Ratings based on 142 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bellingham, WA

Read the fine print

Posted Feb 12, 2018
They have a dress code. We were in town for one night. Dressed well but in Jeans and sweaters, as is the fashion for our area and climate for the last 30 years. As a result we could not enter the facility except the lobby and our room. We could not EAT in the restaurant of our hotel!!!! All the pictured areas on the hotel site on Expedia are off limits. When I asked about it they blamed me for not reading the fine print. The world is full of enough privilege I’ll stay somewhere else next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Brunswicj

Classic Club Feeling

Posted Dec 28, 2017
This hotel felt like it could be the setting for a Agatha Christey novel. Pure Victorian.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2018 by Alex Fischer-Jean - Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing us!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Vancouver, BC

Posted Dec 19, 2017
My stay was brief , great location and the staff were amazing!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 26, 2017 by Alex Fischer-Jean - Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Thanks for such a memorial break!!

Posted Nov 8, 2017 on Hotels
checked in late.. found room on last minute deals ..so close to Empress..and harbour.. linen seems to be exceptional quality.. staff so friendly .. like stepping back in time... would love to return.. just unforgettable ambiance..!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful 5 star review! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Legendary Regards, Alex Fischer-Jean Front Office Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: NOT MUCH
NOT VERY GOOD. MY ROOM HAD NO BAR SOAP AND ENOUGH TOWELS. BED NOT MADE COMPLETELY
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 2, 2017 by Alex Fischer-Jean - Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry your stay was not perfect. We will work hard to address the issues you experienced.
5 out of 5
by Dave

Posted Sep 25, 2017 on Hotels
Unique experience to stay in the oldest "gentlemen's club".
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 2, 2017 by Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 5 star review!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manitoba

Awesome Place!!

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Pros: Amazing staff, Victorian style architecture, rooftop patio, cool library, scotch bar, location to downtown, original retro elevator, dress code
Location: walking distance to all downtown. Harbor, water taxi, nightlife, restaurants, museum, Parliament building, shopping, whale watching and garden tours
We booked this hotel for our honeymoon as it was located downtown a block from inner harbor enabling us to walk to almost everything we wanted to see in Victoria. We were blown away right from the beginning when checking in with the amazingly helpful and friendly staff (especially Johnathan and Amanda), they make you feel like you are their only guests in the Hotel. Staff recommend places to visit and assist you in booking tours. The rooms were pleasant old Victorian style with newly renovated bathrooms. Rooms were extra clean with very comfortable beds, sheets and pillows with unique vintage Victorian style furniture. complimentary wi-fi which was very fast and connected easily every time. Complimentary breakfast is provided and dining here is top-notch. The antique restored elevator which works flawlessly adds to the Hotels charm. The Hotel has a suggested dress code and cell-phone etiquette for when using facility services such as the restaurant, bar, reading room or library which is a refreshing vacation from today's culture even for thirty something year olds such as ourselves who are attached at the arms to our phones (note that the dress code and cell-phone etiquette are not required for regular entering and exiting the facility or using the gym as we regularly wore hoodies and jeans as we left to attend whale watching tours, etc,) Forget all other Hotels, if you are traveling to Victoria you have to stay at the Union Club it is a attraction in itself.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 2, 2017 by Alex Fischer-Jean - Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Wow! Thank you for your fantastic 5 star review! It was an absolute pleasure accommodating you on your Honeymoon. We wish you all the best for many years to come, and look forward to graciously welcoming you back again soon!
5 out of 5
by Paul

Great location, building and breakfast

Posted Sep 21, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent location within walking distance to main city area Breakfast excellent. Beautiful old building didn't realism when booking a private club as well. Parking not to far away and can drop off bags etc first. Would definitely stay again. Friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 2, 2017 by Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful 5 star review!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2017 by Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review us!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Connection to British Columbia's past

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: The front desk was always extremely helpful and efficient. The overall atmosphere is very relaxed.
Cons: One very minor quibble: Ffor the breakfast menu, try sourcing some local granola instead of the mass produced Rogers stuff!
Location: The Union Club is right in the heart of the Victoria Inner Harbour area. It's close to the museum, legislature and harbour ferries.
We've stayed here on two occasions and always appreciate the old-fashioned style of the place. The exterior is typical of late 19th century architecture found throughout southern BC and the American Pacific Northwest. Although I'm sure the rooms have been updated over the years, enough of the original features remain to maintain the overall charm. The ancient elevator, the huge reading room/library and the dining room with leaded glass sky lights and wood panelled walls make for a pleasant and civilized atmosphere. In my opinion, the Union Club beats the Fairmont Empress any day!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2017 by Alex Fischer-Jean - Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful 5 star review!