Ratings based on 668 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Posted Nov 18, 2017
It was great, we just wish we would have known that each room didn't come with it's personal bathroom, but instead a community bathroom and shower.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel in the Downtown

Posted Nov 11, 2017
I was very pleased with my stay here. The hotel is walking distance to all the attractions in Downtown Vancouver.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

朝食が

Posted Nov 6, 2017
パンとドリンクのみで(辛うじて)朝食付きと謳ってる感じです。それ以外は立地も良いですし、水回りも比較的綺麗なので良いと思います
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Ontario

Old hotel in the heart of downtown Vancouver

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Pros: Very affordable based on location. Feels like a 100 year old hotel (interesting to some).
Cons: People's biggest complaint is that not all the rooms have private bathrooms, however this is what keeps their price so low. They have private sinks.
Location: Short walk from Vancouver city centre transit station and right off Robson street. Many restaurants and shopping outlets close by.
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Kingston Hotel. I couldn't have asked for more as a young couple really just looking for an excellent location at an affordable price. The rooms were small and not all of them had private washrooms. The breakfast didn't have much selection. The decor was old fashioned which was neat.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

SHARED BATHROOM = good price

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Nowhere on the Expedia page does it say that you're getting this amazing price Because you do not have your own bathroom. We found out from our invoice after we paid. It's nice that they let you cancel right up until the day before (we decided we were ok to try it) but this was falsely advertised to us. Our room was also a prison cell- crammed with the fixtures they mention on the website -tiny, sink only a foot away from the bed, if you put anything on the floor you're likely to be tripping over it. I'm used to staying in pretty basic conditions - but we were hoping to have a bit of a more relaxed and comfortable holiday and actually both fit on the bed (I'm 5'7, and my feet were hanging off of the edge). I felt sick one night and had a really miserable time. The staff were for the most part helpful - and if you don't mind a bare-minimum of conditions for a great location you'll do ok. But I've honestly stayed in more comfortable hostels.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle wa

Small but nice hotel with excellent staff

Posted Oct 28, 2017
The hotel is good for anyone who has appointment in US consulate, it’s walking distance from the hotel and in fact it is close by to other consulates as well. The staff was very friendly. It has a decent breakfast.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, AB

Do not recommended

Posted Oct 24, 2017
The hotel is situated downtown, so it's location is convenient; however, that's the only positive. The rooms are mainly with shared washrooms which we didn't know was a thing. And for $95 more a night you can upgrade to a larger room with private washroom and a tv. Do not stay here. Not worth the money
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Little Rock, AR

No Frills, but Still Excellent, Especially in Fall

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: It is quiet, cozy and comfortable, with tons of charm and warm and friendly staff.
Cons: TVs in the room would be nice, but phones, tablets and laptops can serve as entertainment devices, so it's not that big a deal.
Location: The location is perfect. It's in the very center of downtown, so it's just a 5 to 15-minute walk from everything. I was able to do everything on foot.
I had read several reviews of this hotel before settling on it, and most of the less-than-great reviews revolved around its lack of air-conditioning in the summer and the fact that several of the rooms share a single bathroom/shower room down the hall from them. However, knowing this going into it, I cannot in good conscience ding them for this, since I did consciously opt for a single room with a shared bathroom. It was worth this tiny inconvenience (that, when it's all said and done, really isn't all that inconvenient) to save hundreds of dollars over the surrounding competition. The room's window opened, and since it was in the 40s and 50s while I was there, it was easy to maintain a comfortably cool temperature in the room. It was quiet, clean, and cozy, and the bed and pillows were perfectly comfortable, even more so than my quite nice bed at home. The staff were incredibly friendly and knowledgeable, and the entire place was downright charming. If I return to Vancouver in the future, I am sure I will stay here again. It was a wonderful experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

All was well, but...

Posted Oct 23, 2017
We discovered, unfortunately too late, that the bathtub (and turned out that towels too) were extremely dirty. Everything else was well and fair. Yet, a bit overpriced for what it has to offer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manhattan, NY

Very centrally located with restaurant attached.

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Good but limited continental breakfast (bagels, toast, juice, cereal) and very decent coffee. We had a room with toilet and shower, which I suggest. Family owned and no complaints.