Ratings based on 2,029 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from staten island

Shells in my dinner

Posted Jan 18, 2018
To begin I have to say that the hotel is in a nice location however, upon arrival I am informed that there is construction and I will be hearing it from 9 to 5. At that point it's too late to find another hotel, why wasn't I emailed about this!? Then we go have dinner at the hotel restaurant and there are shells in my crab cake! The waiter barely acknowledges it, takes my plate and then tells me he took it off my bill as if it was a favor to me!! The fridge in the room never actually stayed cold. I had insulin with me that probably went bad because of the lack of refrigeration. When i asked tge front desk to put an ice pack in their freezer for me, since my room lacked one, they did never telling me they don't actually have a freezer. As I'm getting ready to check out, I go get my ice pack tgats used to transfer medicine!!! And it's not frozen !!! Are you kidding ??!! To top it ALL off... their printer was down and I am Still waiting for my bill to be emailed to me. They had no problem charging me but cant send me what they charged for. I wouldn't recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 20, 2018 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing our hotel and sharing your concerns. We apologize for the disappointing service issues you experienced and for not meeting some of your expectations. We encourage you to try us again in the future as we are confident you will enjoy a much better experience. Sincerely, Brian Reymann General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 18, 2018
Pros: Convenient during my time their for going out to a club/ lounge atmosphere
Cons: Parking not being too expensive $50 buck is steep,,,
Location: Downtown D.C. has a lot of restaurants, lounges/ bars
The hotel was convenient for me I was actually out on New Year's Eve at a club/ lounge atmosphere which was right across the hotel. The stay was okay. The parking is ridiculous very expensive. That morning it was construction going on on the floor above us that was very nerve wrecking. We also stayed a second day after but was never told that construction was going on that was kind of rude if your trying to sleep in...
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 20, 2018 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate the review and apologize for any noise disturbances that you endured due to our renovations. You can be assured these interruptions are temporary and do not reflect our usual hospitality. We hope you will give us an opportunity to serve you on a future trip to our city. Sincerely, Brian Reymann General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Close to White House and Mall

Posted Jan 16, 2018
Pros: Clean, spacious, location.
Cons: Add on a continental breakfast!
Location: Close to the White House and the Mall. Quick walk when weather is nice enough.
Quick walk to the major sights. And a short and inexpensive cab/Lyft ride. Nice staff, quiet location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2018 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Irene, thank you for the fantastic review of the Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown. We are so glad you loved your spacious room and that our location was convenient for your needs. Thanks again for allowing us to be of service. We look forward to your next visit. Regards, Brian Reymann, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new hampshire.

Great hotel

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Extremely friendly and helpful staff. I was greeted by everyone I saw. Clean. Good location. No complaints except high price of parking which goes with the city. I found cheaper parking 5 min walk away.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2018 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dan, we appreciate your fantastic review! We are delighted we met your expectations for an outstanding stay, and we hope you will make Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown your hotel of choice whenever your travel brings you back to our nation's capital. With warm regards, Brian Reymann, General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 4, 2018
There was heavy construction throughout our stay. The noise in our room was deafening and drove us out. We had to switch hotels. The hotel staff made no real effort to make our stay more comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2018 by Brian, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and reviewing your experience. We're sorry your stay was impacted by our renovations. We apologize for the inconvenience, and we hope you will come back after the renovations have been completed. We would love the opportunity to provide you with a more peaceful experience. Sincerely, Brian Reymann General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Hotel in good location

Posted Dec 17, 2017
Everything was great except loud heating system in the room. Would have to turn it off to avoid the noise.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 18, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest at the Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown. We are delighted you had a good stay and that our location was ideal for your needs. I have shared your concerns with my maintenance team so that they can have a quick review of your room. We enjoyed having you as our guest and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, Brian Reymann, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

COMFORTABLE HOTEL WITH FRIENDLY STAFF

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Pros: EASE OF SHORT WALK TO MY OFFICE
Stayed two nights, and got two restful nights of sleep.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest at the Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown. We are so delighted you loved our convenient location in our nation's capital and that you were impressed with our courteous service. We enjoyed having you as our guest and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, Brian Reymann, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

Nice location

Posted Dec 1, 2017
Big room Soft beds Great staff Easy walking distance to all attractions
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 3, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Anthony, thanks for the awesome feedback. We are delighted to know our location was perfect for your trip and that you were satisfied with your stay with us. It was a pleasure hosting you at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. With warm regards, Brian Reymann, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Great value for a room in downtown DC. The only complaint would be the construction going on, it started kind of early.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dwayne, thank you for staying at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown. We are glad to read you had an overall nice time with us and that you liked our affordable rates. That being said, we are sorry for the inconvenience you experienced while here. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a future visit. Sincerely, Brian Reymann, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Nice hotel but parking price is outrageous!

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Expedia did not mention the cost $45 for day one and another $20 for day 2 to park car. It's completely outrageous!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC Downtown. We are pleased your stay with us was overall satisfactory, but I am sorry you are not happy with our parking charges. We will verify the information on our website is current and accurate so our guests are aware of our amenities and offerings. We hope this will not overshadow your otherwise great stay and that you will choose us again in the future. With warm regards, Brian Reymann, General Manager