Ratings based on 1,644 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

A basic hotel at a great location

Posted Sep 16, 2017
The hotel is located on Burrard Street which makes it easy to go everywhere within walking distance. The hotel staff were reasonably friendly. The room is very basic with a rather loud air conditioner on the floor. The smell of the mixture of hygiene products and paint was rather strong, the bathroom was rather small with no where to place toiletries on. The price was reasonable. I'd recommend it to anyone who just needs a convenient place to sleep and take shower near downtown.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Haddonfield NJ

Surprisingly nice experience

Posted Sep 11, 2017
The hotel has a great retro vibe. The rooms are comfortable and the garden and sitting area are great. The bikes and the ping pong table were a nice added bonus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chichester UK

Perfect spot to explore from

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: Location and decoration
Cons: Breakfast is coffee shop - but ask for directions to Jo's since it provided the best breakfast we've had this trip.
Location: Robson Street is a short walk for eats.
We decided on The Burrard from an internet search and then found a review in The Sunday Times that confirmed our choice. The check in was smooth, friendly and personal and staff remembered us each time we went to reception. The art work is quirky, fun and interesting and the room was quiet, despite looking onto the street, and wry comfortable. I'd recommend the hotel for its central location ( easy walk to Robson Street for food etc) but not the coffee shop next door where staff didn't seem inclined to serve with any grace.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great find

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Wonderful hotel. Very clean and lots of character!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from iowa

Small and old

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Not in a good area. Drug addicts all over. In fact Vancouver was not what I expected and I felt like I had to really watch my back the entire time. One guy threw things and flashed a knife at us. The room was small with an air conditioner that sat in the room and was noisy all night. The slow elevator was barely big enough for 4 people with no luggage. We were at the end of a cruise and thought a few days exploring Vancouver would be fun. Big mistake.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

close to the hospital, the reason for our stay

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: nice, simple, retro
Location: close to downtown
too bad expedia didn't let us know about extra savings for hospital patients
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nanaimo

Retro, funky and comfortable

Posted Sep 3, 2017
This hotel had it all. The renos to the building have updated it, but they have also managed to keep that retro feel, making it super funky and comfortable at the same time. It was clean, the beds were amazing and the staff friendly. I highly recommend this hotel and will be going back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vegas Baby

Great location,free bikes,perfect 4 active people

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: Location! Free bikes! Super knowledgeable staff. Burgoo is convenient and delicious. In room fridge and coffee makers. Easy access to bus /train lines
Cons: Well... junkies in the alley behind the parking garage. Not hotel's fault. Just keep your eyes open and keep moving. Keep kids close if u have them
Location: Everything! Just grab a bike and ride to Stanley Park or walk or ride or ferry across to Granville. Take Seaside loop around the island. Go toYaletown
Rooms are very nice. . But there's so much to do in this town you won't need to spend much time there. Get up and go! High marks all around. Easy to get to airport on metro so look into Canada Line before trying to taxi for unnecessary money. Easy to buy metro tix at airport. Defintely take the bikes the hotel offers. Best way to get around and see the lay of the land. You can bring those bikes on the ferries
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

A little noisy but nice.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Location and decoration of room.
Cons: Something to make tea; coffee machine was good but it was the pod-type so you couldn't make tea with it.
Location: Walking distance to Granville Island ferry, beaches, Robson Street, Art Gallery, hop-on hop-off stop.
I stayed a few nights and found the hotel very convenient. Simple, small but pretty rooms surrounding a courtyard. Some street noise and noisy AC unit and noise from courtyard cleaning/talking/ping pong but it was intermittent and wouldn't deter me from staying there again. Comfy bed and beautiful bed linens. Cute cafe downstairs and close to an even better one around the corner and down the street. Helpful staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Location was good. Hotel was noisy, rooms were hot and the air conditioner sounded like an airplane taking off. The curtains gave no privacy at all.