Ratings based on 461 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Great value. Location is excellent. Very clean and unique rooms. I would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel with character

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Had a great stay at the Swans. Lots of great restaurants within an easy walk. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yukon

Perfect location for tourists

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Very comfortable suite with nice beds, clean and well looked after. The building is very old and historic so expect the floors to creak, no air conditioning, etc. The pub downstairs is great. The location is even better! Easy walking distance to amazing food and shopping. Will definitely stay here again and highly recommend to everyone. We have two teenagers and they loved it. Perfect setup for families.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from edmonton ab

Great location with unique style

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Enjoyed the staff, right from the first introduction the staff was very friendly, informative and willing to help. Location was great with fantastic walkablity. The only thing that would have bee nice is, possibly a portable ac unit, the fans helped a lot but being in the loft got a little warm at night, considering the weather was in the 30s during the visit. Overall good experience and would stay again. Thanks
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Island

Good location downtown.

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Location and staff.
Location: Very close to downtown pubs, restaurants and shopping as well as tourist site like the inner harbour.
Nice clean hotel. Be prepared for downtown noise, but the hotel itself is quiet even with the brew pub downstairs. Very friendly and helpful staff on the desk and in the pub. Our room was on the third floor and the very spacious bedroom was in a loft. Comfortable, but should be aware the bathroom is on the main level - 17 steps on the stairs. Could be an issue for some.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Charming Hotel boardering China Town

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Location: Chinatown was just a street over, However, shopping and dining can be found in all directions!
Swans Brewery is full of character! All of the rooms are different, and we loved our space which ended up having a loft. The amount of space was great. I felt like I was in a home rather than a hotel. Chinatown was just a street over, However, shopping and dining can be found in all directions!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Houston, Tx

Lots of character in a fabulous part of town

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: Location & history. Fabulous!
Cons: Number of staff and some AC
Location: Tons of restaurants, gift shops and stores. Also very close to China Town & Fan Tan Alley.
I loved that this hotel was in a renovated, 100+ year old building in the heart of Old Town Victoria. So many restaurants/shops available within walking distance. I liked how much space there was in the unit and loved that it had a kitchen. Worked really well for our family of four. We were there in Summer, however, with highs in the 80s F. There is no AC. And it was HOT in the unit. OMG HOT. Fans were provided but the only circulation was to open windows/sky lights & then the traffic noise was very loud & people liked to smoke on the sidewalk outside our windows a lot. Also the maid service was haphazard. I liked all the staff there just didn't seem to be enough of them.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Idaho

Close to Everything

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Pros: Location, suite format and reasonable price.
Cons: We always seemed to end up with one nice thick bath towel and one thread bare one.
Location: It is clos to all of downtown Victoria.
The Swan is old and a little dowdy but very comfortable. It was nice having a suite instead of just a room. So what if the bedroom is upstairs and the bathroom is downstairs. It was hot when we were there but with fans and open windows we were comfortable. It is close to all the waterfront activities, many excellent restaurants and lots of shopping. We walked to the BC Museum, theEmpress and Beacon Hill Park.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Pro: convenient location Con: no AC, bathroom is downstairs but bedrooms are upstairs
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Downtown Victoria Hotel

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Very nice hotel in a great location. It is on a busy street and over a brew pub so there is some possible noise to deal with. The food at the pub was good and easy to walk to shopping and downtown activities. Parking fee was reasonable and easy to access.