Ratings based on 1,309 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saskatoon, Sk.

No complaints

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: Great location. Close to everything. Clean hotel. All the staff were helpful and friendly. We would stay there again.
Cons: Can`t think of anything.
Location: Centrally located to many restaurants and bars, fishermans wharf, shopping. Excellent location.
Our first visit to Victoria. We had a pleasant vacation. Toured the area. Butchart Gardens was amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mountains of North Carol

Location,location,location

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Pros: See previous comments
One block from where the Vancouver bus (via ferry) unloads. One block from Empress Hotel. Everything is close.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Great restaurant, friendly and competent staff and good location downtown.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

The hotel was nicely situated in downtown Victoria

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: The location of the hotel.
Location: The hotel is a block or so from the Empress Hotel and the Victoria Harbour. It is also walkable to downtown Victoria shops BC Museum.
The rooms were a good size and the beds were comfortable. The staff was friendly and they have a concierge person to help with any information on the busing and tour information for Victoria. The hotel was conveniently located only about a block or so from Victoria Harbour. One can also catch the bus to Butchart Gardens with a 1-2 minute walk from the hotel..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Great central location

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Wonderful staff and great facilities.
Location: Very well located, close to waterfront and stores.
Super nice hotel in great location. Great pool and sauna facilities. I unfortunately left my swimsuit in the room and the hotel staff were very responsive in locating it, calling me back and arranging for it to be mailed back to me. Very efficient service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from HOUSTON, TX

3 DAY GET-AWAY

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Pros: LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION!! GREAT AMENITIES, COMFORT AND STAFF.
Location: THE EMPRESS HOTEL IS A MUST, AS IS ONE OF THE HOP-ON, HOP OFF BUS TOURS WITH LIVE COMMENTARY. THE FOOD AT NEARBY LOCAVORE RESTAURANTS IS UNBELIEVABLE.
GREAT ROOM AND EXPERIENCE. EXTREMELY COMFORTABLE BED. CONVENIENT LOCATION, WITHIN EASY WALKING DISTANCE TO ALL MAJOR POINTS OF INTEREST IN THE INNER HARBOUR. OUTSTANDING STAFF.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Front desk staff was excellent. Desk furniture in room was awkward to use.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Island

Room Requests Denied

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Cons: Room ready on time, room requests honoured.
This hotel was up to par with what I would expect for a Marriot with the exception of room requests and room readiness. When booking, I booked one king room and a second room with two queens/doubles. Upon check-in, I was told that the reservation I had in writing for these two room types was denied because I booked through a third party - Expedia. Not only that, but our rooms were not ready on time. I was travelling with my 90 year old Grand mother who was in need of a nap, we sat in the king room that was ready waiting for her two bed room so she could have her nap. After waiting 90 minutes, her room was finally read and it also had a king. WHY BOOK WITH EXPEDIA IF I CAN'T GET THE ROOMS THAT I WANT?!?!?!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from saskatoon

Excellent location.

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: Location, clean rooms, and the staff they have working there are awesome.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: The hotel is very close to the wharf, Government house, Museum, IMAX, Government street shops, The Empress Hotel, Craigdarroch Castel is a 30 min walk
We had a great family vacation. Everything was within walking distance, the wharf, fantastic restaurants, pubs, and shops. We would definitely stay at this hotel again. The staff were a wonderful help with planning outings and giving recommendations for excursions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from brisbane

Fantastic hotel service

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Pros: Nothing to dislike
Cons: None we experienced
Location: Unable to take advantage
We had to stay in Victoria due to a personal accident/injury. The hotel was so comfortable, accommodating, helpful and friendly that it minimised the trauma. Victorians overal were so friendly and helpful. We would love tome back and stay under different circumstances.