Ratings based on 524 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from seattle

Weather dependent facility

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Airconditioning in the room
Location: Downtown shopping, attractions, museums, parliament
No airconditioning. So if you want comfort, make sure you book only during Fall/Winter. Summer heatwaves will do a number on your comfort - otherwise, it's clean, functional and gets the job done - a place to sleep and call home for a few days. Nothing fancy - location is excellent so you'll be outside most of the time anyway.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kelowna bc

Great Location. Clean rooms

Posted Aug 21, 2017
We spent two nights at the Strath. Our room was clean. Relatively quiet for the locations and considering there are a lot of bars and clubs around. We would stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Spring, TX

No air conditioning

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: A/C system
Location: Walking distance to ferries and downtown Victoria
If you go there during summer time with hot days, be aware that they don't have air conditioning. I travelled to other cities in BC and all hotels had air conditioning, even in Whistler! Very disappointed and uncomfortable. The installations and location are nice but completely shocked with no A/C system. And it would help to break the noise from the roof top restaurant connected to the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas, US

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Nice hotel, in downtown. Close to everything, neat room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bend, OR

Awesome Place to Stay!

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Pros: Great staff, close to the wharf, within walking distance of shops, restaurants, the waterfront, everything!
Cons: The breakfast could be a little better, more protein options, more juice selections maybe?
Location: Easy to walk to the Wharf, shops, restaurants. we Loved the location!!!!!
We had a lovely stay. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. The hotel is close to the wharf and we were able to walk to so many places! We loved the lounges and didn't have any trouble sleeping! My husband and I would definitely stay there again! We had a wonderful 15th wedding anniversary!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Older hotel with no AC in most rooms

Posted Aug 7, 2017
No AC in most rooms. Stay away from 4th and 5th floors during summer. Room was very hot despite 5 fans in rooms. Hotel did accommodate our request to move to lower floor (smaller room) and provided extra cot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, Ca.

The central location very near the Empress Hotel.

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Pros: Complementary breakfast!
Cons: Room needed a chair.
Location: Central location close to the Empress Hotel and James Bay.
Very much enjoyed my hotel experience. The complimentary breakfast was much appreciated and well done. Only thing that I missed was no chair in my room. Otherwise I give the hotel a very high rating.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible Cleanliness

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: The front desk found us a new, upgraded room at no additional charge and were apologetic about the whole situation
Cons: Focus on cleanliness of rooms and QA
Just stayed here over the weekend and the room we'd been assigned, when we got in there, there were hairs in the shower and bathtub. The room was like a sauna and to top it off there were hairs in the fridge so I called down to the front desk immediately who apologized and found us another room which ended up being a free upgrade.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, WA

Convenient to downtown.

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Pros: Convenience
Loved being within walking distance of lots of tourist attractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from whangarei, New Zealand

Lovely hotel, close to everything.

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Excellent, friendly helpful staff. Had a great time in Strathcona Hotel in Victoria, Vancouver Island, Canada. Recommend this Hotel to anyone.