Ratings based on 1,312 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely heritage hotel in one of the best locations

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pros: Heritage style and location
Cons: Some updating of rooms/bathrooms
Location: Seawall walks along English Bay, Denman and Davie Street shopping and eating, bike rentals across the street, water taxi to Granville Island.
The Sylvia hotel is a lovely hotel in one of the best locations in Vancouver! The views across English Bay are spectacular and you can literally walk or bike everywhere downtown! The hotel staff were friendly and accommodating. I would highly recommend having a cocktail in their restaurant before venturing out for the evening! Live music in the lounge makes the experience very pleasant and you can't beat that evening view! Had a great time and will definitely come back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

A wonderful contrast to huge, glitzy hotels

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: Its history, its uniqueness, its quality and its location.
Cons: Don't change a thing
Location: Marvelous seaside walking and exploring.
A hotel with character and charm which we appreciate after the soul-less big glitzy hotels. The hotel has a story which is charming. The food is excellence and the employees are efficient and kind.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria BC

Quiet, calm and beautiful spot

Posted Oct 7, 2017
12 o’clock checkout. Across the street from the beach, half a mile from Stanley Park. Reasonably priced. The place gets nicer every time I visit. The building feels solid. The place is quiet. The rooms are big and the furnishings are practical, as opposed to fancy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide, Australia

A wonderful experience at the Sylvia

Posted Oct 3, 2017
We returned for our second visit to Vancouver and wanted to stay somewhere different - we hit the jackpot! The Sylvia is perfectly located and our room overlooked beautiful English Bay. We hired bikes just down the road and cycled around Stanley Park Seawall - fantastic! The restaurants and cafes in Denman St (right around the corner) are great and we strolled along the beach to False Bay to catch the cute ferry to Granville Island. Most importantly - don't miss the sunset from the Sylvia Bar!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Hotel on English Bay

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pros: The view from the hotel is spectacular. The location is good,for walking along English Bay to the ferry to Granville Island.
Cons: Keep the traditional style.
Location: Near a variety of restaurants and English Bay, to watch the sunset.
A friendly, comfortable hotel in one of Vancouvers heritage buildings. The perfect place to watch the sun set over English Bay. The reception staff are efficient and helpful. The food in the restaurant is good value for money and very good. It was interesting to see local people come in to eat in the hotel. Decor is suitable for the age of the building.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Western Australia

Excellent Location...

Posted Sep 29, 2017
We enjoyed our stay at the Sylvia Hotel, we ate at the restaurant/bar two nights out of three the food was great and the service was exceptional. The hotel is a little dated - bathrooms could do with modernising and air conditioning would be high on the list of must haves in the summer months. However, the overall feel of the place is wonderful - great vibe! We loved our stay and would highly recommend the Sylvia Hotel to friends and family, and would definitely stay again should we visit Vancouver in the future. well done to all the staff, who made our stay a memorable one.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Hotel at the beach

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: Location and the staff
Cons: Better bathrooms
Location: Beach and great restaurants
This hotel is in an excellent location, steps away from the beach and Stanley Park The staff of the hotel are very helpful and pleasant. The hotel itself is dated and this shows mostly in the bathroom, which is basic, lacking shelving for toiletries and the bathroom floor, in our case was dirty. The shower head was very small and inappropriate, Non of this has to do with the age of the hotel, more the lack of planning. We found that the price paid for the accommodation, high for the quality of the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Hotel on English Bay

Posted Sep 27, 2017
Pros: Location near the shore, general standard was good, I enjoyed breakfast with a view, the dining area and bar were light and airy, comfortable room.
Cons: A note forewarning guests about the sticky boxes would have been helpful. Ventilation in the bathroom - there was no window to open.
Location: On the beach at English Bay, with easy access to the sea walk all around the bay and Stanley Park, as well as the shopping district and cafés, etc.
The Sylvia hotel is over 100 years old, and well located near the (natural) beach on English Bay. The room was a good size and a plus was being able to open the sash windows - many hotels are so safety conscious that the windows only open a crack, if at all. Staff were pleasant and helpful and everything ran smoothly. However, it was quite a shock to see a mouse run past the end of the bed on the 4th of my 5-night stay ... I had a look round the room to see if I could find it, to discover there were sticky cardboard boxes in discreet places around the room, one under a chest of drawers. I reported the incident to reception, and was told it was due to the cold weather, and that mice were a general problem in the area, not just in the hotel. I did say that I thought it would have been helpful to have been informed ...A certain amount was deducted from my bill for any 'inconvenience', but I felt it was just something that had to be put up with rather than a problem to be solved. I'm not a nervous person, but the thought of sharing my last 2 nights with a mouse in the room wasn't an enjoyable prospect ...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Beautiful hotel

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Enjoyed our stay here. Large room with comfortable bed. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast not included so can't comment on it. Great location near Stanley Park and waterfront and was easy to get about from here as we used public transport. Paying for parking was 18 Canadian dollars a night. Loved historical photos everywhere and children's cat storybook connected with hotel. A kettle to make tea and a fridge would have made it perfect. There was a coffee machine. Definitely recommend hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Old world charm

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Delightful history Restaurant lovely view & great staff On the beach location Bed comfortable