 days, however the hotel was so bad decided to cut it short as we could not spend any more nights in this place. When we got to the hotel, went to use the bathroom and there was urine all over the seat. obviously not cleaned before we got there. There is a sign on the door saying to put the chain across and the dead bolt for your safety. dead bolt did not work. There were crumbs all over the floor and long hairs. There were grease marks all over the stove, fridge and walls. The walls in the bedroom area and in the bathroom were covered with splatters of I don't want to know what. The walls were marked up with crayon. There were holes in the bathroom door. The smell was so bad that before I could sleep I would spray my pillow with the Downy wrinkle spray I thankfully brought with me. There were bugs and spiders. The air conditioner was so loud you could not hear yourself think, let alone sleep with it on. With it off we nearly melted with the heat. The shower curtain had stains and smelled so sour. There were stains on the sheets. We told hotel staff that the room was so dirty and that it needed to be cleaned while we were out, listing the issues. The only thing that had been done while we were out was the dead bolt fixed. No clean towels were given for our second day of the stay. Tried to call down to get some sent up but the telephone did not work. Absolutely nightmare. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from peterborough, ontario

Like a mini apartment. Close to Queen St west

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Has a fridge, stove top Is small but fine for a single person stay
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Good Location, Soft Bed and Kitchenette

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Pros: The price and location are great.
Cons: If they just finished renovating the rooms they would be lovely. Also they really really need to improve their housekeeping by a lot.
Location: Kensington Market and Chinatown are just around the corner
Stayed here for a couple of days because it was a great price, had two beds, and was in a really good location. Beds were great, location was walking distance to all attractions, great water pressure/temp and had a full kitchenette. Unfortunately, the place looked like it had been through a disaster DIY renovation. It had lots of modern furniture, and the kitchenette/builtins were well done. The rest of the room was in complete disrepair. The walls were all full of cracks, dents, and big globs of plaster. I don't think the room has seen a proper paint and plaster since the 80's based on the stained stucco ceilings. The bathroom was similar. New tiling and tub, but the grout was mouldy and cracked. The toilet barely flushed. There was a nice new marble vanity installed but it was barely hanging on the the wall. We were afraid to lean on it in case it came off the rest of the way and fell on the floor. The bathroom was also full of big wads of plaster (presumably the place was peppered with holes and someone just globbed on plaster and never sanded it down) and stained walls. The cleanliness was also less than could be desired. We arrived to find long hair on the bathroom floor and a piece of food on the floor of the room. When we left days later it was still there. Honestly, it seemed like they were halfway through renovating a rundown old hotel when they ran out of money & stopped.
4 out of 5
by Russell

Great value for money

Posted Jun 21, 2017 on Hotels
Good location and nightly rate. The rooms are modern but the corridors and lift are tilted and could do with some updating. The biggest problem was that the air conditioning was extremely loud and ineffective.
5 out of 5
by Corey

Good hotel

Posted Jun 17, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed here for 2 nights. Location was great. I don't know why everyone is saying it looks like a bad neighborhood unless they are stereotyping because there is tagging around the neighborhood. If you look around, this is all over the city of toronto. Doesn't mean it's a bad neighborhood. If you spend some time outside you will see the people of the neighborhood are good people. The elevator scared me though...very shaky.
1 out of 5
by Denise

Awful

Posted Jun 15, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel is filthy and dirty.
5 out of 5
by Stefanie

Great location!

Posted Jun 14, 2017 on Hotels
Great location, close to downtown. We walked everywhere throughout our stay. Very clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Would stay here again.