Ratings based on 750 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver

Quiet but close to everything

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Short stay to attend event. Easily booked, nice welcome, had a suite, very well kept and perfect for my needs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from parksville

Old but nice

Posted Sep 11, 2017
We booked our hotel online. There wasn't a lot available for a night. We picked this hotel for price as well as the pictures we saw online. There isn't any current photos of the outside of the hotel. When we pulled up we thought we made a mistake as the outside is old and is in need of freshening up. We contemplated cancelling but figured we should at least go in and check it out first. We were pleasantly surprised. The lobby was clean and the front desk staff was really nice and helpful. When we got to our room it was older but clean and comfortable. It had a full kitchen which was nice. It's not a fancy hotel but it's small, clean and comfortable. It's also in walking distance of downtown so that was nice. We would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Pros: Very nice and spacious room.
Cons: Windows, too much traffic noise.
Location: Excellent location.
We only stayed for one night but this was already our second time. I would definitely recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Great Place to Stay in a Great Location!

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Staff was friendly and very accommodating to our needs and changes in our reservation. Made thoughtful recommendations for restaurants, etc. The room was modern and well appointed, the bed very comfortable. Kitchen was sufficient for putting together meals. Decent grocery within walking distance. Parking can be limited, but they do have overflow parking available. The location is perfect -- BC Museum on one side, Beacon Hill Park on the other, a few blocks from Fisherman's Wharf, in the heart of downtown. Would definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Great Spot

Posted Aug 29, 2017
I was very pleasantly surprised with the hotel - it is an older building, no elevator which could be an issue for some, but the room was very spacious, clean and nicely decorated, it had everything I needed. The staff very great and the location in Victoria is fantastic for walking around the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baldwin Park, CA

Very close to lots of attactions

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Since we are seniors it was very convenient to have our room on the bottom floor.
Cons: Maybe more information regarding eating places
First time in Victoria, glad to have stayed at this small, clean hotel so close or walking distance to the port and other attractions. Loved our stay
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Convenient location, adequate comfort

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Very convenient location. One can walk to everything.
Cons: The rooms are cramped and have lost their charm. The only solution would be to get rid of the partition walls that have been built in each room.
Location: Walking distance to Beacon Hill Park, Victoria Museum, the ocean, Parliament Buildings, Inner Harbor, Wax Museum - can walk to almost everything.
We have stayed at this hotel many times over the past 22 years. Originally it was extremely charming. The rooms were superbly decorated, there was a country charm to the entire building. Each guest was welcomed with a fresh muffin and a banana for breakfast. The hotel has always been family owned, and the progression over the years has not been kind to Helms Inn. Now, the rooms have all been renovated to include a kitchenette in each. This has made all the rooms smaller, more crowded, and it has changed the entire atmosphere. Not nearly as appealing. Very basic and - for lack of a better word - cheap feeling.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Nice place. Close to the downtown area. All walking distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Great location, great price

Posted Aug 14, 2017
Walking distance to downtown and the Empress where I attended a conference. The room was big and nicely remodelled. There are no elevators but the front desk staff offered to help take my luggage to my room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF Bay Area

Will Return and Recommend

Posted Aug 3, 2017
What an excellent find! The location was great, the staff friendly, and the room was clean and comfortable. I will stay here again.