Ratings based on 2,099 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Louis

Posted Oct 8, 2017
The hotel is in a great location, staff werw wonderful and helpful, water was always available. Lovely hotel!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2017 by Awet, Hotel Management
Hi, Thanks for the wonderful review of our hotel. The staff is truly amazing and we thank you for the kind words. Thank you very much. Best regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Wonderful experience. I will stay again. Staff was extremely helpful. It's rests in a great place adjacent to a lit of venues.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2017 by Matt, Hotel Management
Thanks for the love Laverne! It's so good to hear that you loved your stay, our location, and our staff. We're looking forward to seeing you again soon. Sincerely, Matt W. Assistant General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Overall a nice stay.

Posted Sep 17, 2017
As some have mentioned the spiral shower they say so much about was a bit lacking and Awkward. Would've preferred a "normal" shower. Checked out early (5:50am) and hotel staff was sleeping.. had to wait a few minutes for them to wake up and notice we were standing waiting. Everything else was pretty good though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by Awet, Hotel Management
Thanks for the visit and for taking a moment to post a review of your stay with us. We really appreciate the recommendation. It means everything to us. Come see us again soon. We look forward to having you back. Thanks again, Awet
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rude staff, room reeked of pot

Posted Sep 15, 2017
The room I was given reeked of marijuana and had gnats in it. Also, there was an issue with my two-night reservation which caused it to be booked as two separate, single-night reservations. As a result, people were barging into my room on the second day, surprised to find me still there, and saying they thought I had checked out-- even though at check in I was assured there would be no problem and that I was fully checked in for both reservations. In that regard, I got a very rude call from the front desk on the second night, saying there was no credit card for incidentals securing my (otherwise fully prepaid) reservation. I said I was told my credit card from the first night would also work for the second, but the front desk said it wouldn't transfer over and my card would have to be physically re-swiped. While this was annoying, I said I would come down in 30 minutes, as I was about to shower. Unbelievably, the front desk then said this could not be resolved in 30 minutes, but needed to be resolved in the next 5 minutes, because they had been "trying to reach me all night." I'd been out of my room for only three hours, so this was demonstrably false. I have never been treated so badly by hotel staff before. Awful experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by Awet, Hotel Management
Dear Theresa, Thank you for the review. Sorry about your experience. Please let us know if we can be of any assistance as we pride ourselves on offering an enjoyable stay. Thank you, Awet Sium General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington, dc

Great stay

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Great location; comfortable room and environment. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant, which was a nice experience. The rooftop bar and terrace was breathtaking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by Awet, Hotel Management
Dear Zuly, Thanks for the 5-Star review. Greatly appreciate the kind words. Best regards, Awet
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winston-Salem, NC

Great way to see highlights of Washington, DC

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: The location, cleanliness, comfort of the room
Location: The White House is only a fifteen minute walk away. The Capitol and many museums are also within easy walking distance.
We had always wanted to visit DC, visit the White House, the Capitol and some of the great Smithsonian Museums. This hotel was perfect for us. We let the valet park our car and we were able to walk to everything we wanted to see!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by Awet, Hotel Management
Hi Robert, Thanks for the awesome 5-Star review. We greatly appreciate the kind words about our hotel and our location is truly ideal for everything in the city. Thanks again, Awet
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from philadelphia, pa

Great Location and Super Cool Staff

Posted Aug 18, 2017
This hotel was recommended to me from a co-worker. Me and a friend stayed for an overnight trip and it was nice. The price was great. The staff was super cool and the rooms were comfortable. The location was perfect to walk or quickly Uber anywhere for like $4. The restaurant attached was also delicious and their staff was very friendly too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017 by Awet, Hotel Management
Dear Nicole. Thank you for sharing your great comments about your recent visit. I'm delighted to read you had an enjoyable time and were happy with your accommodations and our guest service. It was wonderful to read we were able to exceed your expectations. I'm glad that you made such great connection with our associates and you found them to be so accommodating. Best regards, Awet
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from maryland

Terrible

Posted Aug 18, 2017
My friend hurt him self because of the sharp edges on the outside of the bath tub that was connected to the room, for one Secondly my other friend got sexually assaulted right in front of the hotel by a stranger and they handled the situation terribly they basically warned the the criminal to go away because there calling the cops and he ran away Third they didn't tell me until after my stay that they were charging me for parking at first they said it came with the price of the room and they charged me 120+ dollars for parking for 3 days I do not recommend staying at the kimpton Donovan hotel ,
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017 by Awet, Hotel Management
Dear Anish, Thank you for your feedback from your recent visit. I am sincerely sorry your experience was less than pleasant. As noted by many of our reviewers this experience is not the norm and I apologize we did not exceed your expectations. Best regards, Awet
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle washington

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Staffs are friendly, rooms are excellent, nice view, swimming pool is too small though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017 by Awet, Hotel Management
Dear thao. Thank you for the kind review of our hotel. We greatly appreciate the note about our amazing staff. Best regards, Awet
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Nice pool and location. Booked a king bed but was given a queen bc all the king rooms were already occupied
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017 by awet, Hotel Management
Hi there. Thanks for the review of our hotel. We love the feedback and glad to read you enjoyed your visit. Best regards, Awet