Ratings based on 1,874 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

A great place to stay if you're on a budget

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Pros: Rates and location
Cons: The smell, could use better ventilation or new carpets?
Location: Close to the Vancouver City Center Station, right on Granville, short walk to Robson street
This is located in a great area downtown, low cost, comfortable-enough stay. For what you pay for, I think it's adequate. Because the building is old, the rooms smell musty, but they include basic amenities for a nice overnight stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Affordable. Comfortable. Clean. Excellent value. Will use again and would reccomend.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Victoria

Wouldn't recommend

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Service, be more accommodating for those who don't have a credit card
I never write reviews, however I feel this one needs to be expressed. We booked through Expedia for a one night getaway from Victoria. We are immigrants from New Zealand and cannot legally get a credit card due to our visas current situation. Howard Johnson advised us that they cannot check us in without a credit card, wouldn't even accept a cash deposit for the room. We had a fabulous stay at days inn Vancouver and certainly won't be returning to Howard Johnson, nor recommending it. We also had a car with us and were advised that parking was sold out for the night. They should probably look into their front desk customer service also...very rude, unaccommodating and unfriendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aldergrove

Choose the wrong size bed

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Pros: parking right next door
Cons: nothing
Location: excellent location, lots to do all around.
My error, I chose a double bed and it should have been queen for our sizes, very uncomfortable sleep.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CALIFORNIA

NOT WORTH IT

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: STAFF.
Cons: CLEAN BETTER.
Location: CLOSE TO FUN THINGS TO DO
ROOM WAS TINY. GOT IN THE ROOM AND THE BATHROOM WAS NOT CLEANED WELL . AS WEL AS BED. JUST NOT WORTH IT.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great budget hotel

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Clean room, good location, but it is so incredibly noisy until 3am with the partiers and traffic. The noise is my only complaint as it’s a good hotel if you’re simply needing a place to change and sleep, howveer you won’t be getting much of it!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Over priced due to concerts in town. Up all night due to noise next Doris and from street level.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No frills.. but

Posted Oct 12, 2017
This is a clean quiet hotel in downtown vqncouver. No frills but a basic room woth friendly helpful staff. A great value
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

No parking for trucks allowed

Posted Oct 12, 2017
I was treated like a bum begging to stay there and was met with very rude unhelpful staff that had no intention of accommodating my situation. I cancelled my stay there to go to Park Inn by Radisson which I would definitely recommend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient, safe and comfortable

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Very nice welcoming staff. Bed is so comfy. There was wear and tear in my room that could be easily fixed. Elevator is very secure, you can't get to room floors without a key card. Resturaunt food is good!