Ratings based on 471 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boson

Great location, simple accommodations

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Pros: Great location! Walking distance to many places.
Cons: Rooms are little bare bones. Certainly nothing fancy, no bells and whistles.
Location: Live music in the hotel was great. Walking distance to many museums and very close to public transit.
Overall not a bad experience. It is in a great location within walking distance to plenty of museums, bars, shops, etc. Also, it was nice to be able to go downstairs and get a drink and listen to live music.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Value for Money

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Clean and comfy. Staff is great! Jazz bar is amazing! Will definitely be back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Conveniently located but you get what you pay for

Posted Nov 13, 2017
I've stayed at the Rex several times over the years mainly because it's affordable and nicely located. However, maintenance has declined noticeably. The carpet in the hallway is dirty, the room I stayed in was dusty, the tv quality was horrible, the bedspread and window drapery looked dirty and the floor was visibly distressed. In addition, the radiator was not working and we had to heat the room with a plug-in, portable heater. Check-in was testing. I was ignored while the staff ate their dinner, and socialized. I had to get someone's attention, even though I was standing at the bar with a bag in my hand. I felt awkward, especially when the club is full of people and jazz is playing. The shared bathroom can also use some basic maintenance. How hard can it be to turn these simple things around. Please dust the rooms and stop what you're doing when a guest is trying to check-in. I usually don't complain but I feel as though I need to this time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great location, great price

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Pros: Clean, excellent location to events/shopping
Location: Wow, I mean everything is within a 20 min walk
Excellent place to lay your head after you have had a busy day/nigh experiencing all that downtown Toronto has to offer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge, ON

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Staff was friendly, and the room was great. It is close to main attraction, like the CN tower and the Air Canada center. Jazz at night if you are interested, we heard tidbits while coming back from a concert and it was great. Once in the room though we heard nothing! Really quiet. Would recommend to anyone interested in staying in Toronto.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from York, UK

Jazz, nice!

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Pros: Fantastic location, obliging staff, great atmosphere, reasonable price.
Cons: The rooms could be cleaned more thoroughly and would benefit from being made up every day (rather than every other day).
Location: A very central location in walking distance from restaurants, bars and the sights of the city.
Stayed at The Rex for 3 nights in October, following a business meeting in Toronto. I actually occupied two rooms during my visit as the en-suite room I had booked was only available for 2 of the 3 nights. I moved to a room with a shared bathroom on my last night. The first room (on the 2nd floor) was small and basic but comfortable enough. Despite what other reviewers have claimed, I could not hear any music from the bar below. I could hear the sounds of the city but this is to be expected in such a central location. The second room (also on the 2nd floor) was a bit bigger and quieter as it was towards the rear of the property. Both rooms were reasonably clean and the shared bathrooms were kept in good order. The staff at The Rex were extremely helpful throughout my stay. Check-in was smooth and efficient and I was offered a complimentary coffee while I waited for the room to be prepared. I made use of the free breakfast, which was basic but perfectly reasonable. Upon checking out, I was allowed to leave my case at reception while I explored the city. I also ate at The Rex during my stay and found the serving staff very obliging. The food was excellent (and the portions huge!) The highlight of my stay was, of course, the live jazz, which is on every night of the week. Some of the shows have a cover charge but this is only $5 dollars if you are staying at the hotel. Nice!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

cute and interesting spot

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: clean, tidy, friendly staff, interesting music/nightlife, good food.
Cons: maybe include a cover charge in the hotel bill itself instead of having guests leave and re-enter.
Location: walking distance to the ACC and other points of interest.
i thought it was such an interesting place. all i needed the room for was to sleep so the size of the room makes no difference to me. there is free wifi, it was comfortable, the staff was friendly. you are given complimentary toast and coffee in the morning which i appreciated very much. the jazz band at night was also a nice added feature. i went to a concert that night so it was like i got an extra one afterwards. the music stopped at 12am, giving me enough time to enjoy and still get to bed at a decent time. the only thing that confused me was that i thought i could just go upstairs and put away my stuff after a long night and come back down to enjoy some food, but i had to exit the building (because the door to the bar from the hotel doesn't open) and go around to the front again and come back in, paying a cover charge. i don't mind paying the cover but having to leave and come back in mixed me up a bi. (and i felt a bit silly). it is also within walking distance to the ACC and other points of interest, which is definitely a huge bonus. i will definitely be keeping this place in mind for future trips. i really enjoyed my stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible smell in the room without bath room

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Terrible smell in the room without bath room. Uncomfortable room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NY

Good value for interesting hotel

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Enjoyed the live jazz. Location is excellent & interesting. Good urban feel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Good accommodations & friendly staff that was very helpful