Ratings based on 6,654 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal

nice hotel, great location

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: Lobby, location
Cons: Room furnature
Location: Union station, young street, eaton center, restaurants.
There is a free shuttle from the city airport (YTZ) to the hotel door and vice versa every 15 minutes. the Hotel is few meters from the union station (easy to move to all GTA). the hotel is very close to many shopping areas and restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous Historic Hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: Bedding, mattresses, cleanliness
Location: Access to Rogers Centre, BMO Field, Union Station, Ripley's Aquarium, Esplanade, Theatre, Shopping, Entertainment district
I have always wanted to stay in the Royal York and I was not disappointed. I had heard the rooms were small, but our room with two double beds had plenty of room for a family of three. Room and building was extremely clean and well-appointed. Loved the historic decor and the updates were beautiful. Well worth it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Louisville

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Our room had some issues, but the staff was great at addressing our concerns. very centralized hotel. old, historic and lots of energy. rooms are small and some have not been updated.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 11, 2017
the room are way to small, for 500 bucks, there lot to choose from.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2017 by Broderick Horne - Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear , Thank you for your review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at our grand location! Best regards, Broderick - Guest Experience Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Great stay, however the Queen room I had confirmation for was all booked up and the Fairmont downgraded us to a double twin room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2017 by Broderick Horne - Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at our grand location! However, we apologize for the experience you had with booking your room. Best regards, Broderick - Guest Experience Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Beautiful hotel with excellent service

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: -customer service - text option for room service -valet service - we forgot something in our car and it was brought directly to our room -beautiful
Cons: -price is quite high for room size
Location: -perfect downtown location -easy access to cabs right out front -restaurants,stores, atm, baggage storage inside the hotel
Beautiful hotel with great amenities, location, staff and service. Our room was quite small especially considering the price but because of the overall experience I would definitely return and recommend to a friend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2017 by Broderick Horne - Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Carly, Thank you for your review! We are thrilled that your enjoyed your stay at our grand location! Best regards, Broderick - Guest Experience Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hamilton, Ontario

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Cons: They should include internet service with their rooms
Very classy Hotel in a great location. Lots to do around there
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2017 by Broderick Horne - Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Capper, Thank you for your review! We are thrilled that your enjoyed your stay at our grand location! Best regards, Broderick - Guest Experience Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cobourg, ON

Outdated/ terrible bed/ no bath robes

Posted Sep 5, 2017
We asked for a room upgrade and were put into a delux suite floor 13 room 154. We were beside the elevators, the room was terribly outdated, and the bed was noisy; it was squeaky and the headboard moved whenever we rolled over. I have stayed in smaller rooms in the same hotel and had a better stay. The room was classified as a deluxe but didn't even have bath robes.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2017 by Broderick Horne - Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Ashleigh, Thank you for your review! We are thrilled that your enjoyed your stay at our grand location! However, we apologize for your experience with your bed and not having bath robes. Please know that we are following up on these concerns. Best regards, Broderick - Guest Experience Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great Location and Super friendly staff!

Posted Sep 5, 2017
I was in town for a convention so almost all rooms were booked. Despite that the person checking me found a room with a king instead of queen with early check in! Everyone was very helpful and friendly. The room was clean and a fair price for the proximity to a major event.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2017 by Broderick Horne - Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Kara, Thank you for your review! We are thrilled that your enjoyed your stay at our grand location! Best regards, Broderick - Guest Experience Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NB

downtown,close to cn tower

Posted Sep 4, 2017
only issue i had was on my arrival, one of the valet parking attendant told me that he would keep my car out front for the night because i had something to go to early in the morning, so he said he would only charge me 40.00 instead of the 53.00., when i said ok he said you can pay me cash, i said i was going to put on my room, so he gave me my ticket and on my departure i was charged 53.00 and told that they never charge 40.00.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2017 by Broderick Horne - Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear , Thank you for your review! We are thrilled that your enjoyed your stay at our grand location! However, we apologize for the charge to your room. Please know that we are following up with these concerns. Best regards, Broderick - Guest Experience Manager