Ratings based on 799 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Quadra Island, BC

Reasonable rates close to Harbour and Pubs.

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Cons: A list of restaurants for breakfast and directions from hotel.
Friendly staff and a nice large room with kitchen. Main thing is: you are able to park the car and walk to pubs, shopping and park.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Island

Great location and friendly staff

Posted Dec 9, 2017
Location: The Inner Harbour, Empress Hotel, Royal Museum, Parliament Buildings, Beacon Hill Park, and downtown shopping are all within easy walking distance.
I chose Helm's Inn both for its proximity to the attractions I wanted to visit, the shopping I wanted to do and its reasonable price. Also, it is located just a block away from the bus depot from which I was leaving early in the morning. The room was small but well-appointed with a kitchen stocked with dishes, a refrigerator, a stove, coffee maker, kettle, and microwave. The bed was large, but a little bit soft for my liking. The lobby,was festive and the staff was friendly. There was coffee available and although the welcome book said they served tea at 4 pm, I went there and nothing was set out. My only concern was that I could hear the people talking in the next room and doors closing frequently. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a convenient location from which to explore Victoria.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Great Location in Victoria

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Pros: Location, room size, cleanliness.
Cons: The parking can get a bit tight - we came back at 10 pm and the lot was full, so we were lucky to get a spot on the street. Not much can be done tho.
Location: Excellent location and within a (really) short walk of the main central tourist attractions.
Check in ad out was quick and painless and the staff pleasant. We were in our room 5 minutes after parking, ad check out the next day took all of 30 seconds The room was bigger than we expected (with the sofa bed it could accomodate 6 in a pinch) and spotless throughout. Excellent WIFI signal. But the best thing is the location which really can't be beat. It's only a 2 minute walk to the harbor, BC Museum, Parliament Buildings, etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 11, 2017
Great location...great price. Will definitely stay again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

Posted Nov 8, 2017
Just a one night stay over arrived early in the evening and departed early in the morning. The Hotel met all of expectations. We would stay there again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Nov 2, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Bathroom
Not sure the front desk staff was over accommodating - we asked for a late check out as we had an evening flight and they gave us 1 hour more. The hotel was empty, really could not understand why they couldn't give us a few hours at least.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from from winnipeg mb

Pleasant surprise. Clean comfortable convenient

Posted Nov 1, 2017
Outside looked older and not so appealing. But once in room really pleasantly surprised. Felt super comfy. Everything terrific. Talk about never judging a book by cover! Really impressed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sooke

Great Hotel!

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Location: amazing location
Great Hotel!! great area, extremely clean and comfortable rooms. We will surely be back at Helm's Inn next time we are in Victoria!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London, Ontario

Great family hotel !

Posted Oct 26, 2017
Pros: Location , friendly staff , room layout
Cons: Parking is a little tight if you are driving a larger vehicle but that is true all through Victoria.
Location: Walking distance 5-10 minutes to Beacon Hill park, BC Legislature Building, The Inner Harbour, The Empress Hotel,The Royal BC Museum near HWY17 & HWY1
Helms Inn is located within walking distance of Victoria's inner harbour , Beacon Hill Park and Mile 0 of the Trans Canada highway the home of the Terry Fox memorial. The rooms are comfortable , clean and well appointed. We liked the kitchen , it saved some money and let us eat as a family. TV's in living area and in the separate bedroom was great for adults and kids. The staff were helpful and friendly. I will stay here again when I visit Victoria.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greater Vancouver BC

FIVE STAR MARKS IN THIS 3 STAR HOTEL

Posted Oct 24, 2017
This hotel is an easy almost straight drive from the ferry. I arrived at past 11pm the young lady working graveyard was very welcoming, making sure to give me a parking pass, the free WiFi sign in, and advising me of the 24 hour coffee in the lobby. There are actually three smaller buildings that make up the hotel and I was shown right to my door by the front desk clerk while she temporarily locked the lobby door. They are older buildings and I was actually shocked at how nice the room was - everything beautifully updated and decorated and only charm left to show it was an older building. It was obviously done professionally with pride. This doesn't even include the kitchen complete with granite topped counters and stainless steel appliances. I don't know if I got the best room in the hotel or I was just lucky.But it wasn't until the next day thar I realized what made this hotel a staggering value for the money - walk 7 minutes and you're at The Empress and Parliament buildings. I had a hard time getting a reservation although I persevered because I'd read on some obscure review that it was a gem. I'd agree and suggest making your reservations immediately.