Ratings based on 1,246 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Courtenay, BC

Nice hotel centrally located.

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Pros: Central location was perfect.
Cons: Would have been perfect if there was a swimming pool.
Location: The Harbour, the Empress, the IMAX, the Horse-drawn carriage rides, shopping, great eats...all right outside the door.
Had our grandchildren with us to experience Victoria. Great location...central to all the sites. Would have been perfect had there been a swimming pool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Solid location

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Travelled to multiple tourist destinations with my family of four (2 kids). Location was great and the price suited our budget freeing up cash for the bug zoo and other sites. Bed was a little cramped, but not surprising given it was a double. Air conditioner noise 1ft from the bed made it a little challenging to sleep. Excellent staff. Very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grimsby Ontario

Awesome!

Posted Aug 12, 2017
Pros: Location, amenities in room, cleanliness
Cons: More coffee, sugar and cream
Close to everything, wonderful staff and great hotel! My first time staying here and I will absolutely stay again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Grande Prairie

Average Hotel. Good location for walking anywhere

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Pros: location, sending txt re info or express check out, bikes to use at no charge
Cons: See under experience section.
Location: Close to Harbour, Empress Hotel, Parliament Bldg, pubs, restaurants. Very easy access by walking. Nice walk to Fishermans Wharf, or around the harbour
Rooms are basic, small, no fridge, TV is basic channels, No movies, toilet did not flush had to bring in maintenance then still had trouble flushing. The flapper inside tank would stick so not fill up with water. Closet is right up against bed so not easy to hang clothes, some electrical plug ins were loose so had to hold charger in to make connection. Hair Dryer would work on low not high and turn on and off while trying to use. Moved to 4 different electrical plugs. Elevators are really slow. Found one plug that the hair dryer would worked sometimes. I have stayed in hotels in Edmonton, Calgary, Toronto, Kelowna, Vancouver to Montreal and all over US for under or same price per night and had way more value. Larger rooms, new or updated rooms, full TV, queen beds, etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincoln CA

Nice hotel in middle of everything

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Pros: Great staff members and location ...
Cons: Immediately, nothing. Long-term, brighten the rooms and hallways (more lighting and more pleasant carpeting).
Location: Everything touristic activities are within a few blocks away. The hotel is in the middle of anything "shopping", to include groceries, etc.
The staff of the Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel in Victoria, British Columbia were superb professionals. Our stay in Victoria was pleasant because of these great people. The hotel is located in the middle of everything (great eateries, shopping areas, and only a few blocks away from the touristic areas). Everything is within a walking distance. Bottomline -- great hotel staff in a hotel that is within a walking distance from everything ... good hotel that is affordable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NL

Excellent location

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Beautiful hotel with friendly, helpful staff. Room was clean, spacious and comfortable with all the amenities to make our stay more pleasurable. Valet parking was fast and convenient. Location was idea for getting around downtown Victoria....everything was in walking distance. Would definitely stay there again and highly recommend this hotel to others
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Z

Nice hotel in towntown

Posted Jul 20, 2017
The location is very convenient to enjoy the city and beach on foot. The stuff are very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oregon

Great location!

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Enjoyed to close proximity to all the action! Multi cultural restaurant options on every corner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Burlington

Perfect stay.

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Our room had everything we needed. Great location. Great bed. Great bath area and makeup mirror. Great clothes storage/ dresser/ drawers. We walked everywhere. Plugs at night tables helped get our electronics charger easily. Sasha at front desk and Andrew (who looked after our car) tended to our every need. Thank you! (Way more necessary amenities and comfort than the Fairmont and at a fraction of the price) ;)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montana, US

NOT great location but renovations help

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: Lobby is pleasant. Valet parking. Adjacent restaurant. Beds were comfortable.
Cons: Bathroom's bathtub, light switches, and tight space with door and toilet.
Location: Not as well-located and a a farther walk to places. Some shops, which close rather early.
The room assigned to us was not as appealing as the Internet photos. Tiny room, no space to move...so we requested a different room or a refund. The hotel refused to refund any money (we prepaid) but offered us a larger room for a little extra so we took it rather than search for another hotel. Location was less than impressive, but there is a nice little restaurant for breakfast and lunch. Beds were comfortable. Bathtub is old and yellowed, and logistics of light switches (outside the bathroom) and door when preparing to use the facilities are very inconvenient. The renovations are an ambitious project but this room had already been done.