Ratings based on 3,835 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Very nice hotel in Downtown

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Very nice hotel in good downtown location and close to shopping
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Outdated and in need of a major update

Posted Sep 17, 2017
We stayed two nights at the Sutton. It wasn’t our first choice for a hotel, however there were almost no other vacancies in the city at the time. I knew the style of the Sutton would not be my preference (brass & oak) but I was pretty surprised to see how outdated our room was. It certainly did not live up to the idea of luxury. It felt like a 20 year old suite. We also had to run the shower for 10 minutes before getting hot water. My wife wanted a midday nap and when she returned to the room there was construction work being done across the hallway. An older generation might find this style of hotel appealing, but I would never recommend this place or stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canberra

Fabulous hotel

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: Plenty of helpful staff. Everything id well maintained and plush.
This a great hotel which was the best we stayed in on our 7 week trip. It was luxurious and well placed for walking around Vancouver. Would highly recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cancun QRoo Mexico

Perfect City center hotel

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Accesible from any point, you will find with in walking distance from good food to excellent shopping. Jus ask the Concierge, they are very knowledgeable of the area and will help you to find the experience you are looking for
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario

Posted Sep 11, 2017
This room was for two persons, why only one chair to sit on? Furniture too big for room,probably took too much room to add another chair. Wanted to charge $2.50 for each cup of Coffee we had make ourselves in room. I have never experienced a hotel that does not have free cup of coffee in the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Akron, Ohio

Walking distance to many downtown attractions

Posted Sep 11, 2017
The hotel was conveniently located to many of the downtown attractions including Canada Place, Stanley Park, and the sky train station. There is a grocery store next door so there's no need to purchase the insanely priced water and snacks in the room. There are all types of restaurants and shopping close by and in walking distance as well. They even have a complimentary umbrella for use in the room. The spa was excellent for massage, and the hotel allows guests with a late flight out to use the spa facilities to freshen up before leaving for the airport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from victoria bc

Always a Pleasure !

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff Comfortable rooms
Location: Nice restaurants on Alberni St -Italian Kitchen,Pink Elephant Thierry's
Comfortable well located boutique hotel close to centre of action -Burrard and Robson. Close to well known Nordstroms and fine restaurants .Friendly staff especially concierge staff .Very good in room dining for breakfast.Lovely lobby for sitting .Always enjoy my stay there !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Great location

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: Staff, location, cleanliness and comfort
Cons: Provision of more complimentary tea/coffee/hot chocolate, and perhaps small packets of biscuits for a late night cuppa.
Location: Excellent location close to all tourist attractions, transport and restaurants. We took the hop on hop off city tour which stops directly opposite.
I have just stayed 5 nights at the Sutton Place. the location was superb for our stay in Vancouver. Close to all tourist attractions and easy to reach from the airport by Skytrain. The foyer and public areas are very nice and all meals we had in the hotel were delicious (including room service). We had to ask for several items for the room including a kettle and a replacement phone, however the staff addressed all issues quickly and efficiently. The changing and showers for the spa pool confused us as they were on a different floor to the pool, and the jacuzzi was very very hot. The staff however, were exceptionally pleasant and helpful, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was very comfortable (superbly comfy bed and pillows) and clean. Would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Excellent hotel in excellent location

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: Location, Service, Cleanliness, Decor, Friendly Staff
Location: Located in heart of downtown. Close to Vancouver Art Gallery & Robson Street. Short taxi ride to Stanley Park.
Starting from check-in right through to check-out we knew we had made an excellent choice of hotels. The location was so handy to most things we were going to do in Vancouver. The accommodations were very clean and tastefully decorated. The meals we had there were delicious. There was also an IGA about 2 minutes from the hotel so we could pick up some food when we were on the go. The staff was very pleasant and welcoming at all times. We would definitely return to this hotel on our next visit to Vancouver.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel with everything you need

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Hotel is clean, convenient, provided the perfect place for us to explore Vancouver. It has room service and a nice bar. Hotel staff were very helpful. I only have positive comments about this hotel.