Ratings based on 124 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Connection to British Columbia's past

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: The front desk was always extremely helpful and efficient. The overall atmosphere is very relaxed.
Cons: One very minor quibble: Ffor the breakfast menu, try sourcing some local granola instead of the mass produced Rogers stuff!
Location: The Union Club is right in the heart of the Victoria Inner Harbour area. It's close to the museum, legislature and harbour ferries.
We've stayed here on two occasions and always appreciate the old-fashioned style of the place. The exterior is typical of late 19th century architecture found throughout southern BC and the American Pacific Northwest. Although I'm sure the rooms have been updated over the years, enough of the original features remain to maintain the overall charm. The ancient elevator, the huge reading room/library and the dining room with leaded glass sky lights and wood panelled walls make for a pleasant and civilized atmosphere. In my opinion, the Union Club beats the Fairmont Empress any day!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2017 by Alex Fischer-Jean - Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful 5 star review!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leamington Spa

Very central and feels special

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Pros: Its location and opulent vibe.
Cons: The information Expedia provides about the dress code should be more prominent. We had to get vouchers to eat breakfast next door as we were unaware..
Location: Miniature World, which sounds old fashioned, but is actually excellent, and Bug Zoo, which was great fun.
The Union Club is a lovely building and the room we had was quite spacious. The receptionist was welcoming and explained everything to us. It's location is very convenient for so many of the sights in Victoria. We had an adjoining lounge, with a sofa bed for the children, which gave us plenty of space. The streets can be a little noisy outside in the evening, but it's not too bad with the windows closed. We were unaware of the dress code as Expedia had hidden it behind a link. It wasn't a problem for coming and going, but it meant that we couldn't eat breakfast at the Union Club. Instead they gave us vouchers to eat at the hotel next door. They provided a very nice breakfast so it wasn't really a problem, but it would have been nice to be able to use the common areas of the Union Club.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2017 by Alex Fischer-Jean - Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Different experience

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Pros: Historical significance
Cons: A drop-off zone and checking parking zone
Location: Right in the inner harbour, too many things to do and eat to mention
Not what we expected. This is not a hotel, it is a private club, including a dress code. Jonathon, the staff member at the main desk was amazing and supremely helpful during our visit. The historical building is beautiful but being a private club, lacks the comfort feeling of a hotel. Drop-off does not exist, be prepared to carry suitcases up many stairs
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2017 by Alex Fischer-Jean - Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Comox

A pleasant surprise in Downtown Victoria

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: Clean and updated rooms, and a free menu breakfast that was really great!
Cons: Dress code wasn't announced on the website anywhere. Not hard to comply with, we just didn't know, so were not prepared for the breakfast
Location: Right down on the harbour, near shopping, restaurants, the legislature building, and walking distance to fisherman's wharf
Very clean and updated rooms. Staff was excellent, with a tonne of knowledge about the building, the Union Club and the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2017 by Alex Fischer-Jean - Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful 5 star review!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Nice hotel close to everything.

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Very nice historical building, With a very friendly staff and clean rooms. We had a delicious breakfast every morning that came with the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017 by Katie, Hotel Management
Thank you, the Union Club staff love to hear feedback from our Guests. I am glad you enjoyed yourself and had a wonderful breakfast at the Club.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Wonderful old world charm and great location Enjoyed exploring the building Enjoyed the sitting room in our room and the historic books & art
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017 by Alex Fischer-Jean - Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful review!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, AB

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Hotel was unique and nice to stay in. Very close to the harbour and downtown area. There isn't any air conditioning, but the fan in the room cooled us down. There is a dress code that we were not aware of, so be mindful of that. Breakfast in the morning was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2017 by Alex Fischer-Jean - Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WA state

Posted Jul 6, 2017
This hotel is beautiful, spotless, has great service from the staff, and in a very good location. But it is also a private club with a dress code. We were not aware of this when we made our reservations. If you check the description on Expedia, under the pet policy, lists hotel policies. You have to click on that to read the policies. I never even noticed it, my own fault maybe. But since the dress code is apparently very strict, they really should make sure it is very visible! As we did not bring dress clothes, we were not able to utilize all of the hotel. Not the restaurant or the reading room. We were given vouchers for breakfast at another hotel, and I really wasn't interested in the reading room. I waited till we arrived back home to check for the info on Expedia, but still did not see it. So I called to speak to the hotel Mgr. He was very nice, let me know where on Expedia the info was located. Also explained that it is their policy to email guests before they arrive to let them know about the dress code, but they never received our email to send us one. So although this situation was somewhat accidental, it was also a bit uncomfortable for us. We just wanted to be comfortable and have a nice time on our first visit to Victoria BC. So if you don't mind dressing up, by all means stay at this hotel. It really is beautiful. But please make sure you read all of the hotel policies info first.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2017 by Alex Fischer-Jean - Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We greatly appreciate your feed back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from White Rock

Classic Victoria Club atmosphere.

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: Small but comfortable room.Front desk staff were very helpful and Michael provided excellent service at breakfast.
Cons: Air conditioning would be a significant improvement. Quality of food at dinner was excellent but wait staff appeared inexperienced and inattentive.
Location: Well located, close to the inner harbour. Easy walking to major attractions such as museum, parliament buildings, Beacon Hill Park and shopping.
A very pleasant stay with gracious staff in elegant, old world surroundings.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Alex Fischer-Jean - Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver. BC

Good location

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Great location didn't care for the stuffy dress code. Out dated, the breakfast wasn't the best! Stuffy dress codes have long disappeared in London.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017 by Alex Fischer-Jean - Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review us. I have passed on your comments to the Club's General Committee for review. Kind regards, Alex Fischer-Jean Front Office Manager