Ratings based on 504 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

clean but over a noisy street

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Th hotel is fine; however it overlooks a noisy street and crowds of tourists so it is hard to sleep and rest. The rooms do not have air conditioning or any ventilation so one needs to keep the windows open to get air. The noise is unbearable as the hotel is at a busy intersection. Also, we had to leave a day earlier but the hotel would not even discuss re-reimbursement for the cost of a night we are actually not in the hotel and kept sending us back to Expedia where we booked the hotel in the first place. Expedia kept referring us to hotel... so in the final analysis, self-interest and shady practices prevail in this an d most service industries.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Great time on this Hotel. Great staff, clean, spacious and great pub.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay at Swan

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: None
Cons: Everything
Stinky with a smell of mold. Not enough towels. Spooky. Everything is falling apart.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fairfax, VA

Convenient location

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: Location, the 2 room suite and staff.
Cons: Put in split AC units for rooms to help during hot summer days. Or put in bug mesh for the windows to keep them open at nights.
Location: Fishermans Wharf, BC leglislature, and beach.
Location is great, close to downtown and restaurants. The suite with two rooms is nice for families. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are old and clean and well maintained. Rooms do not have AC, so was warm, since we were there on a hot day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Swans Brewery Review

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: The brewery pub. Where else can you find a hotel with its own brewery. Main reason why I booked this hotel. Room was clean and quiet.
Location: Very convenient to downtown restaurant, shopping, etc. Great breakfast few doors down at Mole as recommended by the receptionist at the front desk.
Was met by a friendly receptionist. Knew my name since I was the last to check in for the evening. Made it very personable. She provided me all the information required to check in and parking. Later on our way out to dinner she was very informative with our questions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from S. Surrey

Great location, fine suite for a family.

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Only 1 night stay but really enjoyed it. Our family of 5 stayed in the 2 bedroom suite and there was lots of room. Location was great. Suite was quiet and beds were comfy....what more could we ask for ??
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Never again

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Room cleaning happened when we were IN the room at 2pm although we left the room at 8am the same morning, we were asked to come and grab the missing towels from reception, ourselves mattress had a big blood stain and had been turned over to conceal it, bathroom sink was clogged and although we asked twice for someone to help, nothing was done. Room (especially bathroom) is outdated, room for 6 but only 4 items of each (towels, cups, cutlery, plates etc...)
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Did not like

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: everything needs to be improved
Location: location was ok
Hotel was terrible. there was no air condition. Smell was bad. Location was ok
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

3 Star Stay near Chinatown

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: plenty of room for our family with kids in the suites, and with a kitchen it made breakfast, snacks etc easy for us (kids always eat!)
Cons: for the price the room met our needs. I feel that the review average of 4 stars was too high.
Location: At the foot of Chinatown. Cool old alleys filled with businesses to explore. Lots of food options, some trendy places nearby as well.
At the foot of Chinatown, it is a 10 minute walk to the Harbor area of Victoria/Empress Fairmont. I feel we got a fair room for the price, however the average reviews had Swans Inn at 4 stars, I'd say it is no more than 3 stars. In July, it was very warm out and upon arrival we realized there was no AC although fans for all the rooms; we did need to keep the windows open which made the traffic noise more noticeable and the cars and buses idle at the stop light just beneath the room. If the windows were closed it wouldn't be an issue. Rooms were clean, beds comfortable enough, the bathrooms had been upgraded. Although they were termed "suites," they were pretty plain jane (other than the nice artwork), they were suites in terms of having 2 bedrooms, kitchen, bathroom, living room and small dining table, overall simple but not fancy. Cleaning Staff and and front desk were all helpful and very friendly overall; once my husband and kids were waiting in the lobby, evidently they got a bit loud and the front desk person suddenly lost it and sternly half yelled, "This is a place of business!" We felt that could have been handled in a better way (we are happy to apologize and calm down our children).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Very impressed

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Size of room and helpfulness of receptionists
Cons: A few very minor things with the room e.g. broken blind and oven.
Location: Very close to everything that Victoria has to offer including: Whale watching, seaplane harbour and museums.
Stayed in a King room and was blown away as soon as I walked through the door and saw 2 floors! Only issue was that our oven didn't work but a quick call to the helpful receptionist and I was allowed access to the penthouse kitchen for the evening....which was also amazing.