Ratings based on 650 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

Great hotel, close to everything.

Posted Feb 22, 2018
Only stayed one night but was an excellent choice, very reasonable priced . Simple free breakfast but good friendly staff and a quirky bar downstairs you have to see.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nova Scotia

Front Desk talks down to guests

Posted Feb 22, 2018
All I did was ask if I could pay cash for my room that I reserved with Expedia at the front deck. The staff there talked to me like I was a mule, you don't have to, it's paid for already blah blah. All I asked is can I pay cash for the room. This guy could not stop talking down to me like I was the one that was stupid, I told him at any major chain hotel I stay at this would not be a problem. Anyhow, for being treated and talked to so awful "I WILL NOT USE EXPEDIA or this HOTEL AGAIN" play your games with someone else.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Convenient Location

Posted Feb 20, 2018
Pros: Location
Cons: Cleanliness
Location: Government buildings, Marina, OLO Restaurant, Steamship Bar & Grill
Older hotel located close to all the sites. Room could of been cleaner. The amenities were good; however some undesirable groups out the front entrance due to the bars located at the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 17, 2018
Heritage hotel well located in downtown Victoria. Very clean and well maintained with very helpful staff. The room was quite small but OK. Good food in the several bars and restaurant and a good continental breakfast was included. Coffee and tea always available in the lobby, the coffee was very good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 15, 2018
The pillow was lumpy, and there’s no mini fridge in the room. Great location though! And the restaurant associated with it serves great food at affordable prices!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic hotel in heart if downtown!

Posted Feb 12, 2018
Was exactly what our girls weekend needed. Clean rooms, nicely decorated, little fridge in room. Free Coffee and tea available 24/7in lobby. And our stay also included passes into all 4or5 clubs that are in the hotel, bypassing a $20 cover and skip lineups!!! Walking distance to waterfront and lots of little shops and great restaurants. Only thing was missing was air conditioning, but dI'd have a ceasing fan and table top fan in room :) Overall, fantastic!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Great Stay

Posted Feb 9, 2018
The Strathcona has a great location close to all you need in downtown Victoria. The hotel has a hallway that connects to a few pubs including the Sticky Wicket. The room was large, clean and had all the amenities we needed. Matthew at the reception area was welcoming and very pleasant. I would highly recommend this hotel. It is an older hotel but nicely renovated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from north Vancouver

So helpful

Posted Feb 9, 2018
Pros: Central location to everything, kind and helpful staff, clean and comfortable
Location: EVERYTHING in Victoria is within walking distance. Perfect.
I booked this for my son who has anxiety and the managament was just amazing. They were flexible and considerate. He had a smooth and wonderful stay, I couldn't have hoped for more. . A perfect experience for us first trip away alone. Thank you so much!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from comox

Decent stay, awesome location!

Posted Jan 28, 2018
I love the Big Bang John! It’s a bar connected to the hotel and they have good peanuts!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 23, 2018
Was given a room with a window that looked directly at a concrete wall, talks to front desk situation was immediately rectified couldn't be happier