Ratings based on 1,115 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really great hotel

Posted Aug 21, 2017
The hotel is beautiful and the location is perfect - right in the heart of the city. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful and the room was clean and spacious. The bathroom was a bit cramped, but that was really the only drawback. The hotel was very quiet and comfortable. I would definitely recommend it!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017 by Michael Pye, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for choosing Fairmont Hotel Vancouver and for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am thrilled that you appreciated the beauty of the 'Grand Dame' and the convenience of our central location. Thank you for staying and I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. Warmest regards, Michael Pye General Manager Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palm Springs, CA

Wonderful hotel in downtown Vancouver

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Great service
Cons: Bathroom could be updated? Have to close the toilet seat to flush the toilet, plus it was really small.
Location: Right in downtown, within walking distance of everything.
Wonderful staff, the Gold Floor is the way to go. Amazing service, amazing room, amazing views. Loved everything except perhaps the bathroom layout (too small).
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2017 by Michael Pye, Hotel Management
Dear Joni, Thank you for staying with Fairmont Hotel Vancouver and for taking the time to review your stay. I am thrilled that you enjoyed great service and the convenience of the central location. I would have to agree with you that Fairmont Gold is the most personalized level of service, and is absolutely wonderful. I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon Joni. Warmest regards, Michael Pye General Manager Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Staff are great , early check in / luggage was a plus for me. If you end up in the newly renovated rooms you are lucky.Centrally located to shopping area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2017 by Michael Pye, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for choosing Fairmont Hotel Vancouver and for taking the time to review your stay. I am pleased that you enjoyed the attentive service, early check-in, and convenience of the central, downtown location. Thank you for acknowledging the newly renovated rooms, we are very excited by the progress of our room rejuvenation. I hope that you will join us again soon. Warmest regards, Michael Pye General Manager Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Great Location; good sized room

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: Location, spacious lobby
My wife and I were very pleased with our stay. This is one of the nicest hotels in the Vancouver area. The hotel is right at the heart of downtown - very close to restaurants and SkyTrain. The staff were very friendly. The De Luxe room where we stayed was relatively spacious for two people. The carpet looked new and the room was clean. I would highly recommended this hotel if you are staying in downtown Vancouver.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2017 by Michael Pye, Hotel Management
Dear Con, Thank you for staying with Fairmont Hotel Vancouver and for your kind recommendations. I am thrilled that you enjoyed the convenient location and clean, spacious room. I hope that you will consider joining us again when you next find yourself in Vancouver. Warmest regards, Michael Pye General Manager Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Lovely hotel, very central. Free bikes for 2 hours is long enough to cycle around Stanley park.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by Michael Pye, Hotel Management
Dear Lesley, Thank you for staying with Fairmont Hotel Vancouver. I am thrilled that you were able to take advantage of the Fairmont BMW bicycles and enjoyed the convenience of the central location. Stanley Park seawall is such a lovely cycle. I hope that when you next find yourself in our city that you will stay with us again, it would be our pleasure to welcome you back. Warmest regards, Michael Pye General Manager Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Best Hotel in Vancouver

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Pros: Rooms, location, and the staff!
Cons: Restaurant experience was mediocre. Food was okay, but it took over 20 minutes for someone to come by and take my dinner order.
Location: Lots of things to do in the area! The hotel is near the waterfront, shopping, restaurants, bars, the cruise terminal, and many city excursions.
Loved my stay at the Fairmont Hotel Vancouver. Was in Vancouver for a few days, and everything about this hotel made my life easier. Location - Very central hotel that is close to buses, the Canada Line, the stunning waterfront, and an endless array of restaurants and shops. Common Areas - The hotel lobby went through a multi-million dollar renovation and is wide, spacious, and comfortable. The design is modern, classic, and thought was given so that while the common areas are busy, it never feels loud or disruptive if you need to have a conversation or get some work done. On-site Restaurant - Convenient when you need something to eat late at night, but service and food did not match the experience of the rest of the hotel. Rooms - Room sizes are generous and have been designed to feel contemporary classic. Loved the bed, and after long days out, it felt like I was coming back to a retreat within the city. Staff - Staff here are amazing; especially the concierge team. Have never met such a lovely group of people that are so dedicated, warm, friendly and knowledgeable -- the concierge team is off the charts fantastic! Would definitely recommend the Fairmont Hotel Vancouver to friends in a heartbeat.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017 by Michel Pye, Hotel Management
Dear E, Thank you choosing Fairmont Hotel Vancouver and for taking the time to write such a detailed review. I am thrilled that you enjoyed the rooms, location and staff. It is lovely to hear that you appreciated the design and intentions of the lobby rejuvenation, thank you for pointing that out. I hope that when you are next in our city E, that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back for another stay with Fairmont Hotel Vancouver. Warmest regards, Michael Pye General Manager Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to everything.

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Was very nice. Instead of filled fridge would have been nice to have area to put water in to be cold. Pool was closed. Overall was very good . Nice location and historic
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by Michael Pye, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for staying with Fairmont Hotel Vancouver and for taking the time to review your stay. We do have mini fridges for storing your water bottles, please let us know upon your next reservation that you would like one and we will have it in your room prior to arrival. I am pleased that you enjoyed the location and history of our grand hotel opened in 1939. We hope to welcome you again soon. Warmest regards, Michael Pye General Manager Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Below my expectations:(

Posted Jul 13, 2017
The best thing about the hotel is its location. The room is basic but the furniture is old and for a minute I felt that I was in a motel and not an hotel. Also, they misplaced our lauggage when we checked in and we did not get it until an hour and a half later.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017 by Michael Pye, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Please allow me to extend my sincere apologies that the room did not meet your expectations. I understand that you would be frustrated at the misplacement of your luggage, I would be too. I hope that you will consider joining us again and providing us the opportunity to serve you better in the future. Warmest regards, Michael Pye General Manager Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

extremely convenient

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: gorgeous huge room with nice sitting area and comfy beds; amazing concierge who knows everything and can get you everything you may need
Cons: very small bathroom with no counter space to put your stuff; cleaning staff didn't wipe tables and didn't replace coffee and condiments
Great hotel in the middle of town so you can easily walk everywhere
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by Michael Pye, Hotel Management
Dear Elizabeth, Thank you for choosing Fairmont Hotel Vancouver and for taking the time to so thoughtfully review your time with us. I am so pleased that you enjoyed the room and the amazing concierge, they are so helpful and resourceful in creating exciting and delightful itineraries. I am disappointed in your bathroom and housekeeping experiences, which I have noted and will share with my team. Thank you very much again Elizabeth, I hope that you will join us again soon. Warmest regards, Michael Pye General Manager Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel great location . Food was excellent

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: The decor the location the staff the food
Cons: Nothing to improve
Location: Shopping easy to get around central to sightseeing
Staff were knowledgable &I assisted us with our queries Loved rooms & dinner was delicious
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by Michael Pye, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for staying with Fairmont Hotel Vancouver and for taking the time to write such a detailed review. Thank you for your compliments regarding the décor, location, staff and food. I am so pleased that you enjoyed the convenience of the central location and the knowledgeable staff. I hope that when you next find yourself in our city, that you will join us again for another memorable stay. Warmest regards, Michael Pye General Manager Fairmont Hotel Vancouver