Ratings based on 1,496 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming hotel in a great location

Posted Feb 21, 2018
Pros: This hotel had character and charm.
Cons: The set up of the bathroom light was inconvenient. The sliding door makes a loud cracking noise when opening, which wakes up anyone who is sleeping.
Location: Amazing restaurants, pubs, stores, bookstore, and sightseeing locations for tourists within walking distance.
The hotel room was comfortable, clean, and the staff was friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler

Good location; good price

Posted Feb 20, 2018
Pros: Great location, nice staff, great price.
Cons: new furniture-chairs torn and shabby, tiny and smelly closets; walls damaged and not repaired
Location: As it is right in the center of town, anything there is to do is here-museum, restaurants, bars, shopping. Really good location.
When this was a new hotel, stayed here frequently. Memories are better than reality! Still a great location, nice staff but pretty rundown, in need of updates, repairs, paint. But if you want an inexpensive, clean, well-located hotel, this is the place for you. Sadly for me I would keep the memory rather than the reality.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 14, 2018
Pretty good for the price. Stayed 2 night. Room is clean but bathroom is very small.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smell in my sheet...

Posted Feb 13, 2018
During the night, I could smell woman perfume on the pillow... now what I expected...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to downtown

Posted Feb 12, 2018
An older hotel with historic flair. Check in and staff were great. Rooms were very clean and we had a great view of government street. Great price for location. Amenities are older and you will hear street noise but overall great value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from China

Very good location

Posted Feb 10, 2018
Pros: Good location,clean room.
Location: If you like books and tobacco, this is a good place to be. As Munro's Bookstore is just two shops away, and a very good tobacco shop at next door
Close to Munro's Bookstore and Bug Zoo, and the Museum as well, all within walking distance!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 1, 2018
This older character hotel is my fav place to stay in Victoria. Being right downtown everything is in walking distance and I love that it still has wood burning fireplaces!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location

Posted Jan 29, 2018
Hotel is old and dated but conveniently located. Staff were pleasant enough and the room did the job.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best location !

Posted Jan 26, 2018
Outdated but awesome ! Will def stay there again . The location can’t be beat !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great lication, in the heart of diwntown.

Posted Jan 21, 2018
Loved the location, but that also meant loud partiers outside intil 2 - 2:30 in the morning from the bars. The room decor was very nice but should install room darkening shades as the city lights kept our toom bright all night long.